We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made us feel welcome”
Review of Crooked Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crooked Retreat
Ranked #731 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Made us feel welcome”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed here for our 10th wedding anniversary they made our room look lovely with rose petals on the bed and swans made out of the towels. They also gave us a bottle of bubbly and some lovely roses. We were made to feel very welcome. The rooms were clean and tidy and the breakfast was lovely. Thankyou for making our anniversary an enjoyable one and would recommend to all my friends. This is a family run B&B so felt like a home from home :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellysaPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    12
    2
    0
    15
See reviews for
9
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed at the Crooked Retreat for a Saturday night in February. We had booked through a hostel company, however on arrival they had not received our booking or deposit, no fault of the Crooked Retreat and they were very apologetic, accommodating and managed to fit all 16 of us in. We had 4 rooms in total, they were clean and had all we needed for the night. When we were out for dinner, they had decorated the birthday girls room going above and beyond what they needed to do. Shared bathrooms and toilets are also very clean. We didn’t book breakfast however were accommodating with the 4 who decided they wanted breakfast. They also said we could check out at midday rather than the 10am usually – they knew a few maybe a little worse for wear! Even were allowed to drink our own beer downstairs in the larger room they have. They were able to provide and organise taxi numbers, places to eat, places to go drinking etc. We would have otherwise ended up lost!! Great location, near the tower and central pier. Although we were a group of early 20 year olds do not think this is a rowdy hotel, not at all, a real family run business, clean, polite and welcoming.. What else do you need? I usually stay a BnB over the road on the same street, not any longer!! Would definitely return to the Crooked Retreat! Please ignore all the bad reviews, this family really will do anything to make your stay in Blackpool thebest as it can be!
PS. Thanks for the free shots!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed for a weekend in September and there was nothing positive to stay about the crooked retreat other than it was a roof over our heads. This included breakfast was at the end of the street! Our room was filthy and had to share a bathroom and toilet with three other bedroom. Would not recommend this as a place to stay even though it has a good location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccaL83, Manager at Crooked Retreat, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
First things first it tells you on our web site that you share the bathroom and toilets it all so stays that we do breakfast in our cafe at the end of the street which makes it better for people that have gone out the night before as you can go at anytime for your breakfast. If you dont choose to read the web site before booking then this is not my folt. And saying the room is dirty then i must be blind as the room get deep cleaned every time someone leave so were you got that from i dont no. All so i asked your selfs when you were leaving if every thing was ok you told me yes every thing was fine. Also if was that bad it makes me think why has it tacken you nearly 3 months to right a review. Many thanks becky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Standish, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2012

absolutley excellent hotel. family run and so helpful. everything you need. cl;ean tiday and great service aswell as cheap. staff made our sty so much more enjoyable and went out their way to help us. they gve us a bottle warmer for babys bottles and fetched a microwave from their cafe to keep in our room for babys food. more than accomadating and even helped with baby. wouldnt of enjoyed it half as much if it wasnt for all the family. they were all lovely. defiatley be coming back. thank you crooked retreat xxx

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Hello Becky, Tim and Jo here. What an absolute diamond you are. Nothing was to much trouble for you or your parents. If we needed anything you were always there or at least someone was :P. Rooms were absolutely fine everything you needed. When we were there, there was a disturbance with an alarm going off but as soon as this happened the problem was sorted straight away. Breakfast was lovely could change items if you didn't like it. Great. Becky I'm hoping things are starting to look up for you now as you have only just bought this property. All the best and we'll see you sometime soon. :). Xx

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wales2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We booked into this hotel, after a night in a horrendous holiday flat, the family in the hotel bent over backwards for us. They do not do breakfast here, however there is a cafe round the corner that you can get a lovely breakfast (discounted because you are from the hotel). The owners were so friendly and accomadating (gave my friend a bottle of Cava for her Birthday) which made our weekend, really wished we had spent the whole 3 nights here and not just 2 :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrymcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stayed here this past weekend with my wife and 6 other friends on a short weekend break in Blackpool

Before arriving we were aware that the Crooked Retreat would be cheap and cheerful and that's exactly what it is.

On arriving the landlady was friendly and welcoming and even though our rooms weren't ready (we arrived at 11am) there was space to leave our bags and they were even put in the correct rooms for us when we returned from the Pleasure Beach.

The rooms are basic and a bit weathered but they are clean which for 30 quid is all I would ask for. The bed was comfortable and even though the window would not shut it wasn't cold.

There is a shared bathroom which worked fine for us and a shared toilet. Incidentally we stayed in the room next to the toilet on the first floor and we couldn't hear or smell anything!

Breakfast was served in the cafe at the bottom of the street and it was just what you needed; full English with tea and toast.

Overall the Crooked Retreat is value for money and it is what it is. Does it need brightening up? Yes. But I'm sure the new owners will do that in time. But for the money we paid and the service we received i wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wezz2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.0 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
1,516 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Viagra
Hotel Viagra
#68 of 69 in Blackpool
584 reviews
1.0 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#17 of 69 in Blackpool
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Foxhall Village Hotel
Foxhall Village Hotel
#700 of 858 in Blackpool
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#102 of 858 in Blackpool
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynwood Hotel
Lynwood Hotel
#299 of 858 in Blackpool
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Retreat

Property: Crooked Retreat
Address: 33 York Street, Blackpool FY1 5AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #731 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Crooked Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House has just been taken over by my self and family in Aug 2012 we are trying are best to get it up to date. the rooms are now all clean and tidy. We are trying are best to get it up to the stranded people inspect a guest house to be but this takes time and money which can not be done over night so i hope people can bear with us and we will do every thing we can to make there stay and nice and enjoyable as it should be. With thanks Becky ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crooked Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing