We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pigeon Weekend January 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pigeon Weekend January 2012”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We arrived at the hotel and collected our key 236B (which is a posh pod with a sea view) We were very disappointed with the room (after viewing rooms on your website). The unit which held the tea tray had years of paint on which was peeling off. The element in the kettle although de-scaled was very black and looked corroded - (we also have a hotel on the East Coast of Yorkshire - when my kettles look like this I replace them) The bathroom had a new toilet and sink fitted (it was a different colour to the bath) but no new floor covering had been fitted so the lino didn't fit the new sink and toilet, which didn't look very good. The bath taps were painted brown and the paint was peeling off. There was quite a lot of surface dust on the top of lampshades and bed heads etc.We really had to force the bathroom door to open over the carpet in the bedroom.

On the plus side the staff were very good and we couldn't fault the food and the effeciency of service. You seem to have a very good team there. Also although there were two rooms with entertainment and when I went to bed around 10.00pm to read I couldn't hear a thing. The bedding is very clean I didn't bring any shower gel or shampoo thinking it would have been provided in a 2 star hotel so I went to the Nisa shop down the street and got some there. I would have bought some at Reception had you sold it. All in all for the sheer volume of people you must have through your door the staff cope exceptionally well.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a newly re-furbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank camcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    184
    43
    9
    15
See reviews for
196
261
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Excellent weekend Room(very clean) Staff(willing to please) Food (plentiful) Bars Entertainment (good) will be back next year for the fourth time love the place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My family and I have just spent the weekend at the elgin Hotel, Blackpool. We have stayed at the Elgin many times, why? because it is a smashing, friendly, homely hotel, great food, with very helpful staff. The hoteler and the staff cannot do enough for you, they make us feel very welcome.
The hotel has various room types to choose from, we always stay in a standard room, althougth some rooms are small, they are all very clean with ensuite bathrooms, we are never disapointed with the bedroom we are given. Anyone wanting to 'upgrade' to a better type of room have only to ask the receptionist at the time of your booking.
A good hotel I would always recommend the elgin to everybody.

Room Tip: I would that you speak to the receptionist at the time of booking, tell them if you want a quiet roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The Hotel is large and very friendly with 3 floors to play with, 2 bars downstairs and when we go in January they have entertainment on every night. I think is is the case all year round, not to sure because we only go for the weekend. The food is great and plentiful and staff very polite and willing to please. You have to take pot luck with the rooms, sometimes we get a OK room and then sometimes we get a small room. This year (just come back on Jan 15th) we had a small room and gettng a round was a bit difficult. But they are very cean and have a telly in each room. I love Blackpool and am glad I stayed at the Elgin because it reminds me of fun times all those years ago as a kid, it's a traditional Hotel and one that fits very well into Blackpools lovely history. Might try again when the light go on........

Room Tip: It's away from the centre of Blackpool, so be prepared to get taxi's or walk. Walk takes abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kicky1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Spent christmas at the elgin with my parents and didnt really want to go as from my parents previous visits i knew me and my husband would be the youngest . Nice bar areas and lovely Roberts room in the main dining area which we were lucky to eat in . Our rooms were quite dated as is a lot of the hotel , my mum is disabled and couldnt manage in the lift and with no hesitation they were offered another room which unfortunately was in the other part of the hotel and had to use a small lift which my mum panics about , The room was so nice , clean and modern me and my husband snapped it up , shame to let it go to waste . The next day they gave my parents another room , again with a sea view , xmas eve they broke the shower and the staff were so accomodating and sortec out a plumber straight away . Nothing was too much for any of the staff who were all friendly and in my opinion all deserve a medal as they do put up with a lot from some of the fussy moaning guests . We did enjoy it and went for the sake of my parents , i would highly suggest staying here if your my parents age , no offence . They look after you and entertain you .

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YorkshireKebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at the Elgin for a weekend in mid-January. Although our room was "cosy" it was comfortable and spotlessly clean. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was absolutely first-class and the evening entertainment was enjoyable. Overall we had a great weekend and our stay represented excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Nice littel hotel on the North shore. Had a lovely room Although a little cramped , There was far too many beds for the room size. Lovely cosy bed, Bathroom very tiny but spotless if not very scary if you need the loo at night, blue floor lights gave a feeling of 'beam me up scotty'
It was elvis weekend and we had the choice of 2 rooms and 2 Elvis's to watch. Nice friendly staff and would definately return

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneBsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#10 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elgin Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgin Hotel Blackpool

Property: Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Address: 36-42 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#9 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Elgin Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Hotel (Large Hotel of the Year Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015 - Lancashire Tourism Board) is an 89 bedroom hotel located on the cliffs on the exclusive Queen's Promenade, just one mile north of Blackpool Town Centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and we are proud to offer an extensive range of room type which range from Standard to Club Executive - these rooms even have TVs in the bathroom! In addition, we also have five accessible bedrooms. We offer a wide range of midweek and themed mini weekend breaks, including: • Elvis Tributes • Swinging 60s • Rod Stewart Tributes • Comedy & Cabaret nights • Turkey and Tinsel breaks • Illuminations breaks • And much more! With all this to choose from, you're sure to find something to suit your taste! Bingo and cabaret entertainment can be enjoyed every evening after Dinner in the hotel. Guests on midweek breaks also have the option to take advantage of our free excursions to various locations throughout the year! Return coach travel is available from a number of regions when booked with Elgin Tours. We take the stress out of travelling so that you can start your holiday the right way. Plus we're fully bonded with ABTA for extra piece of mind. Our philosophy at the hotel is very much focused on adding value to your stay. We strive to go the extra mile and our friendly staff are always willing to accommodate special requests. Our commitment to customer service is just one of the reasons why many guests choose to return! • Dinner, Bed and Breakfast as standard • Special discounts for children • WIFI available • Lift to all floors • Car park plus plenty of on-street parking without charges/restrictions • Fully licensed bars and lounges • Accessible rooms • Great transport links (bus and tram stops outside of the hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elgin Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackpool Elgin Hotel
Elgin Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing