We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Big Blue!”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We loved it, simple as that. We are fussy with our hotels but cannot fault the Big Blue. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a 'Rollercoaster View' room and it was just great fun. Room very clean and bed just so comfortable and we got a really good nights sleep which is unusual in a hotel. Staff attentive and friendly and nothing too much trouble. Evening meal excellent and portion sizes generous. Plenty of free car parking outside and free wi-fi. Thanks for a great stay, if we ever return to Blackpool we would use this hotel again it really is far better than any other hotel we saw.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Famousfourtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,682 - 2,688 of 3,193 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2011

The hotel sits right on the doorstep to 'Pleasure Beach' which is the main reason I chose this hotel. The staff were all pleasant and the food is good but not 4 star cuisine.

The bar is quite expensive considering the location though the cocktails were very good.

Our room had a view of the pleasure beach 'big one' roller coaster and others which at first was off putting but I quickly came round to seeing the funny side to it.....after all, visiting the resort was the reason for my stay in Blackpool and in any case, most rides do not start until after 10am so there is no interruption to sleep quality.

The only gripe I have is with the hotel car park. My car was damaged I presume by an inconsiderate fool who banged their car door against my own however there is no evidence of this it should be the most likely cause. However, one day later I was shocked to see that another guest had a tyre slashed on their car which was upsetting to see considering it was a young family. There is obviously a security problem here although cctv cameras are present I dont believe they cover much of the car park, even if they actually work or not.

I would go back and would hope that the hotel security is rectified more so with quality cctv cameras covering all areas of car parking. I believe if this was already in place then the fool who may have badly dented my door would have paid for it rather than my own pocket.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazandamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Stayed for one night over the bank holiday weekend, great location, lovely large family room and great food, also £40 cheaper than the very tired Hilton up the road. Will Definatley be back

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew_Steward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Noting the star rating and having just stayed here.. this place is massively over-rated

I suppose the alarm bells should have started ringing when we checked into this "4 star" Hotel and noticed: a tiny room.. no dressing gowns, no mini bar, the rollercoaster ride was 20 meters away from our window (20 meters, can you imagine how crazyily noisy & close that is from your bed!??!)..and a stern warning note next to the kettle about not stealing the mugs from your room..LOL!

Couple all of that with just enough room to put your suitcase down and very unhelpfull front of house staff (specifically the two men, really 1 star B&B dreadfull, they need a customer service lession urgently) .. and all this for £120ppn!!

Very dull hotel, Hugely overpriced hotel without any competition (everything else is B&Bs).. so I guess this is indeed the best Blackpool has to offer..?

The pleasant & helpfull ladies on reception were the only redeeming features of this place. the two blonde haired guys on front desk really need to ask themselves why they are in a customer facing job, We've not seen so much bad "attitude" in a long time..

Absolutely nothing to recommend at this price apart from it's clean & has an ok breakfast..

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hugwort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Recommended to me by a friend. Lovely rooms, very comfortable and modern, flat screen tvs, kettles, kids beds in a separate area of the room to the adults bed. Kids activity board game on the wall and own tv. Full bathroom suite, all very clean. Breakfasts are amazing! Ive stayed here twice and really enjoyed it both times

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaniellePiercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Rooms were massive, clean, so close to the Pleasure Beach, infact it is basically in Pleasure Beach. Great place to drop your bags, hit the rides then come back, get washed, relax for a bit then hit the town, although you will be bushed like we were so we just went to a great chinese resteraunt, learned how to use chop sticks (well i gave it a good shot), got the taxi back and had a great night sleep.
missed the breakfast which i really regret.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLostScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Before arriving at the Big Blue Hotel, I will admit i was rather dubious partly about Blackpool itself and the image I pictured of Blackpool Hotels.
However all of my worries disappeared the moment I arrived at the Big Blue.
As a travel Agent, I am rather picky when it comes to hotels but I can truly say that this was a real gem.
The hotel is very clean and welcoming.
We chose a Deluxe room and it was definently worth the money.
With warm interior, a flatscreen tv, and best of all a view of the Pleasure Beach, we couldnt have asked for more.
On the first evening we made the most of the hotel's facilities and ate in the restaurant,
although the taste of the food could have been better, the staff were always friendly and on hand to help.
Breakfast was lovely consisting of the usual full english and continental breakfasts and could not be faulted. Some people complain about the wait for breakfast, but the longest we had to wait one morning was 5 minutes. Not a problem at all as the restaurant is fairly large.
If i were ever to return to Blackpool again ( and I certainly hope that I will) I will definently stay at the Big Blue Hotel without a seconds thought and will certainly be recommending the hotel to my clients.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room, worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunlover9267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,167 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,046 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
878 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £76 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing