We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disapointing. Dreadful!”
Review of The Dukeries Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dukeries Hotel
Ranked #641 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disapointing. Dreadful!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I've know no idea if the people who put good reviews about this hotel are genuine or not. They must have had a lot of blind people who stayed at this hotel!!

The hotel is nothing more than basic\and believe me' this is me being kind.

The carpets are in need of some serious vacuuming. (I was itching all night!) The vacuum, which they clearly use, is situated in the lobby and believe me when i say that "Noah" had a better one. There is no way that that vacuum picks anything up. Why don't these people invest??? and buy a new vacuum and start cleaning the rooms properly!! There is no excuse for basic cleaning.

The pillows were like putting your head on a sweaty filled napkin.

No atmosphere!!

We went to make a coffee, in our room, only to find the milk cartons had gone sour and had curdled. I can't believe they don't keep these in a fridge and allocate new ones daily.

This hotel is a typical one of poor service in Blackpool who are only interested in taking your money and offering very little in return. Then they wonder why Blackpool is going down hill. Perhaps if the owners of these typical hotels actually kept these places clean then people might actuall go back time after time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank doublem4673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    22
    9
    12
    8
See reviews for
18
18
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I booked a room for me and my two daughters with this hotel last year, paid a £60 deposit had to cancel, but was told I could keep the deposit on a new booking for this year, I was never sent a confirmation, however did speak on the phone about 3 times just weeks before we were supposed to stay there. When I arrived there they had no knowledge of my booking, the receptionist was very defensive and rude, she kept telling me with no confirmation you wont have a room!! Im not an unreasonable person and did understand that it was my own fault for not asking for a second confirmation but surely she could have asked me and my two young children to have a seat and maybe help me find a room elsewhere, her customer service skills were not the best!!! We were left outside in the rain with our cases!! I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone, and obviuosly I was never offered my £60 back!!!

Room Tip: Always make sure you have a confirmation, even if you have changed your reservation and are told you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaB616275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeriesBlackpool, General Manager at The Dukeries Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
We are sorry that you had problems with your reservation. When you originally cancelled we tried to assist by offering you to re-book for another date and credit your account with your original deposit - please note that deposits are not refundable. We had no record of your phone calls regarding your new reservation dates and had issued no paperwork. The receptionist was unable to offer a family room but offered 2 separate rooms and would arrange a credit for the £60 the following morning after speaking to the Proprietors. If you had requested assistance in finding alternative accommodation then we would have offered full help. The receptionist was not being rude but cannot allocate rooms that are not available. We cannot offer a refund of the deposit but should you wish to stay at the hotel for alternative dates we will happily credit your £60 against the reservation. If you would like to discuss further then please contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Lovely little hotel, very reasonably priced. Room 19 good size twin. Very close to Winter gardens and shops, and only 10 minute walk from Blackpool North train station (or £5 in taxi). Owner very pleasant and helpful and would certainly stay here again if I ad to go to Blackpool.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marionandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The Hilton hotel has too much going on, this little hotel in the centre of town is perfect. The rooms were lovely, equips with everything I needed and all was clean and smelt fresh, the owners were so so kind and funny and kept a good laugh going. The food in the morning was lovely too, with a calm atmosphere in the dining room, and the a m a z i n g full English breakfast, the owner came down and had a little chat with us about our night and what we would do, and the two young girls who served us breakfast were adorably polite and sweet. They gave you whatever they wanted and it was no trouble even if they were busy. 100% I would stay there again, such a lovely hotel, perfect. Thank you all staff!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennaaabaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Retford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2012

biiked a 2nt stay at dukeries the hotel is very basic but very clean the bedrooms had plenty of storage and were freshly made beds and again very clean. when we arrived at hotel after chkin in the landlord parked my car as we hit traffic on way down and a 21/2hr journey became a 5hr journey we hit the bar. nxt mornin breakfast was basic but was served very hot and staff very clean and helpfull.the staff and management cudnt do enough for you i wud return to this hotel as its location was fantastic also. if ya goin to blackpool its a must to go to the merry england in the afternoon and funnygirls at nt fantastic. the hotel catered for singles,couples and families alike. grt hotel keep it up see you soon you made my hen w/end the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev43-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

We booked two rooms for a 2 night break during the school holidays last October. The location is great and a short cut though the shopping precinct takes you right into the main activities area. The rooms are basic but very clean and the breakfasts are great. The only downside is the car parking at the rear which is very limited but the owner does a great job of packing them in and shuffling them around. I was a bit aprehensive with my 3 month old car but everything was fine. This hotel does the job for a short stay and is great value for money which leaves more to spend on the kids fun which is why anyone goes to Blackpool in the first place.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank daven44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Just returned home after staying one night at the Duckeries Hotel. The hotel is situated a short distance away from the hussle & bussle of Blackpools pubs and clubs. the hotel its self in my opinion was wonderful check in was speedy and was allocated a twin room which was quite big bright and clean. I also had several drinks from the well stocked bar with the prices cheaper than most pubs. Breakfast was served between 8.30 & 9.30 and i must say the full english was amazing and was washed down with either tea or coffee. All staff i found was very polite and nothing was too much trouble and i will definatley return next time im in Blackpool. Well done Duckeries. Sammo from Halifax....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halifax-referee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#45 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Beach) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukeries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukeries Hotel

Property: The Dukeries Hotel
Address: 86-88 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #641 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Dukeries Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dukeries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing