We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor cleanliness & presentation. AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!”
Review of By the Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
By the Beach Hotel
Ranked #65 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

On arrival staff not very inviting, was given our room key, hallways very narrow, smelly poor decor & old carpets.... Room no better, we have stayed in many hotels & B&B I don't mind the room being small or the decor not being to my taste, but the one thing I can't live with is it being dirty,the toilet smelt like chip fat.... we found sticky yellow urine on toilet, pubic hairs on toilet & floor, there was someone else's toothpaste all over the tap, the single bed my son slept in the wall next to it was wet & smelly, the bedding was very poor quality, thin & bobbly been washed so much, the mattress protector & fitted sheet did not fit properly, so it kept coming up I was worried my son would end up touching the mattress. Defiantly would never go back, staff had no customer service skills, so glad we didn't book breakfast.... I have added photos I took on arrival :(

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marmite080898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Squalid, shabby rooms which have not been renovated for many years. Extremely old and used mattress with springs pocken to your body. Horrible toilets. No furniture in the room, musty smell, no view from the window.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Booked 2 nights bed and breakfast me and my partner booked large dbl room more like a box room . Dirty brown carpets right through hotel . Deck chair in room beds well feel every spring . What abt breakfast well u have to pay that separate worst mistake sausage no bacon everything cold tables dirty wee paid £130 for 2 nights total ripoff don't go please u will be disappointed

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here twice now both times staying in double room yes rooms are smallish but we don't go to sit in the we just literally sleep there about ten min walk along prom to all the pubs and clubs. Very helpful staff I forgot to pack my boyfriend socks for the night time as he wasn't wearing none our night would of been ruined if the staff didn't manage to get us some he gave him two new pairs which was very kind he would of looked pretty stupid in suit and no socks :) this place is clean plus modern bedding and curtains can't stand little b n bs that are out of date with flowery bedding and curtains, we will be back next time were in Blackpool!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linzi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in sept for a weekend away. Next door to the pleasure beach which was the main reason we went. Team stop directly outside and you can get a day pass for £9. Taxis are more expensive about £6 to the bars. Hotel small but clean. Staff very friendly and the bar had resonantly priced drinks £2.50 for a bottle of beer. Breakfast isn't included and we opted to get breakfast in the town as check out is at 11:00 (quite early ) restaurant wasn't open not sure if it's only open during high season, but plenty of places to eat close by. No hair dryer in the room but if you ask at reception they give you one so not a problem. Hotel was a bit noisy at night but there seemed to be a school trip there and I'm sure it was just teenagers hyped up in too much candy floss!

Overall enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my family and we loved here.service was very gud.breakfast was very gud too.defo go back again....highly recommended to every one.money wise it's cheap what we coded in other hotel's.sea view room we got and we enjoyed our one day stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahmadbaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here for one night because I was stuck in Blackpool with car trouble. The room was clean and functional. Great value for money and the breakfast was perfectly fine. No complaints, no issues. There's not much more to say other than you get what you pay for: a hotel offers you a bed, a bathroom and some breakfast. You don't stay in hotels to become friends with the staff, or begin a career as a hotel reviewer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diabolo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1 mi away
Stockton Grange Hotel
Stockton Grange Hotel
#62 of 73 in Blackpool
89 reviews
3.2 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#24 of 73 in Blackpool
271 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#13 of 73 in Blackpool
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,080 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waldorf
The Waldorf
#47 of 73 in Blackpool
214 reviews
2.5 mi away
Parisienne Hotel
Parisienne Hotel
#64 of 73 in Blackpool
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Beach Hotel

Address: 557-599 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Hotel Class:3 star — By the Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to By The Beach a friendly, clean, cosy brand new highly decorated Hotel in Blackpool, the UK`s premier seaside resort. We offer you a home-from-home by the sea. From the moment you arrive you are assured a warm welcome, where you can enjoy your break in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our Hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices.We are offering comfortable attractive accommodation in all our well appointed Single, double, twin and Family bed rooms. We are located in a beautiful prime location of Promenade overlooking Pleasure Beach,Sand castle and just a few steps away from the Sea. Yet the excitment and bustle of Blackpool is within easy reach, with tram and bus stops a few yards away. Rail station and Air port is near by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your By the Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing