We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“60's weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elgin Hotel Blackpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“60's weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I have just returned from a 60's theme weekend.Food excellent entertainment okay.Waiters/waitresses very good nothing too much bother for them.There was a problem for a friend of mine.Her sister Mary Bailey unfortunately took ill on Sunday day she was leaving.The attention she received from Gary was second to none.He advised for an ambulance.It came and took her to hospital and he asked to be kept informed of her condition.She currently undergoing tests and hopes to be back in Liverpool very shortly. Can I say on their behalf how very pleased they were on the treatment they received from every member of staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank b6687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Many thanks for your feedback. We do believe in going that extra mile for our guests - I will pass on your very kind comments to Gary and all the team. Please send Mary all our best wishes for a speedy recovery.
Kind Regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    180
    42
    9
    14
See reviews for
191
253
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wetherby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Booked 11 of us to stay just for one night to celebrate mums 87th birthday,from making the reservations to leaving, the staff were so good at their jobs,had a lovely surprise to a free upgrade and the family room we had is a credit to the hotel.All our rooms were clean and food good value for the price only gripe didn`t like the apperitif being put out for you as some of our party dont eat salmon.Entertainment ok and we enjoyed staying in for the evening. Loved it! and will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WetherbyCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments - really please you liked our new rooms and enjoyed your weekend. Don't be afraid to ask for an alternative appertiser if it is not to your liking. Hopefully see you later in the year.
Kind Regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Just returned from this hotel weekend was Birds of a Feather. Bathroom small but served its purpose, Friday night entertainment in my opinion not very good. Staff, food and room cleanliness excellent, do not be afraid to book. Only one major gripe the toilet on the bus was locked and quiered with the driver he said" The Elgin did not pay for it to be open" if this is the case I'm sure customers would not mind paying an extra £1 on the cost to have this facility. Can not see the point of having toilets on a bus if you can't use them.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Many thanks for the feedback – good hear that you had enjoyable stay. I am somewhat surprised by the comments about the driver. No one is expected to pay for use of the toilet (it is included in the price of our chartering of the coach). When I investigated this with the coach company, it was suggested to me that the driver had locked the toilet after the motorway service station on the return journey as he initially presumed that not no-one would have further need of the loo. We have spoken a regular guest who was on your coach and she did state that after inquiring with the driver, he gave her the key to the toilet. If this was not the case please do contact me – I will certainly go back to the coach company. It could be that the driver had an unusual sense of humour!
We’re really pleased you enjoyed your weekend and not least the theatre break – I believe the evergreen Dorian and the original cast of ‘Birds of a Feather’ were as hilarious as ever. Maybe you’ll come back on the day trip to see ‘Save the Last Dance’ – on the 23rd June. This is by the same production company (Bill Kenwright’s) who brought us ‘Dream Boats and Petticoats’ - so it should be good.
Thanks again for taking the time to bring the coaching situation to our attention – hopefully we will be able to welcome you the Elgin in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards

Nigel Seddon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

my children, mother & I have just had a lovely stay at the Elgin over the easter holidays, there were plenty of deals and it cost me £79 for dinner bed & Breakfast for me and £15 each for the childern, for 2 nights, The food was excellent, wide range at breakfast including toast, cerial, full english and the evenings was 5 course, with a lovely choice, hot and home made and brilliant, and with a kids option, the hotel was extremely clean & Tidy, every day there were staff cleaning etc, the shower was nice and hot, comfortable beds, it was only a tram ride away form the centre, The staff could not do enough for us, my kids enjoyed the bingo and the entertainment although not really for my 6 year old but he was happy watching a dvd in the quiet room with other children, we will definately be back!!!

Room Tip: we had a sea view and it is away from the hustle of the centre, it was lovely and quiet, they have u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank looneylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Many thanks for your all your complements - I will pass them on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back for more family fun. Maybe try our 'Family Fun and Magic Weekend in August' - CJ Tazz will be top of the bill for Children's entertainment. There's also loads going on in the town.
Best Wishes
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have just returned from a weekend at the Elgin. We have stayed many times here and the service, friendliness and comfort continue to be first class. Have booked again for illuminations weekend.

Room Tip: Its worth paying a bit more for the club or executive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tollertonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments - always great to have you big-hearted people from the North East here at the Elgin.
We look forward to seeing you in the Illuminations period.
Warm regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield derbyshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have just returned from a weekend at the Elgin Hotel Blackpool for the Grandnational. Can I just say how lovely the staff were on all levels at the hotel. I took a party of 20 we were made to feel very welcome, our room was lovely and spotlessly clean with gorgeous thick white towels which were changed even though we only stopped a couple of nights. The food was great and we were kept informed on how things were going to pan out over the weekend. A member of staff behind the bar even went out of her way to make us a tray of mixed sandwiches on the friday night because we we really hungry but it was quite late and the lady in the kitchen had finished , so thanks to her for that . Little things like this to me set some places apart from others
I will definatley be coming back with another party of friends for next years Grandnational as everyone said how much they had enjoyed themselves, so probably a bigger party for next year Elgin. Thankyou to Nigel and his staff I cant name a member of staff that was apart from the others as they were all lovely and friendly always smiling. Thanks again and see you next year!!.

Room Tip: We had room number 118 which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizzie1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments Lizzie - I will post your feedback on the staff noticeboard.
We very much value you compliments - not only about the good food and the cleanliness particulary about all the team here.
We very much look forward to welcoming you all back next year.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel and 'Team Elgo'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mostyn n wales g britain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just come back from so called sixties weekend at the elgin singer on friday night was so bad we went to uncle toms next door and saw a great band been at the elgin before an theme weekends have always been spot on it looks like the hotels working on a budget having said that could not fault the food and staff very friendly sorry will not be going back

Dennis Jones

Room Tip: Sea view best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patricia65890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Dennis - really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our entertainment on your recent 60s weekend with us. I realise that everyone has different tastes and that some acts can occasionally have a bad night, but the acts we had on for your weekend were all 'regulars' here at the hotel. I don't know if it was one particluar act that failed to impress but of the 4 acts that were on, Mike Quinn used to sing with 'Freddie and the Dreamers', Sue Forrest spent many years on the Cruises, Jean Pasquill has been requested by many guests for New Year's Eve celebrations and Charliegh has performed for nights I put on at our Local Cricket Club. Trading certainly is not easy but our weekends are proving as popular as ever and quite genuinely we have incresed our spend considerably on entertainment. Our Beatles Tribute (The Upbeat Beatles - here on the 23rd June) are actully costing us twice as much money as we have ever previously spent on entertainment - I believe they are ranked in the top 3 Beatles tribute acts in the country. You will see in our brochure that we have many new acts lined up for this year. We have already had a very successful 'Take That' tribute weekend and have heard great music from the Chunks Rock Band from Oban. We also have a 'Madonna' tribute lined up for August which is set to be a lively weekend.
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding the food and staff - I do hope you will give us the opportunity to give you a weekend that fully meets your expectations on a future occasion. Please feel free to give me a ring to discuss future possibilities - we really do strive to constantly improve our holiday packages and I would be more than pleased to hear any ideas you might have.
Yours Sincerely
Nigel Seddon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#24 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#21 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elgin Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgin Hotel Blackpool

Property: Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Address: 36-42 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#9 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Elgin Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Hotel (Large Hotel of the Year Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015 - Lancashire Tourism Board) is an 89 bedroom hotel located on the cliffs on the exclusive Queen's Promenade, just one mile north of Blackpool Town Centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and we are proud to offer an extensive range of room type which range from Standard to Club Executive - these rooms even have TVs in the bathroom! In addition, we also have five accessible bedrooms. We offer a wide range of midweek and themed mini weekend breaks, including: • Elvis Tributes • Swinging 60s • Rod Stewart Tributes • Comedy & Cabaret nights • Turkey and Tinsel breaks • Illuminations breaks • And much more! With all this to choose from, you're sure to find something to suit your taste! Bingo and cabaret entertainment can be enjoyed every evening after Dinner in the hotel. Guests on midweek breaks also have the option to take advantage of our free excursions to various locations throughout the year! Return coach travel is available from a number of regions when booked with Elgin Tours. We take the stress out of travelling so that you can start your holiday the right way. Plus we're fully bonded with ABTA for extra piece of mind. Our philosophy at the hotel is very much focused on adding value to your stay. We strive to go the extra mile and our friendly staff are always willing to accommodate special requests. Our commitment to customer service is just one of the reasons why many guests choose to return! • Dinner, Bed and Breakfast as standard • Special discounts for children • WIFI available • Lift to all floors • Car park plus plenty of on-street parking without charges/restrictions • Fully licensed bars and lounges • Accessible rooms • Great transport links (bus and tram stops outside of the hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Elgin Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackpool Elgin Hotel
Elgin Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing