We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHOCKING!!!”
Review of Stonehouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stonehouse Hotel
Ranked #669 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SHOCKING!!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I had the misfortune of having to endjure a night at this hotel for a hen do , how this hotel is allowed to be open is beyond me , damp dirty beds, crammed rooms, fan not working in what they say is an en suite bathroom (I would describe it as a cupboard) went down for breakfast cups with chipped rims there isn't anything positive to say about this place put me off going to Blackpool ever again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    14
    5
    4
    15
See reviews for
5
9
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from hen doo at this hotel, rooms are small and very dated, the owner has written messages on the radiators and UPVC window warning customers not to smoke out of the window, this makes the rooms look very trashy, also sticky notes stuck on the mirrors. Thought we could manage but when we returned to the rooms at the end of the night we found our beds were damp and the bedding stained, Had to sleep on top of the beds under my towel. Mattress was very uncomfortable and I could feel all the metal inside it. Not that it mattered as we couldnt sleep due to the constant noise from other guests returning to the hotel, this went on until 5am. One man lay on the floor outside our room shouting for over an hour. Toilet handle was broken, As for breakfast 1 rasher of bacon, 1 cheap sausage, 1 egg, 1 potatoe waffle, beans and 1 slice of a tomatoe. Lots of white bread toast but no choice for brown. Staff do try to be every but there was no sign of them during the night when all the noise was going on. We paid £27.50 per person this hotel is not worth £50 plus per room and some of my friends were 6 to a room.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just got back from an overnight stay in the hotel from hell, The Stonehouse Hotel, Blackpool!! The rooms are small and dingy, the bedding was damp and we couldn't sleep in the bed, the breakfast was all pre-cooked and the food was cheap. It cost £30 pppn, so for a double room it cost us £60.
The staff were very rude at breakfast time, clearing our plates whilst we were still eating.
I would not recommend this excuse for a hotel/flea pit to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S, Public Relations Manager at Stonehouse Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
i do apologise that you didnt enjoy your stay at our hotel blackpool is a tourist atraction that caters for many inc stag and hen nights and we have accomodated many groups before as for the rooms the place is due a refurbishment at the end of the season and i also apologise for the dated tastes all i try to do is give you a safe room and bed with the use of the bar and things as you would expect all i ask is respect back you dont want strangers who are not registed wandering around at night so rules are there for safety we are not benidorm and dont allow our hotels name be ruined by been labbeled a anything goes knocking shop out of the 15 years and thousand of guests we have had never have we had reviews like this ore if we have its by people who didnt get there own way and didnt have manners and respect to be curtious and follow rules.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and 4 friends are just back from a thur-sun long weekend trip to blackpool. We booked a party weekend package through 'heavy nights' and part of the package included hotel stay, breakfast, at a selected hotel which meant we had no choice in where we stayed, so to say i was a bit nervous about what we would find on arrival is an understatement. To my surprise what we got was very welcoming owners, a clean room, a full english breakfast everymorning served as soon as we sat down at our table with options of extra drinks and food at no extra cost, and a hotel that was right in the heart of everything us tourists wanted to visit, tea/coffe facilities were also at hand in our rooms..Very pleased indeed. The only downsides for me personally was i found the room a bit on the small side, the decor wasnt to my particular taste and the tv was very small and wasnt updated with digital services ( but considering we were out all the time that was a minor issue) i would and will 100% stay there again and would reccommend to everyone i know

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just got back from staying 1 night at stonehouse hotel on stag night, we were given excellent welcome from hosts, we were showed to our rooms which were very clean, I was told 2 park our cars in secure parking 3mins walk from hotel which cost £6.50 for 24hrs, hotel has a licensed bar with prices cheap, after few drinks + banter with hosts they pointed us to places 2 visit which was helpful, nothing was to much trouble for hosts, we were told breakfast 4 our group would be 9.15am as the hotel was fully booked which was fine by us all, we were given set of keys for each person staying, breakfast on Sunday morning was great + well needed after night out on beer, overall I would recommend this hotel to groups or couples, 3min walk to tower so brill place to base yourself in Blackpool, thanks to hosts for helping make our trip a great1, only complaint I had was the jokes about my dodgy shirt ha ha from host,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulcarden64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

21/4/14 Have just come back from Blackpool on a Hen Weekend and stayed here with 12 friends. Just to say that the hospitality of the owners Sue and Mick was brilliant, they were really warm and welcoming and did everything they could to help us, nothing was too much trouble! They made our stay even better by being so friendly! The location was brilliant too, really central and the Blackpool Tower and the promenade was only about 3 mins walk from the hotel. Would really recommend it on these 2 aspects alone! Breakfast was lovely too! and the rooms were clean and comfy too. Even the brief welcome meeting was funny and informative! Ali from the Bristol Flapper Girls Group

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

brilliant hotel,brilliant people.so friendly,clean and a very homeley feel to this hotel,great location,central for everything,great breakfast,nice CLEAN,COMFORTABLE rooms,good atmosphere in the bar,just perfect,will be booking again soon,our group had a great time here,thanks,sue,mick and jan,you made us all very welcome and we had a great laugh .

Room Tip: good views of blackpool tower from 4 of our selected rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Shanklin Hotel
The Shanklin Hotel
#743 of 858 in Blackpool
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#97 of 128 in Blackpool
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#219 of 858 in Blackpool
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#314 of 858 in Blackpool
119 reviews
1.1 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#239 of 858 in Blackpool
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse Hotel

Property: Stonehouse Hotel
Address: 26-28 Vance Road | Central, Blackpool FY1 4QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #669 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stonehouse Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Stonehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing