We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have just returned from a weekend at the Elgin. We have stayed many times here and the service, friendliness and comfort continue to be first class. Have booked again for illuminations weekend.

Room Tip: Its worth paying a bit more for the club or executive rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tollertonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments - always great to have you big-hearted people from the North East here at the Elgin.
We look forward to seeing you in the Illuminations period.
Warm regards
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
There are newer reviews for Elgin Hotel Blackpool
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have just returned from a weekend at the Elgin Hotel Blackpool for the Grandnational. Can I just say how lovely the staff were on all levels at the hotel. I took a party of 20 we were made to feel very welcome, our room was lovely and spotlessly clean with gorgeous thick white towels which were changed even though we only stopped a couple of nights. The food was great and we were kept informed on how things were going to pan out over the weekend. A member of staff behind the bar even went out of her way to make us a tray of mixed sandwiches on the friday night because we we really hungry but it was quite late and the lady in the kitchen had finished , so thanks to her for that . Little things like this to me set some places apart from others
I will definatley be coming back with another party of friends for next years Grandnational as everyone said how much they had enjoyed themselves, so probably a bigger party for next year Elgin. Thankyou to Nigel and his staff I cant name a member of staff that was apart from the others as they were all lovely and friendly always smiling. Thanks again and see you next year!!.

Room Tip: We had room number 118 which was lovely
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizzie1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments Lizzie - I will post your feedback on the staff noticeboard.
We very much value you compliments - not only about the good food and the cleanliness particulary about all the team here.
We very much look forward to welcoming you all back next year.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel and 'Team Elgo'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just come back from so called sixties weekend at the elgin singer on friday night was so bad we went to uncle toms next door and saw a great band been at the elgin before an theme weekends have always been spot on it looks like the hotels working on a budget having said that could not fault the food and staff very friendly sorry will not be going back

Dennis Jones

Room Tip: Sea view best value
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank patricia65890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Dennis - really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our entertainment on your recent 60s weekend with us. I realise that everyone has different tastes and that some acts can occasionally have a bad night, but the acts we had on for your weekend were all 'regulars' here at the hotel. I don't know if it was one particluar act that failed to impress but of the 4 acts that were on, Mike Quinn used to sing with 'Freddie and the Dreamers', Sue Forrest spent many years on the Cruises, Jean Pasquill has been requested by many guests for New Year's Eve celebrations and Charliegh has performed for nights I put on at our Local Cricket Club. Trading certainly is not easy but our weekends are proving as popular as ever and quite genuinely we have incresed our spend considerably on entertainment. Our Beatles Tribute (The Upbeat Beatles - here on the 23rd June) are actully costing us twice as much money as we have ever previously spent on entertainment - I believe they are ranked in the top 3 Beatles tribute acts in the country. You will see in our brochure that we have many new acts lined up for this year. We have already had a very successful 'Take That' tribute weekend and have heard great music from the Chunks Rock Band from Oban. We also have a 'Madonna' tribute lined up for August which is set to be a lively weekend.
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding the food and staff - I do hope you will give us the opportunity to give you a weekend that fully meets your expectations on a future occasion. Please feel free to give me a ring to discuss future possibilities - we really do strive to constantly improve our holiday packages and I would be more than pleased to hear any ideas you might have.
Yours Sincerely
Nigel Seddon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at Elgin with my family and enjoyed it to bits!!

The rooms were fab and clean to the top standards.

Food & restaurant staff, the best you could ever wish for!! Especially Tom, Iain & Ralph (good-looking Polish guy) - they meant business and knew what to do!!

We'll come back for sure!!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments - I'll pass on your thanks to Tom, Ian, Raf and the Team.
We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.
Kind regards
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I recently stayed at the Elgin hotel with a large group (we were on a rugby tour with lots of children under 11 years old). The hotel was absolutely brilliant in accommodating all our needs, extremely flexible and helpful. Also all the staff were just amazing, unflapable, kind and efficient - honestly I rarely experience this in supposedly 5 star hotels around the world.
I think this hotel deserves 5 stars for the whole package and especially for the great staff and very clean rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elebeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Many thanks for your generous compliments. It was great having Stratford Rugby Club Juniors and your families here at the hotel. I believe that we have your Under 11 team and their Mums and Dads coming back next year, so we'll be sure to have more tequila in stock just in case you all decide to dress (and drink) as Mexicans again!
Kind Regards to All
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Visited Elgin Hotel in Blackpool twice now and not been disappointed at all , food is great staff very friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble , defiantly will be visiting again soon :)

Room Tip: Been in 2 different rooms and both were good, just a little update needed , very clean and comfortab...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nett12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Many thanks - we really appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.
Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Ok, this hotel is in Blackpool, we were staying in a large group and the hotel was very cheap, so I really wasn't expecting much, however, all of the staff were fantastic, all very helpful from the reception staff to the cleaners.

The reception area was clean, it looked newly decorated and there were plenty of side rooms to escape to. The restaurant served well cooked food and catered for our large group without a problem.

Really happy - I don't think that you would find better in Blackpool for your money.

Things that they could improve: our bathroom was in desperate need of a re-fit -though I have heard that some of the rooms are having new fittings, so this may not be a problem for long.

The parking is quite limited.

Would I stay there again - absolutely!

Room Tip: I think that the rooms on the top floor have already had the bathrooms refitted - but the lifts are...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Hey - Blackpool's a good place - we love it here! We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the value for money. I often comment that a meal for two in a reasonable restaurant costs about the same as a weekend for one at the Elgin - and the food is probably better here at the hotel. I take on board your comments regarding the bathrooms. We did create 8 new bathrooms this winter including one Club Class Sea View (one of the best on the Prom), and two accessible rooms for those with walking difficulties. We have almost refurbished all of our bathrooms over the past 10 years - once we've done so, we'll start again.
I'm convinced there are many potential customers out there who don't realise what great value both the Elgin and Blackpool have to offer. In these times of austerity you really can enjoy a fun packed holiday at very reasonable prices here on the Promenade. I really do hope you'll return to stay with us. If you missed it this time, don't go home without a visit to the newly re-launched Blackpool Tower and Circus - the Ballroom alone is truely breathtaking.
Many thanks for the feedback.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,105 reviews
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#22 of 73 in Blackpool
429 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#23 of 73 in Blackpool
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elgin Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgin Hotel Blackpool

Address: 36-42 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#9 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £70 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elgin Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Hotel (Large Hotel of the Year Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015 - Lancashire Tourism Board) is an 89 bedroom hotel located on the cliffs on the exclusive Queen's Promenade, just one mile north of Blackpool Town Centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and we are proud to offer an extensive range of room type which range from Standard to Club Executive - these rooms even have TVs in the bathroom! In addition, we also have five accessible bedrooms. We offer a wide range of midweek and themed mini weekend breaks, including: • Elvis Tributes • Swinging 60s • Rod Stewart Tributes • Comedy & Cabaret nights • Turkey and Tinsel breaks • Illuminations breaks • And much more! With all this to choose from, you're sure to find something to suit your taste! Bingo and cabaret entertainment can be enjoyed every evening after Dinner in the hotel. Guests on midweek breaks also have the option to take advantage of our free excursions to various locations throughout the year! Return coach travel is available from a number of regions when booked with Elgin Tours. We take the stress out of travelling so that you can start your holiday the right way. Plus we're fully bonded with ABTA for extra piece of mind. Our philosophy at the hotel is very much focused on adding value to your stay. We strive to go the extra mile and our friendly staff are always willing to accommodate special requests. Our commitment to customer service is just one of the reasons why many guests choose to return! • Dinner, Bed and Breakfast as standard • Special discounts for children • WIFI available • Lift to all floors • Car park plus plenty of on-street parking without charges/restrictions • Fully licensed bars and lounges • Accessible rooms • Great transport links (bus and tram stops outside of the hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Elgin Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackpool Elgin Hotel
Elgin Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing