We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
Ranked #36 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

stayed for 2 nights wonderful parking was good very warm welcome staff were all happy nice and clean breakfast was buffet style which suited us would stay here again for the price you coudnt ask for more see you soon

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGaur, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you. I am happy to note that we were able to meet up to your expectations and you enjoyed the service levels at the hotel.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    401
    205
    76
    44
See reviews for
145
479
73
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Good hotel in excellent location, within 15 mins walk of the North Pier and with a tram stop directly outside (one stop to North Pier). Rooms are reasonable, and overall good value. Breakfast is buffet style and fine. Parking facilities good. Area reasonably quiet. Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGaur, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you. I am happy to note that we were able to meet up to your expectations and you enjoyed the service levels at the hotel.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Came here for a anniversary few days break, on the booking.com it said a room with a view and I paid full amount (£170 around ) later to be told I had to pay an extra £30 on arrival for a room with a view which being off peak season was a bit steep to be honest but wanted a nice room, and booking best western in the past have not been disappointed .. You want to pay that little extra for comfort and class.. How wrong we were !

When we arrived I was told that it would be no extra cost for the sea view room then later she changed her mind and asked for the money , was a bit confused by this but done as I was told .. Excited to see the room we raced up the 1st flight of stairs opened the door to the stench of DAMP!! It smelt really bad so we quickly opened a window and had to rush out as we had tickets to see madam tussades, and would aort it out when we came back !
when coming back into the room the room was boiling hot & even with a window open we couldn't stand it, the smell was still there but we got used to it , after a word with the lady she told us there was a AIR CONDITIONING TOWER in the closet and we had to use this as the room was really really unbearably hot !
You can see the damp on the walls and water ran down into the windowsill with black foist ..
The window was scruffy too :(

Then the heating stopped, we were freezing & we phoned again to be told they turned the heating off and were sorry .. This happened the full 4 days! We were rally getting upset & then
They sent the man up with a electric heater which didn't work!

We brought our I pad and wanted to watch films, we had several attempts on the free wifi which didn't work ! After failed attempts we just give up & suffered ..
The shower .. Well you would have to be a professional safe kracker to operate it as its very hard to master & kept going freezing !

The staff were VERY friendly, breakfast was nice , the food was great ..

The place is outdated the sign outside says ... N HOTEL
As the lights don't work on a night .. The sign is the main entrance and should be rectified !
The entrance is very slippery& no precaution was taken with preventing a fall, marble & rain bad mix !

The front doors were hideous and for a grand hotel should be more up to date & easy to use !

We wanted a drink at tea time and it said in the leaflet that the bar was open till late ..

The lady looked upset that she had to come from the reception to serve us and said it wasn't open because there was only us in the hotel !! Well why don't they tell you that instead of turning the heating off , putting us in a room with damp & foist when they clearly had enough rooms to put is in a better 1,

So all in all .. I wouldn't be returning ..

And they had a grant recently to do the hotel up.. ? Do some work then ..
And it's independently owned soooo ...??
Would we do a Best western again in future ?

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LucyS551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGaur, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you. I am happy to note that we were able to meet up to your expectations and you enjoyed the service levels at the hotel for 3 nights and which made you extend your stay by one more night.

I would like to personally thank you for posting such feedback on TripAdvisor page of the hotel which gives us an opportunity to inform all our customers who are reading our reviews that, we have a strict policy at the hotel "NO REFUND AFTER STAY". During your stay with us we ensure that you have a comfortable and memorable stay with us.

In your case you enjoyed your stay with us for all the 4 nights which you even expressed it to our members of staff during your stay and not even a word of disappointment was raised. However at the time of check out you wanted refund for the extra night because you seemed to have problem with the leakage in the room. we would have given it to you, if we would not have discovered that the windows were kept open which allowed the rain to pour into the room.

Further, we look at every complaint on its own merits and act accordingly.

Thank you once again for posting your feedback.


Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We have just returned from a 3 day Christmas break at the Carlton. The welcome was warm & friendly with complimentary tea/coffee & cakes on Christmas Eve. Our room on the 1st floor with a sea view was o k but a little small but clean & adequate although the curtains needed a little attention- they were difficult to draw & were rather wet but the weather had been bad! The food was fantastic during our stay- absolutely no faults could be found. Breakfast was a good selection - buffet style over a 2 hour period to suit everyone. The staff tried hard but some had little command of the English language which made communication difficult but we overcame these problems! Our main concern was the entertainment which was not up to standard for a Christmas break but we hope the new management may be able to correct this for the future.

Room Tip: A Sea View at the front of the hotel was nice & very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 379Elks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGaur, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you. I am happy to note that we were able to meet up to your expectations and you enjoyed the service levels at the hotel.

I have made a note about your comment regarding the entertainment during Christmas and I would certainly look into it.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shipley,west yorkshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here for 1 night 15 December and found the hotel just fine for what we needed. We were in room 106 with 2 single beds, the room was small but for the amount of time we spent in it wasn't a problem. The bed was comfy and 4 pillows for both beds, I like a flat pillow and the 1 I used was perfect and had a good sleep. The bathroom had a shower over the bath and was all clean. We didn't have a view just a wall but we were hardly in the room so wasn't a problem for us. The breakfast was nice with cereal, bread, croissants, toast and full English breakfast, one niggle there was no eggs so people had to wait quite a while for them but I enjoyed it. The staff were all friendly and both lady's on reception were friendly and helpful. I think for what we paid and what we got was fair and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGaur, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you. I am happy to note that we were able to meet up to your expectations and you enjoyed the service levels at the hotel.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
Address: 282 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be right beside the seaside! The Best Western Carlton Hotel enjoys a fantastic seafront location, overlooking the beautiful Fylde coast. Though you’ll enjoy the quiet setting of the Northern Promenade here, you’ll be just minutes from the centre of Blackpool and its many attractions. Built at the turn of the century, the Best Western Carlton Hotel boasts panoramic scenery across the Irish Sea, as well as a ‘front row’ view along 12 miles of sandy beaches and the famous Golden Mile! Be our guest in Blackpool. A leisurely stroll will take you to the town Centre and Winter Gardens, and Blackpool’s best bits are within easy reach! 1 mile from Blackpool Tower with 5 new attractions, 3 miles from The Pleasure Beach, 5 miles from Blackpool Airport, 1 mile from the Sea Life Centre, 2 miles from Madame Tussauds, 0 miles from The Beach! There are lots of shopping opportunities nearby in the city centre, and at Hound’s Hill Shopping Centre. Find out more about locations near the Best Western Carlton Hotel. Best Western Carlton Hotel at a glance. Whether you’re here with the family or spending time with that special someone, you can look forward to a warm Lancashire welcome! Our Values: Our aim is simple – we want to make sure your stay is as enjoyable, relaxing and memorable as possible. Our friendly staff will go out of their way to meet your every need, so for the warmest of welcomes, be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blackpool
Blackpool Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing