We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at The Elgin three weekends ago on the Frank Sinatra and Doris Day weekend. We were a family of two adults and one child. We had a lovely weekend at The Elgin. We could not find fault with any thing. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were most pleasant and helpful. The food was to a very high standard and it was nice to have a choice of options for breakfast and dinner. We stayed in a posh pod and this room was decorated and furnished to a very high standard. We will certainly come back again and found many of the guests on the weekend we stayed were regular visitors to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elginhotel, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hi Helen
Many thanks for your great feedback. Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Frank Sinatra and Doris Day Weekend – we have some great new acts and tributes lined up for 2014, not least our Shirley Bassey and Tom Jones Tribute Weekend at the end of February. Your comments about our Staff (Team Elgo), our rooms and the food are really very much appreciated.
We hope to be of future service.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    187
    46
    11
    16
See reviews for
203
277
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have just come back from our third stay this year. As usual it was an incredible restful stay. The place was spotless, the food delicious, the entertainment great, and the staff were their usual obliging selves.
A special mention of "Nok" and "Aric" in the Dining Room.
We will be going back in the New Year.

Room Tip: Just "Book and Go"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maurice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elginhotel, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Maurice
Apologies for not responding sooner but have been away in deepest dampest Dorset – lovely place.
Great to see you again for your third visit this year. Many thanks for your complements about the food, the cleanliness, the entertainment and not least the staff – I will pass your comments on to Nok and Arek.
We look forward to welcoming you in the New Year.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I really never want to try another hotel when we go to Blackpool. I know that we will be welcomed with a smile, have one of my favourite rooms (116, 131) and feel at home as soon as I arrive. Thank you for another fantastic stay, brilliant in every way.

Room Tip: Its definitely worth upgrading to a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizPa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elginhotel, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thanks Liz
Really pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and not least the decor in bedrooms 116 and 131. I remember you mentioning the ceiling design in these rooms when you were last here.
Warm Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

just returned from a midweek stay hotel is comfortable clean and the staff are helpful and friendly entertainment is also very good waiter service is excellent Breakfast is fine, However evening meals are disappointing watery powdered soup YUK !!!! Convenience food on a plate YUK!!! Might see if one a them TV chefs could help like with the NHS and school meals its not hard to make soup and cook meat!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elginhotel, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Anne
Many thanks for the feedback. I was delighted to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable, and that you enjoyed our entertainment and service. I’m naturally disappointed to read your comments regarding our food. I am in the hotel 5 nights a week and on most of these I am either in the kitchen or take time to walk around the dining room to ensure that guests enjoy their meals and their holiday in general. I am surprised that you didn’t say anything to me during your stay – we genuinely are keen to hear of any issues so that we can rectify them at the time. As you will read from other reviewers we very rarely have any complaints about the food, indeed we do consider it one of our strengths. We do use packet soups but we do enhance these with fresh ingredients – often giving the appearance and taste of a home-made soup. All our meat and fish are fresh (with the exception of Plaice), as are most of our vegetables. We don’t buy in any ‘ready to serve’ deserts – they are all made here at the hotel. It could well be that we failed to offer our usual fare to you on one occasion and, if you would like to contact me, I would be delighted to discuss your comments and perhaps treat you to ‘Dinner for Two’ in the hotel.
Please be assured that we do appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention.
Yours Sincerely,
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Only one night BB and Evening meal, room small but very good, evening meal fine, breakfast very good, service very good and in a perfect position.
Couldn't fault it or it's staff.
Car park is small but it's not a problem for the staff, very well oranised.
The restaurant manager was very helpful, as were the receptionists.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owen4lr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elginhotel, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Rosie
Many thanks for your kind comments.
I'm delighted that you all enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking. We really appreciate your feedback.
Kind Regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just returned from a trip to the Elgin, took 16 elderly rockers to the ABBA weekend.(27-29 Sept 2013)
Welcomed to the hotel & found everything very good ,rooms clean & bright & all staff could not do enough for you, anything you needed just ask & it is there.
Dining room large & all 16 of us sat together as requested. Food was great plenty of it & cooked to perfection, the waiters were friendly & quick no waiting around between courses.
All in all a good friendly home from home hotel would recommend to anyone.

Brian & Friends

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianC5972013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elginhotel, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Hi Brian
Many thanks for your kind comments. Really pleased that everyone enjoyed themselves.
Hopefully see you all in the not too distant future.
Please pass on our best wishes to all the team.
Kind Regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was my second time at the Elgin, and enjoyed my stay, rooms nice and clean, good food,and value for money, the entertainment was a sixties cabaret , with some 70-80 shoved in
1 downside was the Internet connection, which was very poor, even their own computer did not connect -room for improvement, the service was very fast, good waiters, considering the hotel was jam packed on Saturday,the maid did come in one morning when we were at breakfast, to service the room, which was not very nice, I have been in a lot of hotels in Blackpool, The Elgin is one of the best, I will be back...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elginhotel, Owner Manager at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Hi Jas
Many thanks for your kind complements, not least that you believe we're the best in Blackpool!
I have been in contact with our 'Wifi Man' and he has now put a high powered transmitter in the area of hte hotel near your room as well as a repeater on the adjacent floor. This is working at the moment but we will continue to monitor the signal. Thanks for drawing this to our attention.
Really good to hear that you enjoyed the food, service and entertainment. We have just made the short list for the Lancashire Tourist Board's 'Large Hotel of the Year' - hoping that the judges are of the same mindset as yourself!
We look forward to being of future service.
Kind Regards,
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
3,142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,977 reviews
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#21 of 70 in Blackpool
404 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 70 in Blackpool
984 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elgin Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgin Hotel Blackpool

Property: Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Address: 36-42 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#9 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Elgin Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Hotel (Large Hotel of the Year Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015 - Lancashire Tourism Board) is an 89 bedroom hotel located on the cliffs on the exclusive Queen's Promenade, just one mile north of Blackpool Town Centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and we are proud to offer an extensive range of room type which range from Standard to Club Executive - these rooms even have TVs in the bathroom! In addition, we also have five accessible bedrooms. We offer a wide range of midweek and themed mini weekend breaks, including: • Elvis Tributes • Swinging 60s • Rod Stewart Tributes • Comedy & Cabaret nights • Turkey and Tinsel breaks • Illuminations breaks • And much more! With all this to choose from, you're sure to find something to suit your taste! Bingo and cabaret entertainment can be enjoyed every evening after Dinner in the hotel. Guests on midweek breaks also have the option to take advantage of our free excursions to various locations throughout the year! Return coach travel is available from a number of regions when booked with Elgin Tours. We take the stress out of travelling so that you can start your holiday the right way. Plus we're fully bonded with ABTA for extra piece of mind. Our philosophy at the hotel is very much focused on adding value to your stay. We strive to go the extra mile and our friendly staff are always willing to accommodate special requests. Our commitment to customer service is just one of the reasons why many guests choose to return! • Dinner, Bed and Breakfast as standard • Special discounts for children • WIFI available • Lift to all floors • Car park plus plenty of on-street parking without charges/restrictions • Fully licensed bars and lounges • Accessible rooms • Great transport links (bus and tram stops outside of the hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Elgin Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackpool Elgin Hotel
Elgin Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing