We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of By the Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
By the Beach Hotel
Ranked #68 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, costing us around £75 (working out at about £25 per night). The room looked out on to the main street and sea and was nice enough. The bed runner, lampshade and feature cushions matched, which was a nice detail. It wasn't in walking distance to the city centre but close to the pleasure beach and places to eat. The staff were friendly, and although there was loud music playing in the reception for a couple of hours on our first evening, the rest of our stay was very quiet.
You don't book somewhere for that price and expect to have a four-post bed and free champers. We got what we paid for, which was a clean and warm room in a friendly and well-located hotel.
Simples :)

Room Tip: With a sea room you can hear trams passing until around 11pm and you can't really see the sea (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eden G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    67
    59
    41
    105
See reviews for
125
105
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We booked and asked for a room big enough for 2 adults a child and a baby.
First room we were offered was tiny (wardrobe in front of radiator.??)
We got an upgrade that cost us an extra £10. Much better room than the previous but very basic.
Very old matress by the sleep we had. Dirty, chipped cups and rotten tea :(
No breakfast, and tbh didnt pay or expect alot but could have chosen better.
We did visit out of season so very quiet and great location but wont ve back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank chesh2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here for our anniversary on Saturday, room was great, very clean and tidy, bed was very comfy, shower room was clean and lovely hot water in the shower.friendly staff. Overall pleased with our stay. only thing i would say is i was looking forward to trying their restaurant but they said its only open in high season, so its a shame we didn't get to try that. floor in the bathroom needs attention slightly damaged and there was no chair in the room as stated, but other than that really nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We decided to take our 3 year for a weekend to blackpool, 1st hotel was that discussing we walked back out again! Found this hotel & it was fabulous!! We were unexpected guests & when we explained to staff here our situation they couldn't have tried anymore to help! They went above & beyond to help me, my husband & daughter. Room was lovely!! Clean!! & staff very very friendly! We enjoyed it that much I have just booked a night away for the 3 of us again plus my father this time!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherylg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for one night, the hotel is right by the pleasure beach theme park! Free car park at the hotel, staff all friendly. Rooms ample for one nights stay. Clean, tea and coffee and tv in room. Over all very pleased. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiehay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I booked this 'hotel' for my boyfriend and I for 1 night, however after reading the reviews I was apprehensive about going but thought maybe expectations are too high as you get what you pay for, however when we checked into the hotel at the reception which was also the bar area we were given room 12. The floor in the bathroom was uneven and looked like bubbles in the flooring, there was no hand towel to dry your hands in the toilet so you had to use the towel given to you when coming out a shower which had a few stains on it. The shower door was marked and clearly not cleaned well there was also hairs in the shower. The chair provided was a foldable chair which you would used for barbecues in the summer, there was no big mirror to do make-up or my hair in, it was a small mirror which had a hole in it as well as staples holding the back of the frame. The bed was also covered in hairs and there was no mattress protector which i found out as the sheets did not even fit the bed. You could feel the springs of the bed which was very uncomfortable meaning i didn't get a good nights sleep. The walls where very thin and we were kept awake by music and shouting for the majority of the night. As i happily checked out the young man at reception wasn't exactly friendly i wasn't asked how my stay was ( maybe he already knew) but he took the key and i ran for the door, I would never stay here again nor would i recommend the hotel to friends.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Young man at front desk could not do enough for us.We were booked into second floor .When we got there the young man changed our room as I have walking difficulties he gave my husband and I a family room on the first floor.When it was time to leave he gave us a lift. To the train station free of charge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.5 mi away
Vidella Hotel
Vidella Hotel
#72 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
2.5 mi away
Parisienne Hotel
Parisienne Hotel
#66 of 72 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#46 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Beach Hotel

Property: By the Beach Hotel
Address: 557-599 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — By the Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to By The Beach a friendly, clean, cosy brand new highly decorated Hotel in Blackpool, the UK`s premier seaside resort. We offer you a home-from-home by the sea. From the moment you arrive you are assured a warm welcome, where you can enjoy your break in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our Hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices.We are offering comfortable attractive accommodation in all our well appointed Single, double, twin and Family bed rooms. We are located in a beautiful prime location of Promenade overlooking Pleasure Beach,Sand castle and just a few steps away from the Sea. Yet the excitment and bustle of Blackpool is within easy reach, with tram and bus stops a few yards away. Rail station and Air port is near by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your By the Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing