We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We went with a party of 40 for Sunday lunch to the Elgin Hotel. The food was excellent and the staff were very helpful. One gentleman in the party had difficulty holding his soup spoon and so the waiter,(not English) offered a beaker and straw with fresh soup for the man. Very kind gesture. Although the staff were busy with bank holiday guests they treated our visit for lunch with just as much courtesy. A very popular hotel.

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Peter
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're really pleased to know that you and your party all enjoyed their Sunday Lunch and that the team went that extra mile for you.
Talking of teams, please would you say a prayer for our football team - they sorely need some divine intervention!
Warm Regards and Best Wishes,
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just got home from the Elgin after a mon to fri break and what a fab time we had.Staff were fantatstic,food fantastic and room was spotless.My small son enjoyed the childrens entertainment from dvd night to childrens entertainer to family bingo.Great value for money.thanks Nigel and all the team from Kerry,Jayne and Iestyn.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Jayne and Family,
Many thanks for your very kind comments and grrrreat review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, not least the family entertainment in August. Hoping we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Warm Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Booked into the Elgin hotel through the internet and got the last room, I don't normally book last rooms as it is usually the worst in the hotel, well it was nearly true the room was a standard double, clean with a very nice shower room, but it was small. But when the receptionist told me we had a trip to Grasmere, back to Ambleside then on the boat to Bowness we were chuffed to say the least, then on checking if it were true I was then told we were on an inclusive break free drinks and the good stuff, 11am till 11pm and free tea and coffee all day and every day except arrival day and departure day non of witch was mentioned on the net and with entertainment each night and a tea dance with scones and sandwiches what a bargain. But I have to mention the staff they are the best I have come across on my travels around the british isles, happy, helpful, and quick and I will be returning to this hotel but will probably get dearer room.

Room Tip: Found the standard room we had to be small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank william r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear William
Many thanks for your generous review – we always try to under-promise and over-deliver. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel – be sure to ring us or email us directly when making a booking – this way we can ensure we give you a room that fully meets your requirements.
Many thanks also for your kind comments about the staff – it really is a team effort here at the Elgin. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your all-inclusive stay.
Kind Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This is my 3rd visit and its the best hotel in blackpool
Took my mum with me this time to celebrate her 65th birthday!
On arrival we were greeted with smiley happy faces
Amanda,tom,nigel (naming a few) really makes u feel welcomed
Beautiful hotel,bedrooms,restauraunt,bar and so home from home.
Very busy hotel but everything is organised and controlled
Entertainment is fantastic
Mam loved meatloaf & tina turner both where simply the best
I just love blackpool, plenty of things to do..
Evening meals and breakfast is top notch and couldnt fault it at all!!!
Bookin to go AGAIN in january
Well done elgin hotel
Full marks again

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank kimwelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Hi Kim
Many thanks for your all your positive feedback – it really is much appreciated. Delighted to hear that Mum enjoyed her weekend not least our Meatloaf and Tina Turner Tributes.
Hopefully see you soon.
Warm Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Recently visited the Elgin Hotel for the second time this year, once again made to feel welcome. The staff are very helpful from reception to the cleaners, especially Tom in the restraunt always has a smile and a cheerful word, The food very good very clean hotel, you meet the same people who go regularly, they are very friendly, that is what makes this hotel great, you keep wanting to go back time and time again.it is like home from home. Thank you once again Nigel and staff, see you again in August. Jean and George Hinchcliffe.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room too one of the special rooms if you want a little luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank georgegh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Jean and George
Always a pleasure to welcome you back to the Elgin. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Many thanks for all your kind comments, not least about Tom and the team.
Hopefully see you soon,
Warm Regards and Best Wishes,
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We just had our 4th weekend break at the Elgin. Tried many hotels in Blackpool and been very disappointed. The rooms exceeded our expectation and the hotel is spotlessly clean. The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
We wouldn't go anywhere else. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a fab break in Blackpool.
incidentally the Tina Turner act on the Saturday was fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gillian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi Gillian
Many thanks for your very generous review. Really pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and not least our Tina Turner Tribute.
We look forward to welcoming you all back to the Elgin.
Warm Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

just returned from a weekend break for sisters 50th..and it was an excellent hotel,friendly staff and guests...excellent food service and meals were great and hot..rooms were nicely decorated and beds are the best ive slept in in any hotel for a long time...towels changed every day and beds made..the hotel was fully booked and busy but everything ran smoothly..and all in 1 brilliant hotel and would recommend to family and friends...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank lushis-lips1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Many thanks Lushis-lips – particularly your comments about the housekeeping – always good for team morale to receive such great feedback. Really pleased that you all enjoyed yourselves and you found everything to your liking.
Hoping to be of future service.
Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sheraton
Hotel Sheraton
#19 of 73 in Blackpool
479 reviews
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,260 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elgin Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgin Hotel Blackpool

Address: 36-42 Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#6 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £65 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elgin Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Hotel (Large Hotel of the Year Finalist 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015 - Lancashire Tourism Board) is an 89 bedroom hotel located on the cliffs on the exclusive Queen's Promenade, just one mile north of Blackpool Town Centre. All bedrooms are en-suite and we are proud to offer an extensive range of room type which range from Standard to Club Executive - these rooms even have TVs in the bathroom! In addition, we also have five accessible bedrooms. We offer a wide range of midweek and themed mini weekend breaks, including: • Elvis Tributes • Swinging 60s • Rod Stewart Tributes • Comedy & Cabaret nights • Turkey and Tinsel breaks • Illuminations breaks • And much more! With all this to choose from, you're sure to find something to suit your taste! Bingo and cabaret entertainment can be enjoyed every evening after Dinner in the hotel. Guests on midweek breaks also have the option to take advantage of our free excursions to various locations throughout the year! Return coach travel is available from a number of regions when booked with Elgin Tours. We take the stress out of travelling so that you can start your holiday the right way. Plus we're fully bonded with ABTA for extra piece of mind. Our philosophy at the hotel is very much focused on adding value to your stay. We strive to go the extra mile and our friendly staff are always willing to accommodate special requests. Our commitment to customer service is just one of the reasons why many guests choose to return! • Dinner, Bed and Breakfast as standard • Special discounts for children • WIFI available • Lift to all floors • Car park plus plenty of on-street parking without charges/restrictions • Fully licensed bars and lounges • Accessible rooms • Great transport links (bus and tram stops outside of the hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Elgin Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackpool Elgin Hotel
Elgin Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing