We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room. Food average staff unavailable as always busy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Ranked #35 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Darlington, County Durham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great room. Food average staff unavailable as always busy”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed one night The room was modern clean and overlooked the sea. The window was d glazed and steamed up between inner and outer panes. The toilet didnt flush Properly ever .i ate there and not impressed by the restaurant
Food Very little on the plate and I'm not one to eat a lot normally. Waiter couldn't make an Irish coffee when I asked he just said no. The full length mirror in room was in a cupboard which only half opened as the bed stopped it from opening fully. Internet extremely slow .waiter queried why I wanted to pay the bill and not just sign to room. No one in the 24 hr reception so had to phone outside line direct to reception which of course they then answered,a real shame as breakfast good quality food but only warm at 730am, lady on reception friendly and offered to change room but was only staying 1 night Would I go back no .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sn5lw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGaur, General Manager at Best Western Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out from your busy schedule to write a review about the BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel.

We are sorry to inform you but we are unable to recognise you as our guest .

Warmest Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    410
    212
    77
    45
See reviews for
152
491
75
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Good meeting facilities and well located for a holiday. We stayed in a large group for business and had an evening meal and bed and breakfast.

Good food, good service and nice staff.

Good value for money and well placed for Blackpool attractions only a short walk to the tower.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 286Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGaur, General Manager at Best Western Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you. I am happy to note that we were able to meet up to your expectations and you enjoyed the service levels at the hotel.

Thank you once again for your FIVE STAR feedback and your kinds words. Such comments from our valuable guests help us to serve our guest in a better way every time they visit our hotel.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warmest Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is the seventh year I have been here whilst attending a Conference in Blackpool and I shall still come again. Everything is great about the Carlton. The owners/staff are always very pleasant especially the French Waitress Maria in the restaurant. Everything is done to make your stay as you would like it. It is clean although getting a little tired in places. The rooms are bright and if facing the sea, very pleasant. Good food, good bar and good prices are paramount here. There is a lift, sitting area, bar area and every amenity you could wish for. Why stay anywhere else? I am going back next year - in fact I've already booked. Large car park at the front.

Room Tip: First floor front looking at the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dormouse39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGaur, General Manager at Best Western Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you. I am happy to note that we were able to meet up to your expectations and you enjoyed the service levels at the hotel.

Thank you once again for your FIVE STAR feedback and your kinds words. Such comments from our valuable guests help us to serve our guest in a better way every time they visit our hotel.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warmest Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

If you pay extra for a room with a sea view, be aware that the main road is on this side of the hotel, so if the weather is warm and you want the window open you may be disturbed by buses and trams going past.

Room Tip: If you pay extra for a room with a sea view, be aware that the main road is on this side of the hote...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LondonGuy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGaur, General Manager at Best Western Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out from your busy schedule to write a review about the BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warmest Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is located right on the sea front and opposite to the tram stop. The room was bit dated but was excellent value for money paid. All the staff were polite and helpful. The food was good. We would definitely recommend and would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chapel009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshGaur, General Manager at Best Western Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time out from your busy schedule to post your feedback about your experience at the BEST WESTERN CARLTON HOTEL.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and to be of service to you. I am happy to note that we were able to meet up to your expectations and you enjoyed the service levels at the hotel.

Thank you once again for your FIVE STAR feedback and your kinds words. Such comments from our valuable guests help us to serve our guest in a better way every time they visit our hotel.

I would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest and I am looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warmest Regards

Ash Gaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for one night on a Saturday with my husband.
The whole hotel needs a good re vamp....
The front of the hotel needs a good paint.
bedrooms are very dated and very dusty.
I paid for sea view and the nets on the window where rotten so was the window its self full of bird poo.
I didn't eat in the hotel so cant comment on that.
Location was OK.
I will not return to the hotel and it certainly was not worth a £104.70 per night!

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scouser05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
2.6 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Carlton Hotel

Property: Best Western Carlton Hotel
Address: 282-286 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be right beside the seaside! The Best Western Carlton Hotel enjoys a fantastic seafront location, overlooking the beautiful Fylde coast. Though you’ll enjoy the quiet setting of the Northern Promenade here, you’ll be just minutes from the centre of Blackpool and its many attractions. Built at the turn of the century, the Best Western Carlton Hotel boasts panoramic scenery across the Irish Sea, as well as a ‘front row’ view along 12 miles of sandy beaches and the famous Golden Mile! Be our guest in Blackpool. A leisurely stroll will take you to the town Centre and Winter Gardens, and Blackpool’s best bits are within easy reach! 1 mile from Blackpool Tower with 5 new attractions, 3 miles from The Pleasure Beach, 5 miles from Blackpool Airport, 1 mile from the Sea Life Centre, 2 miles from Madame Tussauds, 0 miles from The Beach! There are lots of shopping opportunities nearby in the city centre, and at Hound’s Hill Shopping Centre. Find out more about locations near the Best Western Carlton Hotel. Best Western Carlton Hotel at a glance. Whether you’re here with the family or spending time with that special someone, you can look forward to a warm Lancashire welcome! Our Values: Our aim is simple – we want to make sure your stay is as enjoyable, relaxing and memorable as possible. Our friendly staff will go out of their way to meet your every need, so for the warmest of welcomes, be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blackpool
Blackpool Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing