We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (915)
Filter reviews
915 results
Traveller rating
626
209
51
13
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
626
209
51
13
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elvis weekend turkey and tinsel excellent entertainment great weekend evening meal meal times sea view mid week break coach trip wet room next year food was lovely restaurant staff my mum nothing too much trouble funny girls excellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 915 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2014

Just got back yesterday from our annual T & T few days with my husband and 88 year old mum, The Elgin for us just gets better and better everything is great , would recommend the hotel to anyone coming back time after time is just like coming home "one big happy family" . We wish to Say "A Big Thank You " to Nigel and all his fantastic team and we look forward to seeing you again on the 9th March.

Room tip: We always ask for south facing rooms and have never been disappointed
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evergreensHuddersfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

Dear 'Evergreens from Huddersfield',
Many thanks for your 'Big Thank You' - it is very much appreciated. Really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in March.
With Warm Regards and Best Wishes,
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2014

I have recently returned from a two night break with my husband at the Elgin and was rather disappointed at the room we were allocated (127). The hotel is in a lovely position on the sea front making it accessible for the local transport. The bar and sun lounge have lots of comfy sofas for relaxing and the dining room is lovely. However our bedroom was extremely tired with floorboards that squeaked with every step, chipped furniture and a radiator that wouldn't adjust so we were roasting all night even though we slept with the window open. The bathroom was tiny and a little smelly and boasted an avocado suite. On the good side the staff were friendly, especially the waiters, and the food was very good with plenty of choice, especially at breakfast. It seems we were unlucky with our room and after reading other reviews so we might give it another try as the public areas and food were really nice.

Room tip: Don't accept rooms at the side in the first floor eg 127
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

Dear Barbara
Dear Barbara
Many thanks for your review. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food, service and hospitality. Naturally I was sorry to read your feedback about your bedroom. However, I can tell you that only on Tuesday of this week I asked our interior design to look at your room and include it in our winter refurbishment commencing in January. As you suggested, it is one of our ‘oldest’ rooms.
I do hope that you will return when we will do our utmost to let you have a larger and more recently refurbished bedroom.
We very much appreciate your comments.
Kind Regards,
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014

the hotel was very good.food was good and staff were very friendly and helpful.The only downside was the parking,once parked you are blocked in if on impulse you want to move its not possible.If anyone goes i would suggest parking on adjacent streets.

Room tip: we had sea view room 101 which was ok unless you want an early night and if there was something on in Stans bar this was not possible until well after 11oclock
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SHEILA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

Dear Sheila
Many thanks for your feedback. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I take on board your point about the parking. It can be a problem at Illumination Weekends but usually we can juggle cars around when necessary. For future reference, I drive in to work twice a day and park on the side roads - I am seldom more than 100 yards from the hotel. As you say, this could well be your best course of action on next Illumination visit. I do hope we can be of future service.
With Kind Regards and Best Wishes,
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2014 via mobile

My elderly Aunt and I arrived at The Elgin to a lovely warm welcome at reception from (if I remember correctly) Stu? (Scottish chap) 10 out of 10! He parked my car for me and upgraded us immediately. The clientele of The Elgin are 99.999% elderly coach trips and this reflects in the 'entertainment' but it IS Blackpool after all!
Food was lovely and plentiful, restaurant staff very pleasant with one being quite exceptional, if I were to open my own hotel i wouldn't hesitate to go back and offer the young guy a job immediately!!.....so General manager take heed!!
I believe the name was Mike or Jack (bearded one) We were able to hire a wheelchair on our second day for a reasonable fee which reception kindly organised with an outside company. The smaller lift on the far side of the building needs upgraded, which I was assured was in hand apart from that minor item a lovely stay, Thanks Elgin

Date of stay: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojo7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

Dear Jojo
Many thanks for your kind review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay - Jack and Mike in particular. At the suggestion of one of the guests, Mike (the bearded chap) has volunteered to parade the Christmas Pudding around the Dining Room in nothing but his waiter's apron. However, as well as putting some of us off our Christmas Dinner, I had to politely decline his offer as I didn't want any elderly ladies falling off their dining chairs in a state of shock!
I do hope that we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Warm Regards and Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a weekend 'spooktacular' with my partner and 3 young children. Although we didnt get off to the best start for our break away we can definatly say we have loved it!The kids had a ball at the halloween party and were amazed when we returned from the tower yesterday to a winter wonderland the hotel had been decorated for christmas and looked beautiful. The staff were brilliant and I can only thank everyone at the Elgin for making our families break magical. We will definatly be back to Blackpool and be staying at the Elgin!!

Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Steph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

Hi Steph
Many thanks for your feedback. Great to hear how much you and the family enjoyed our Halloween weekend. We do several weekends family weekends though out the year - not least our August 'Family Fun and Magic Weekend' in August.
We look forward to welcoming you all back to the Elgin.
With Warm Regards and Best Wishes,
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews