We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
lake district
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“lovely friendly hotel”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

stayed for a weekend break early december met up with family there and we all thourghly enjoyed the weekend.Staff very helpfull my partner is vegatarian and they went out of there way to cater for her.entertainment bingo and quiz all good in this warm friendly hotel.only minus would be no shower in room just a bath but i am sure all rooms will have in due cause..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkayLakeDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    187
    45
    11
    16
See reviews for
202
276
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My wife, daughter and I stay at the Elgin 3 or 4 times each year, we would not return time and time again, as many, many guests do, if everything at the Elgin was not to our liking.

The hotel is very clean, cosy and warm, the staff are very proffessional, friendly and they cannot do enough for you. Our last visit to our favourite hotel the Elgin, was for the Christmas period, the atmosphere is just like one big family, house party is a good discription as it is one long party from arrival to departure. We have, like many others, already booked for next Christmas.

My daughter and I are returning to the Elgin this weekend Friday 13 Jan until Sunday 15 January, we are part of over 200 people that have gone to the Elgin on the 2nd weekend in January for over 20 years, and everytime our party fill the hotel, and the marjority of the people going to this weekend have been part of the group for the duration since the weekend first began all those years ago, that must say something about the Elgin, it really is a first class Hotel.

You cannot please everybody all of the time, I have read all the reviews and some people take some pleasing, but because the owner Nigel Seddon cares about all his guests, he replies to most reviews, and if people have a genuine complaint, Nigel will do his upmost to solve the problem so that it never happens again.

What more do you want than, great food, clean warm rooms, all rooms ensuite, good entertainment, very caring friendly staff, good access to tram and bus stops, the hotel is overlooking the cliffs at the quiet side of Blackpool, you will get all this at the Elgin.

I know that the owner has a running refurbishment plan in operation, 6 more rooms this January are to be fully refurbished, they will have complete new bathroom suites fitted, and will be fully decorated.

I will always recommend the Elgin hotel, it is certainly worth a stay there.

Room Tip: The receptionist will advise you of the type of rooms that are available. Standard, Club rooms, Posh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RegularLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Looking forward to our annual stay at the Elgin hotel for Blackpool pigeon weekend. This is our 4th yearly visit and the family are looking forward to our weekend break in the no1 hotel in Blackpool. I have read most of the reviews for the Elgin and cannot believe that anybody could rate this hotel lower then a 5 star.
Looking forward to seeing you soon the Millward family.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Stayed at the Elgin for three nights, three ladies in their fifties
Our room had a small entrance area where there was a single bed and a door through to the main bedroom which had two single beds.There was so little space that the door between the two parts of the room could only open half way before hitting one of the beds, this was so annoying that we had to get the management to remove it.
In addition the bathroom was tiny and there was no shower which is unacceptable when there are three ladies wanting to wash their hair and when we complained we were offered a jug by the manager. What made this more galling was that we were told that many of the rooms had been refurbished to a higher standard.After complaining again, on the third night we were given a refurbished room with a shower. If we had been allocated aroom like this at the start we would have had no complaints because otherwise our stay was enjoyable and the staff in the dining room were lovely.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank exc00p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Hi Ladies
Apologies again for the lack of shower in your room. Unfortunately the room you had on the last evening was not available for the first two nights. If we could have moved you earlier, naturally we would have done so. On a positive note your room is being fully refurbished this winter and although only a twin, will include a full wet-room next year. At the moment, of our 89 rooms we do have 20 rooms with baths that are without a shower. However, as from the 1st March next year, this will be reduced to just 4 rooms with a ‘bath only’ as we complete our winter refurbishment. I do hope that you will come to visit us in the future – I will be happy to let you have Room 361 (your Sunday night room) on your next visit.
We’re really pleased that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay – we’ll do our utmost to give you 100% satisfaction next time.
Best Wishes for the festive season
Kind Regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birch vale
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Booked a special offer at the Elgin, a double room with bed breakfast and evening meal for 2 people costing £46.00 in tota for 1 nightl.
Our room had been renovated, the beds, wardrobes and fittings are of good quality and were very clean and tidy.
The bathroom was also new with nice fittings and decor and was very clean with plenty of towels.
The hotel is warm and the staff were all helpful and friendly.
The food was nice,I've had bigger portions but at the price we paid I wouldn't complain
The evening entertainment was good, Charleigh the singer / comedienne had everybody laughing .
It was nice to get a decent pint in the hotel bar, we'd been to pubs nearby that only had cider or beer that was unfit for human consumption.
This was our 2nd visit and we will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithbirchvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Many thanks for your positive feedback. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay, not least the entertainment the service and the good ale.
Hopefully see you again in the not too distant future.
With best wishes for the Festive Season,
Nigel Seddon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

If you want just a weekend (fri.to mon.) or 4nights(mon to fri) in a family run hotel this is a hotel you can be sure of.The rooms are are all ensuite.The breakfast and evening dinner are just superb,even for the bigger appetite,Every night there is top class cabaret and of course bingo.The manager Nigel (anagram of Elgin) is always on hand to make sure you are happy with everything,and tells you what will happen each day,Included in your price will be half day and full day excursions.If you want a holiday in Blackpool,this hotel is very hard to beat.My wife and I visit at least 4 times a year every year.After 2 visits, any further bookings in the same year, qualify for a 10% discount. Give it a try you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the front of the hotel for sea and promenade views ,cost £6.50 pppn but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seventyplus55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments - particularly about the bedrooms and the tasty food. Thanks for mentioning the days out - we've got some great trips planned for next year - not least to Holker Hall, to Lancaster (including a trip on the canal) and even a day in Blackpool Tower. For the Weekends we have many new themes next year including one of the leading Beatles Tribute Bands 'The Upbeat Beatles', also 'Totally Take That' along with Madonna and Robbie Williams tributes. We will post full details on the website in the next couple of weeks.
All the very best for the festive season - we've a lively line up here if you fancy joining us for the Christmas period.
Kind Regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

just got back from the elgin hotel. we had to go to blackpool so we thought why not try this one night offer ....we went with the attitude dont expect to much.
WHAT A FANTASTIC SURPRISE.the hotel was lovely the staff the same we had a nice room
(124) anice afternoon alovely dinner agood nights entertainment and a brill breakfast to top
it off we knew stright away that one night was not long enough.
WE WILL RETURN thank you elgin.
alan&margaret.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rooneywigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Alan and Margaret
Many thanks for your kind words - really pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday night stay with Dinner and entertainment. As you say our Sunday Night offers really are great value and an ideal way to try us out before booking a longer stay. We look forward to wlcoming you back to the 'hotel with atmosphere'.
Kind Regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,964 reviews
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#21 of 69 in Blackpool
403 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#27 of 69 in Blackpool
1,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 69 in Blackpool
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elgin Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgin Hotel Blackpool

Property: Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Address: 36-42 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#9 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Elgin Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Hotel (Large Hotel of the Year Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015 - Lancashire Tourism Board) is an 89 bedroom hotel located on the cliffs on the exclusive Queen's Promenade, just one mile north of Blackpool Town Centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and we are proud to offer an extensive range of room type which range from Standard to Club Executive - these rooms even have TVs in the bathroom! In addition, we also have five accessible bedrooms. We offer a wide range of midweek and themed mini weekend breaks, including: • Elvis Tributes • Swinging 60s • Rod Stewart Tributes • Comedy & Cabaret nights • Turkey and Tinsel breaks • Illuminations breaks • And much more! With all this to choose from, you're sure to find something to suit your taste! Bingo and cabaret entertainment can be enjoyed every evening after Dinner in the hotel. Guests on midweek breaks also have the option to take advantage of our free excursions to various locations throughout the year! Return coach travel is available from a number of regions when booked with Elgin Tours. We take the stress out of travelling so that you can start your holiday the right way. Plus we're fully bonded with ABTA for extra piece of mind. Our philosophy at the hotel is very much focused on adding value to your stay. We strive to go the extra mile and our friendly staff are always willing to accommodate special requests. Our commitment to customer service is just one of the reasons why many guests choose to return! • Dinner, Bed and Breakfast as standard • Special discounts for children • WIFI available • Lift to all floors • Car park plus plenty of on-street parking without charges/restrictions • Fully licensed bars and lounges • Accessible rooms • Great transport links (bus and tram stops outside of the hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Elgin Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackpool Elgin Hotel
Elgin Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing