We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Layton Rakes

The Layton Rakes
Ranked #135 of 713 Restaurants in Blackpool
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
uk
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Wonderful food served here, staff were friendly and helpful, food was served quickly and surroundings were very comfortable

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dizz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelaytonrakes, Manager at The Layton Rakes, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
thanks for the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    125
    40
    27
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Usual great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I find you can never go wrong with Wetherspoons. Even on a busy Friday night the service and food was really good. Sat upstairs which was quieter than the main area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelaytonrakes, Manager at The Layton Rakes, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A pub of two floors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We sat downstairs for food on a Saturday night and was\ surprised by the hubbub and loud noise (Weatherspoons are normally so quiet). Unknown to us there was a quiet lounge upstairs. Still the beer was great and the food hot and tasty and great value

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swinton,south yorkshire
Level Contributor
251 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“First Time in the Layton Rakes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had a 6 day break in Blackpool arriving on Sunday 9th March 2014, being a real ale fan I like to try different Wetherspoons pubs where ever we are.
Set back 2 mins from the prom on a corner setting there is 3 floors to the pub, ground floor, a first floor & a roof top drinking area accessable by stairs & a lift, the roof top area has a small view of the sea, with tables & seating area.
The ground floor we found a bit dark, so ventured up to the 1st floor bar area for a drink, later venturing up to the roof top area, there was a decent amount of real ales on offer, but of the 3 I tried, I was a bit let down with the beers.
The Rakes is not what I would normally return to, finding the Albert & Lion on the promenade, plus the Auctioneer set back on Lytham road better watering holes.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank yorkieborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Had a lovely breakfast in this place ,very cosy welcoming place staff very friendly and helpful ,nice price for a pint of lager,very big inside two floors.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Layton Rakes also viewed

 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to The Layton Rakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing