We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
Ranked #36 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We usually stay in a B&B in Blackpool but decided to pay more this time for a bit more luxury. For nearly £100 I was very disappointed. The room was small, dusty & tired looking, placed somewhere in the back bowels of the building, overlooking brick walls.The pillow ( just the one) was like concrete & I had the worst nights sleep I've ever had in a hotel. The breakfast was nice but average, the location was ok & the staff were friendly enough but we won't be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGaur, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

I would firstly like to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. This is not the kind of service we promise our guest and consider this as a service error from our end, leading to unpleasant experience.

I am surpised to read that you had only one pillow in the room. As a standar we have two pillows on bed and one in the wardrobe in each and every room. Customer Service is our paramount concern wherein feedback is very important for us, and we thank you for this valuable feedback given to us.

I would like to apologise once again and sincerely hope that you would give us another chance to showcase our services to you on your next visit

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    401
    206
    76
    44
See reviews for
145
480
74
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We have just returned from our 2 nights mid week stay. We read the other reviews on the journey up and were very wary. We were offered the choice of 3 rooms once we showed our rewards card but were so chuffed on 1st choice no others needed. Sea views, great bed and lovely bathroom. Yes needs touch up but for £55 b&b for 2....stop moaning!! Food was divine and Carole was funny and attentive. We will definitely return

Room Tip: Front facing room great. We had 215
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stumbledown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGaur, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you. I am happy to note that we were able to meet up to your expectations and you enjoyed the service levels at the hotel.

I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that, plans are in place to refurbish the hotel next year.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
267 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The best thing about the hotel is the location - sea front, just at the top of the North Promenade. The Tower and town centre are walkable in 10 minutes but if you're after the Pleasure Beach then it's a tram ride the full length of the promenade.
We only had one night here and the hotel itself was OK without being inspiring. Our room was well-presented and reasonably comfortable and the hotel was nicely quiet throughout the night. The bathroom was very basic and in need of TLC but spotlessly clean. Breakfast was full English and absolutely excellent. Staff were pleasant and attentive.
Overall the place has the feel of a typical English seaside B&B albeit one with a lot of rooms. If that's your thing then you will probably love it but for us the key factor for what was provided became one of price and I feel we paid a bit too much for this type of accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGaur, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you. I am happy to note that we were able to meet up to your expectations and you enjoyed the service levels at the hotel.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

For close to £100 we expected just a little more, we had a comparatively small room facing the back on the first floor. It was cold in the afternoon as the heating doesn't come on until later. Having said that the staff were friendly, the breakfast was nice with warmed plates, the location is good and the parking reasonably freely available.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyMillRuthMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGaur, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you. I am happy to note that we were able to meet up to your expectations and you enjoyed the service levels at the hotel.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here for one night and really enjoyed our stay.Rooms needing a re-furnish but spotless clean. Staff very friendly could not do enough for us. Plenty choice for breakfast. Within walking distance of all attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGaur, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you. I am delighted to read that we were able to meet up to your expectations and you enjoyed the service levels at the hotel.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Staff were always very helpful and cheerful. Parking easy. First impressions were not brilliant as the hotel now needs a complete re- furbish, but we decided to have our evening meal in the hotel and were very pleasantly surprised. The fish was excellent and also the curry. The bar was pricy considering where we were. The room was quiet, and the shower and fan worked fine. The room is not large but adequate.Breakfast was well presented, cold and hot ,it was all there.Good start to the day...the decor is just very tired now....

Room Tip: Sea view is best. Someone did comment there was a fan noise at night at the rear, probably over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGaur, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you. I am happy to note that we were able to meet up to your expectations and you enjoyed the service levels at the hotel.

I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that, plans are in place to refurbish the hotel next year.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,977 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,732 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
Address: 282 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be right beside the seaside! The Best Western Carlton Hotel enjoys a fantastic seafront location, overlooking the beautiful Fylde coast. Though you’ll enjoy the quiet setting of the Northern Promenade here, you’ll be just minutes from the centre of Blackpool and its many attractions. Built at the turn of the century, the Best Western Carlton Hotel boasts panoramic scenery across the Irish Sea, as well as a ‘front row’ view along 12 miles of sandy beaches and the famous Golden Mile! Be our guest in Blackpool. A leisurely stroll will take you to the town Centre and Winter Gardens, and Blackpool’s best bits are within easy reach! 1 mile from Blackpool Tower with 5 new attractions, 3 miles from The Pleasure Beach, 5 miles from Blackpool Airport, 1 mile from the Sea Life Centre, 2 miles from Madame Tussauds, 0 miles from The Beach! There are lots of shopping opportunities nearby in the city centre, and at Hound’s Hill Shopping Centre. Find out more about locations near the Best Western Carlton Hotel. Best Western Carlton Hotel at a glance. Whether you’re here with the family or spending time with that special someone, you can look forward to a warm Lancashire welcome! Our Values: Our aim is simple – we want to make sure your stay is as enjoyable, relaxing and memorable as possible. Our friendly staff will go out of their way to meet your every need, so for the warmest of welcomes, be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blackpool
Blackpool Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing