We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax by the beach”
Review of By the Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
By the Beach Hotel
Ranked #65 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relax by the beach”
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

my partner and myself stayed here last weekend its our second visit. We thought it was great both times.
The staff are friendly and polite and nothing is too much trouble. On our second visit we'd booked for 2 nights but asked if it was possible to book a 3rd which was arranged with no fuss and at a discount-the view from our room was fantastic.
it does have an indian restaurant attatched to the hotel and all i can say is the buffet is not to be missed as for the other reviews that say the rooms and whole hotel smelt of curry i can honestly say that wasn't our experience at all apart from in the evening when the buffet was being prepared which can only be expected surely. As for noise we found it a quiet and pleasant stay and as its situated beyond the pleasure beach no noise from rowdy stag and hen parties but walking distance from pleasure beach so ideal if thats the main reason for your visit to blackpool.
loved our stay here on both occaisions and will definately be our first choice to stay on future visits to blackpool a real find

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pootle012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    67
    59
    43
    108
See reviews for
126
107
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This place is a real gem. Situated along the front of the prom ( south pier ), this place is ideal for those daring enough to venture into the pleasure beach. For those who are unsure as to its location, its situated near the big blue shed ( almost an attraction in itself ).

My other half and I arrived Friday evening to commence a two night visit. On checking in we decided to extend over visit for an additional evening ( nothing is too much trouble for the staff at this hotel. They are brilliant and can't do enough for you ). If anyone is lucky enough to stay in one of the beach facing rooms you're in for a real treat.

The buffet was well catered and topped up at regular intervals. The restaurant is well spaced and exceptionally clean ( which is something of a novelty with many stay-cations )


This was our second visit and our first review just in case our first time was down to luck. I can honestly say this was not the case. We will be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 533Kane01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My boyfriend found this room as a deal online, so we booked it as wanted to stay a extra night. I wish we hadn't of bothered wasting the £20 it really wasn't worth it! When i got there, one of the workers told me to move my car, not ask politely just move it over there. As you enter the hotel, the smell was very off putting as it was a all you can eat pakistani and indian buffet, the smell of it was smelt all around the hotel - I didnt feel asif i wanted to stay from the moment i walked in. The staff were not very welcoming at all. The room was very small, and the view of the back of the other houses wasnt very scenic either! The bed was not even made properly, they could of least pulled the sheets tighter to make it look better, but they were also dirty. The tv was above the bed, and one of us could of easily hit our head on it when we wake up in the morning. My boyfriend went to make a cup of tea, and the tea tray was all sticky where a used tea bag had been placed and left, the tea bag and coffee sachets were all sticky too, and the milk also the cups didnt look clean. The bathroom seemed ok, and was quiet big though. I know we only payed £20 but i would of never payed anymore for this hotel! My boyfriend complained downstairs about the tea tray etc.. and was told they would sort it and applogised. We then went out, i did not feel well and really didnt want to go back to that hotel. So we then decided to go back to a hotel we knew was top notch for cheap. My boyfriend went to speak to the manager, and he just kept making up excuses about the cleanliness of the room, that they are not a 5 star hotel, but come on cleanliness does not go a miss!! He kept saying he would change our room to give us a sea view, and did not take us seriously when we said we were checking out. My boyfriend went to get the bags and check out, the manager even replied we don't need to give you your money back, so he would rather have a bad review. Also the big board advertising their buffet was blocking me in from reversing, and they wouldn't even move that far, just said i could get out of there. This hotel was disgusting, the smell and the cleanliness and the views and also the staff seem very rude, as we were pushed past by a member of staff when leaving the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xluciexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
bradford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I booked by the beach for a break away with my boyfriend as a birthday treat.

When we arrived a young man on the reception was very helpful and that's about the nicest thing Ive got to say about this hotel.

The room we were given was dirty. the cups they provided for the tea and coffee were stained and dirty. the throw on the bed hadn't been washed and we found hairs in the bed (and they wasn't hairs from your head). but worst of all was the bathroom it stunk and it was disgusting. the shower walls were all slimy and the sealant round the bottom of the shower was black and stank. the room was i think one of the smallest hotel rooms Ive ever seen and the view from the room was another dirty building. At the bottom of the hotel room door there is a gap so when ever someone comes back to there room you can hear everything and at 4am this is not good.

Under the hotel is an Indian buffet so the hotel smells of Indian food all of the time and on the second day we found that our clothes in the room smelt too. on the second night we did try the food and to our surprise we really enjoyed it until the next day when my partner spent most of the day on the toilet but another couple we ate with was fine so we don't know if it was the food or my partner unable to hold spicy food.

All in all we had a lovely time in Blackpool but that's because we spent most of the time away from the hotel.

This is not a hotel i would go back to with my partner or children but if you are going to Blackpool for a stag or hen do and you are on a budget then this is for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acksom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The hotel was clean and the room was decent with flat screen TV however there were too many single sex parties who were running up and down the stairs at 4am shouting and screaming
More suited to the 18-30 party croud than a couples stay over

Room Tip: top floor you may miss the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wigantim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Booked for a Girly weekend away. Payed £20 pp a night not including breakfast. Very basic but everything we needed no wardrobe but hooks and coat hangers provided (did the job) Couldn't fault how clean it was. Shower bit temperamental but we got it going. Staff very friendly and helpful. Car key had to be handed over as blocked in by other cars. Didnt need to use car though as On the sea front and easy walking distance to everything or short tram journey. Very impressed good value would go again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzaWazza_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

just got back from blackpool where we stayed at this Hotel and i must say the place was very very clean rooms nice and fresh! i must say when i go back this is the place i will book its right next to park so very convenient.
all
the staff very nice only 1 niggle for thats no strongbow on tap lol but that me bein very pickie.
the DICKEN FAMILY.

Room Tip: sea view room 23
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Viagra
Hotel Viagra
#69 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.5 mi away
Parisienne Hotel
Parisienne Hotel
#64 of 70 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#44 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Beach Hotel

Property: By the Beach Hotel
Address: 557-599 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — By the Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to By The Beach a friendly, clean, cosy brand new highly decorated Hotel in Blackpool, the UK`s premier seaside resort. We offer you a home-from-home by the sea. From the moment you arrive you are assured a warm welcome, where you can enjoy your break in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our Hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices.We are offering comfortable attractive accommodation in all our well appointed Single, double, twin and Family bed rooms. We are located in a beautiful prime location of Promenade overlooking Pleasure Beach,Sand castle and just a few steps away from the Sea. Yet the excitment and bustle of Blackpool is within easy reach, with tram and bus stops a few yards away. Rail station and Air port is near by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your By the Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing