We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We have just come back from the 1940s weekend and had a lovely time. Warm welcome, fab food, friendly staff with an excellent singer on the Friday night with all of the war songs. A little dissapointed with the swing big band on the Saturday night - not quite what we were expecting as it was more Jazz than swing but we compensated by going into the 60s night which was fab and had a brilliant entertainer on. Another thing that was quite disconcerting was the fact housekeeping went into our rooms to make up the beds while we were at breakfast - we have never experienced this before in any hotel we have stayed at and was shocked when we returned to the room as we had left a lot of vaulables out and our handbags in the room. This also happened on the day we were checking out while we ate breakfast again - couldn't wait until we checked out at 10am! Bed and pillows were the best we have ever had in a hotel. Also, no hooks on backs of doors in bedroom or bathroom which made it difficult for 3 of us to hang our coats/towels up. A plus was the full lenght mirror in the room but lighting in the room & bathroom for putting on make up was poor.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Hi Gail,
Many thanks for the feedback. Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I’m sorry that you were disappointed with our timing of housekeeping. This is something that we do on a regular basis – particularly when we have a lot of departures. This does enable us to have rooms ready for 2.30 pm (often 2.00pm) for incoming guests. We do have a long standing housekeeping staff who clean rooms as a team of 2 or 3. There is always the potential for guests to leave valuables in the room at any time of day, we can keep valuables in the safe if needs be. We do leave a ‘do not disturb’/’leave me alone’ notice behind the bedroom door if guests would rather not have their room serviced at a particular time.
I’m surprised you didn’t enjoy the Swing Band as they are generally very popular, but am naturally pleased that you found the 60s entertainment to your liking. Good to know you like our beds – the last batch we bought were Hypnos which tend to be well received although we do have problems with supply. I take on board you comments regarding the robe hooks – I’ll get ‘Big Alvis’ (our Handy man) to put some in place. We’re also increasing the number of lights in the several bathrooms and bedrooms during this winter period.
I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future and really do appreciate your constructive comments. Many thanks.
Best Wishes
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    190
    46
    11
    16
See reviews for
203
281
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Just been to the ultimate Elvis weekend & can't speak highly enough of the place. The rooms were nicely decorated, comfortable beds. The hotel was spotless. The staff were kind, considerate and nothing was too much trouble. They make you feel so welcome and appreciated. The food was lovely & the service in the restraunt was second to none. Drinks in the bar were reasonable & cheaper than most pubs. Definatly value for money £125pp included coach pick up and dropped at the Elgin, complimentary glass of bubbly, 4 course meals both nights, breakfast both mornings & Sunday lunch before the coach trip home. Also included were 2 Elvis acts each night. Will definatly be booking again. Faultless hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sparkaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Many thanks for your generous comments. Really pleased that you enjoyed Ricky and Paul’s Tribute to Elvis. As well as several Elvis weekends next year, we have Ricky bringing his band in May for ‘The Ultimate Rock n Roll Weekend’. I have passed on your complements to the team here – it certainly makes our job all the more rewarding to receive such feedback and is very much appreciated.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes for the Festive Season,
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2012

My stay at the hotel was only 5days and I didnt want to leave! The hotel room was lovely, wasnt too small. My view was a brickwall but I didnt mind it. My bed was very uncomftable, felt like I was sleeping on the floor. Nice and cosy and warm in the hotel. Entertainment was good. Bar staff and cleaning staff were brilliant! Some of the restruant staff had terriable maners. One even told us, 'Hold on love, I got to run to the toliet. Need a crap' which was discusting. Food was lovely, but not much of a childrens menu. The welcome from the receptionist was awful, not one smile or nice greeting. I would stay again, but I think there needs to be more staff training.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaceyMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
I imagine this report has been written by someone with a poor and immature sense of humour. Sadly, some people might read it and take it seriously, this having an adverse effect on the hotel. I did ask Tripadvisor to remove it on the strength of several slanderous comments.
Nigel Seddon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

hello to the elgin hotel this is catherine noblet and mike gorse from cleveleys we came on the 15 of october to the 22 of october what a brilliant hotel and what loveley staff and entertainment you have i like tom colins and tony fletcher he did an elvis tribute and he did many more diffrent artists as well he did them of friday i think and many thanks to nigel and christine and tom and nok and our bedroom were very nice and i met loads of friends who i am keeping in contact with it makes the holiday much nicer when you meet people and we also when on a day trip to skipton and me and mike went on a canal boat ride was brill i do hope that we all met again sometime your all very nice and kind the food was so good as well they give you a five course meal at tea time catherine noblet and mike gorse

Room Tip: we had room 114 that was a sea view room i cant remeber what side it was on and then room 131and tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherinegorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thanks Catherine
Really good to hear that you enjoyed your extended stay. The Skipton trip has proved popular and next year we will include a visit to Browslow Hall on our September excursion to West Yorkshire. We look forward to welcoming you back at any time.
Best Wishes and Kind Regards to yourself and Mike
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic mini break at the Elgin.It was the Elvis Tribute Weekend.
I would just like to thank Nigel and his hardworking team for making our Family stay so enjoyable.
The food was fantastic the entertainment brillant the rooms spotless but most of all the Staff worked tirelessly.
We were a family of eight who couldnt have asked for a better Weekend!
The last time we came to this Hotel was about 10 years ago we will certainly return much sooner.
Please Nigel will you congragulate your Staff for providing us with a Supurb Service.

Steve and Lesley (part of the Ken Gandy party)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phllstph4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Steve and Lesley
Many thanks for your kind comments and not least all your complements regarding our team. I have passed your congratulations on to all concerned – this is very much appreciated. Great to know you had a good family weekend – hopefully see you before another 10 years is out!
Best Wishes
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2012

when we stayed we booked a pod and were told on the phone that we had one of the best ones. i think the term pod is an ample description of the room. i fell over the end of the quilt( it was literally 30cms from the wall) and landed head first into the doorframe to the bathroom rather than slamming into the wall. if i had taken a cat i couldnt have swung it. the room was clean and had sea views. the staff were very friendly. Dinner was a new experience, the starter was placed infront of you whether you liked it or not. The food was quite nice but the whole routine of the dining room reminded me of school dinners. i think at the mid and late 30's age range we were slightly too young to make the most of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikicymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Hi Niki
Sorry to hear that we were not what you were looking for and not least about your fall. I trust you’re OK. Our ‘Posh Pod’ rooms are not large as their name suggests, however why the duvet should be on the floor I’m not really sure.
We do run a dinner service that is simplistic and do have a specific dinner time for first and second sittings. Although not as flexible as some might want, this does enable us to have shortest possible holding time for food and hence everything is piping hot and freshly served. This also allows us to offer ‘good home cooking’ which, as you point out, is very well received. We do cater for a wide age range. The age group is usually younger in school holidays. Weekends tend to attract a younger group than mid weeks.
It is difficult to please all the people all of the time, but we try to create a warm welcoming atmosphere, offer good clean accommodation, tasty food with friendly service and good entertainment. Maybe we could find you one of our larger rooms and tempt you back on another occasion? We would welcome the opportunity to give you a stay that fully meets your expectations.
Yours Sincerely
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

My wife and I have just returned from having a mini break at the Elgin. The hotel itself was very good, it was good value for money, the staff were very friendly and dealt with the few minor issues we had efficiently and courteously. The dining room staff were reasonably good, maybe need to take a little more care when speaking to some of the more mature guests, as we noticed that in there haste to get people served they didn't inter react very well with some guests who had hearing difficulties. The entertainment was not our cup of tea but most of the guests appeared to enjoy themselves, but at least the hotel bothered to put entertainment on. The excursions that the hotel put on were good. but a couple of issues we had we brought to the attention of the hotel manager. (nothing too bad I might add, hopefully points that may improve these trips for other guests)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willywonker51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Hi Willie
Many thanks for your feedback – not least the suggestions you made to me regards a script for the drivers on the illuminations tour – this is something we are looking into for next year. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,035 reviews
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#22 of 73 in Blackpool
414 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,005 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#23 of 73 in Blackpool
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elgin Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgin Hotel Blackpool

Property: Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Address: 36-42 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#9 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Elgin Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Hotel (Large Hotel of the Year Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015 - Lancashire Tourism Board) is an 89 bedroom hotel located on the cliffs on the exclusive Queen's Promenade, just one mile north of Blackpool Town Centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and we are proud to offer an extensive range of room type which range from Standard to Club Executive - these rooms even have TVs in the bathroom! In addition, we also have five accessible bedrooms. We offer a wide range of midweek and themed mini weekend breaks, including: • Elvis Tributes • Swinging 60s • Rod Stewart Tributes • Comedy & Cabaret nights • Turkey and Tinsel breaks • Illuminations breaks • And much more! With all this to choose from, you're sure to find something to suit your taste! Bingo and cabaret entertainment can be enjoyed every evening after Dinner in the hotel. Guests on midweek breaks also have the option to take advantage of our free excursions to various locations throughout the year! Return coach travel is available from a number of regions when booked with Elgin Tours. We take the stress out of travelling so that you can start your holiday the right way. Plus we're fully bonded with ABTA for extra piece of mind. Our philosophy at the hotel is very much focused on adding value to your stay. We strive to go the extra mile and our friendly staff are always willing to accommodate special requests. Our commitment to customer service is just one of the reasons why many guests choose to return! • Dinner, Bed and Breakfast as standard • Special discounts for children • WIFI available • Lift to all floors • Car park plus plenty of on-street parking without charges/restrictions • Fully licensed bars and lounges • Accessible rooms • Great transport links (bus and tram stops outside of the hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elgin Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackpool Elgin Hotel
Elgin Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing