We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed”
Review of By the Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
By the Beach Hotel
Ranked #65 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Squalid, shabby rooms which have not been renovated for many years. Extremely old and used mattress with springs pocken to your body. Horrible toilets. No furniture in the room, musty smell, no view from the window.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    67
    59
    43
    108
See reviews for
126
107
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Booked 2 nights bed and breakfast me and my partner booked large dbl room more like a box room . Dirty brown carpets right through hotel . Deck chair in room beds well feel every spring . What abt breakfast well u have to pay that separate worst mistake sausage no bacon everything cold tables dirty wee paid £130 for 2 nights total ripoff don't go please u will be disappointed

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here twice now both times staying in double room yes rooms are smallish but we don't go to sit in the we just literally sleep there about ten min walk along prom to all the pubs and clubs. Very helpful staff I forgot to pack my boyfriend socks for the night time as he wasn't wearing none our night would of been ruined if the staff didn't manage to get us some he gave him two new pairs which was very kind he would of looked pretty stupid in suit and no socks :) this place is clean plus modern bedding and curtains can't stand little b n bs that are out of date with flowery bedding and curtains, we will be back next time were in Blackpool!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in sept for a weekend away. Next door to the pleasure beach which was the main reason we went. Team stop directly outside and you can get a day pass for £9. Taxis are more expensive about £6 to the bars. Hotel small but clean. Staff very friendly and the bar had resonantly priced drinks £2.50 for a bottle of beer. Breakfast isn't included and we opted to get breakfast in the town as check out is at 11:00 (quite early ) restaurant wasn't open not sure if it's only open during high season, but plenty of places to eat close by. No hair dryer in the room but if you ask at reception they give you one so not a problem. Hotel was a bit noisy at night but there seemed to be a school trip there and I'm sure it was just teenagers hyped up in too much candy floss!

Overall enjoyable stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my family and we loved here.service was very gud.breakfast was very gud too.defo go back again....highly recommended to every one.money wise it's cheap what we coded in other hotel's.sea view room we got and we enjoyed our one day stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahmadbaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here for one night because I was stuck in Blackpool with car trouble. The room was clean and functional. Great value for money and the breakfast was perfectly fine. No complaints, no issues. There's not much more to say other than you get what you pay for: a hotel offers you a bed, a bathroom and some breakfast. You don't stay in hotels to become friends with the staff, or begin a career as a hotel reviewer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diabolo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This Hotel Is Fantastic. The Staff Are So Friendly And Helpful And Always Make You Feel Welcome. The Hotel Is Very Clean And Is Very Welcoming. I Stayed For 7 Nights And Really Enjoyed It. I Didnt Have Breakfast But Made Good Use Of The Pool Table. The Staff Are Also Very Helpful. The Hotel Has A Happy And Peaceful Atmosphere. I Will Return Back To This Hotel In The Future As Felt Very Welcomed And Well Treated By Staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Viagra
Hotel Viagra
#68 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.5 mi away
Parisienne Hotel
Parisienne Hotel
#64 of 70 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#44 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Beach Hotel

Property: By the Beach Hotel
Address: 557-599 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — By the Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to By The Beach a friendly, clean, cosy brand new highly decorated Hotel in Blackpool, the UK`s premier seaside resort. We offer you a home-from-home by the sea. From the moment you arrive you are assured a warm welcome, where you can enjoy your break in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our Hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices.We are offering comfortable attractive accommodation in all our well appointed Single, double, twin and Family bed rooms. We are located in a beautiful prime location of Promenade overlooking Pleasure Beach,Sand castle and just a few steps away from the Sea. Yet the excitment and bustle of Blackpool is within easy reach, with tram and bus stops a few yards away. Rail station and Air port is near by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your By the Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing