We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Lucena Hotel(Blackpool)
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Viking Hotel(Blackpool)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Big Blue Hotel(Blackpool)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ruskin Hotel(Blackpool)(Great Value!)
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Travelodge Blackpool South Shore(Blackpool)(Great Value!)
US$98
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (865)
Filter reviews
865 results
Traveller rating
584
201
51
13
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
584
201
51
13
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselvis weekendclub class roomrock and rollturkey and tinseleach eveningweekend breakexcellent entertainmentgreat weekendmeal timescoach triphalf boardsea viewnext yearwet roomwalk in showernothing is too much troublemy mum
Filter
Updating list...
428 - 433 of 865 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2014

I cannot remember how many Christmas's that my wife, grown up daughter and I, have spent at the Elgin Hotel, I can remember that we have always had a great time. We arrived on Tuesday 23 December and departed Saturday 27 December.
The very friendly staff greet you, and immediately you feel the warm welcome, you then see lots of other guests, most of them, we have met before, during our other stays at the Elgin.
Over the three nights, we had good entertainment in both, Stan's Bar and Jimmy's Bar, there were 13 or 14 different artists on over our stay, plus a residence organ/pianist in both the two bars, Alan in Stan's Bar and Geoff in Jimmy's Bar, so there was never a 'dull moment'. And you've never heard a 'rendition' of The 12 days of Christmas, as sang by the guests!
The food, as always, was top-class and very plentiful, the dining room staff are very smartly dressed, friendly and very professional, and the service was good, as you would expect from a good hotel.
Included in the price was a 'mystery coach trip', we all put a pound in, and had a guess, where we were going to, but the coach driver won again, only kidding!

Also included was the fantastic Ice Show, a wonderful show for young and old alike.
Nigel the hotelier, supplied a 'bubbly reception' for guests, and a glass of sherry, also he gave every guest a free drink, of their choice, on Christmas Day.
It is no surprise, that the Elgin, gets booked up well in advance for Christmas, that is the reason, we, and the other many regular guests, have already booked our room for next year.

Room Tip: There are 89 bedrooms, all of which are ensuite, the three floors are served by two lifts, my family and I must have stayed in almost every bedroom, and never had reason to complain. Contact the friendly reception for full details on the rooms
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank RegularLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Hi Les
Many thanks for your most generous write up and also your photos - we could do with one or two of these for the brochure!
Really pleased that you and the girls enjoyed all the Elgin Festivities.
Look forward to seeing you on 22nd January for Bop n Pop Sir Les Marshall Weekend (Mark 1).
Very Best Wishes for 2015.
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2014

Just returned from a 1 night Special at the Elgin.
It was brilliant from start to finish. Only 1 night but it was the BEST 1 night we have had in Blackpool for quite sometime.
Everyone was so welcoming and soon made friends with other customers. We had a lovely room which was nice and warm . The food in the restaurant was of high quality as was the staff who served us.
Going back for a bit longer in May and looking forward to it very much.
THANKS NIGEL & TEAM

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank cabhappy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear Cabhappy
Many thanks for your generous review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in May .
Best Wishes
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2014

Just arrived home after yet another great break at the Elgin .All of your staff Nigel should be commended for all the excellent work they do from housekeeping to the bar staff the waiters and kitchen staff and reception they were all very helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble. We stayed in a club class double room on the third floor(363) the only minor niggle was the fan in the bathroom which seemed to have a life of its own it came on in the early hours of the morning for about 20 minutes then it stopped not good when you are sleeping the food and entertainment excellent as always and plenty of it I can recommend the elgin to anybody don't listen to the moaning minnies hope to return sometime next year once again job well done to all at the elgin

Room Tip: go for club class if you can
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear Yvonne
Many thanks for your kind review and not least your complements about the staff. Really good to know that we all looked after you.
Thanks also for pointing out the problem with the fan in your room - we will soon rectify this.
All the very best for 2015.
Kind Regards
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014

We had a fabulous time, from the time we arrived on the Tuesday until we left on the Saturday. The staff always had a smile and just could not do enough for us. The Restaurant Staff led by Tom and Robert were great,as were the Bar/Entertainment gang. The Housekeeping were almost invisible and if we had a question, the folk on Reception were always eager to help.
The food was really great, plentiful and well presented, (Three full meals each day, with the offer of supper). - - almost too much.There was something going on most of the time, with two artists each night along with the regular Bingo, all of this put together by Nigel and his team.
NIGEL; is it true that when you eventually got home someone reported an intruder??

Room Tip: "Just Book and Go"
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maurice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Hi Maurice
Many thanks for your most generous write-up - we're delighted that you had such a good time over the Christmas period. Great to have such a good crowd of people in.
Funnily enough I did see someone leaving the neighbourhood when I got home and my wife did seem very happy!
All the very best for 2015.
Warm Regards
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014 via mobile

Just returned from yet another Christmas House party at The Elgin. And this year was as always great. Lots of great food and even a real life Santa !! Top marks to all the staff and of course Tom the head waiter and his team. Never been at Christmas ??? Try it. You will love it. Cannot fault it.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank mikie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSeddon, Director at Elgin Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Hi Mike
Many thanks for your very kind review. Santa was the real deal - I know this because chef caught him helping himself to mince pies in the early hours of the morning.
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay Mike and thanks again for your help with the entertainment.
Very Best Wishes for 2015.
Warm Regards
Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews