We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dukeries Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dukeries Hotel
Ranked #614 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Hampshire
1 review
“Friendly and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2007

We had a lovely weeks stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food excellent. The hotel has been refurbished since our last stay including replacement windows and the room was clean, bright and comfortable. The kids loved the games room whilst we enjoyed a drink in the bar!

  • Liked — Good Food
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueeyes56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    21
    9
    11
    7
See reviews for
18
16
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2007

The owners of this hotel are pleasent people. The hotel its self has a very stale damp smell to it, and really need updating on the decor and bed linen. The bed linen is old fashioned with a stale smell to it, which really I didnt want to use.
The breakfasts are very poor, not much of a choice with not very much to look at on your plate, we was all left feeling very hungry as the portions of the full english was like a childs portion.
You couldnt of called it a full english as it was so poor in content.

If this is all your going to get for your money, then the stay should be alot cheaper then £27 pounds per night.

  • Liked — The late bar
  • Disliked — Stale smell of the hotel and poor breakfasts
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jedi-19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeriesBlackpool, Manager at The Dukeries Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2007
We are very disappointed that you were unhappy with your stay. The hotel bedrooms were completely refurbished at the end of 2006 with replacement windows, new fitted furniture and redecorated to a modern style. With regards to the bed linen, like a lot of Blackpool hotels we use a professional linen company for all our laundry so we are very surprised that you found them to smell stale. The hotel breakfast consists of an all you can eat cold buffet bar with cereals/fruit juices and a cooked breakfast - your choice of eggs, bacon, sausage, tomato/beans and fried bread and unlimited hot toast, tea/coffee. If a guest requests more then we always oblige. You stated the owners were friendly therefore we wish you had complained at the time so we could have corrected any problems you had with the hotel. We prefer to receive any complaints at the time rather than receiving them once it is too late to rectify!
With regards the price - we think that £27 per person per night for bed & breakfast in a single/double/twin en-suite room is not excessive for a town centre hotel at weekends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2004

Linen was clean, the place could do with a lick of paint, there is parking available but it is extremely tight and you have to leave your car keys with reception. The owner seems a little stressed, he had a go at me about my parking, and publicly argued with another guest at breakfast time in front of everyone over a problem with the water in their room. The rest of the staff are friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2004

The overnight stay we spent there was perfect accommodation for the winter garfens concert last march. Nothing too much trouble. Atmosphere wonderful. Booking again for concerts/shows all through 2004. Food and service cannot be matched. Jayne Maxwell

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2003

My Girlfriend and I stayed for only 2 nights at the dukeries hotel in Blackpool. We were greeted by friendly staff who told us of the local goings on for the duration of our stay. We chose a double room for two nights and the cost was only £25 each per night. The room was en suite and had a hair dryer , colour TV , kettle with coffee and tea etc.. , and also a built in radio. also included in the cost was a lovely breakfast of cereal and juice followed by a full english breakfast. We were on a limited budget and the hotel was a lovely quiet place to stay for a couple of days. I would recommend the Dukeries to any other parties on their way to blackpool for a holiday and I would gladly spend a week there. The distance to the sea front and Tower is only a couple of minutes and the Winter gardens are across the road , fantastic. for your info this review was written the day we arrived home 11th august 2003

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#45 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Melville Hotel
Melville Hotel
#62 of 72 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#10 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boomerang Blackpool
Boomerang Blackpool
#229 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukeries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukeries Hotel

Property: The Dukeries Hotel
Address: 86-88 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #614 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Dukeries Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Dukeries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing