We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous as always...but same gripes as always!”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous as always...but same gripes as always!”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times and for me it is the only place to stay in Blackpool as it totally enhances the entire trip. I went for the night with my little boy and stayed in a family room which he loved. We had a room facing the park which we were happy about (why do people complain about this? Its a perk to see the rides going around from your room!), but this time the room only had a very small window which was really grimy on the outside so we couldn't see much and the room felt a bit dingy. We weren't really in the room until late evening anyway though so was no biggy. TV's are a bit small given the size of the rooms but tv's in the family section of the room are brilliant - an inspired idea!
The gripes I have (and have had since I first stayed here) are - 1) The toast machine at breakfast is a joke - theres always a massive queue for it and it takes ages to cook. Well, I say cook - it comes out only very very slightly toasted! 2) Why is there no quicker entrance to the park for hotel guests? Before the south entrance closed it was perfect for getting in/out if you were staying here but now you have to trek all the way through the park and back down the promenade to get back to the hotel which is annoying if you just want to run back and grab something! 3) It is a bit pricey...yes it is a great place to stay but I think the prices should be lower considering it is only Blackpool.
All in all, I loved it and will definately be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,903
    856
    222
    85
    39
See reviews for
1,400
919
36
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We loved it, simple as that. We are fussy with our hotels but cannot fault the Big Blue. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a 'Rollercoaster View' room and it was just great fun. Room very clean and bed just so comfortable and we got a really good nights sleep which is unusual in a hotel. Staff attentive and friendly and nothing too much trouble. Evening meal excellent and portion sizes generous. Plenty of free car parking outside and free wi-fi. Thanks for a great stay, if we ever return to Blackpool we would use this hotel again it really is far better than any other hotel we saw.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Famousfourtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

The hotel sits right on the doorstep to 'Pleasure Beach' which is the main reason I chose this hotel. The staff were all pleasant and the food is good but not 4 star cuisine.

The bar is quite expensive considering the location though the cocktails were very good.

Our room had a view of the pleasure beach 'big one' roller coaster and others which at first was off putting but I quickly came round to seeing the funny side to it.....after all, visiting the resort was the reason for my stay in Blackpool and in any case, most rides do not start until after 10am so there is no interruption to sleep quality.

The only gripe I have is with the hotel car park. My car was damaged I presume by an inconsiderate fool who banged their car door against my own however there is no evidence of this it should be the most likely cause. However, one day later I was shocked to see that another guest had a tyre slashed on their car which was upsetting to see considering it was a young family. There is obviously a security problem here although cctv cameras are present I dont believe they cover much of the car park, even if they actually work or not.

I would go back and would hope that the hotel security is rectified more so with quality cctv cameras covering all areas of car parking. I believe if this was already in place then the fool who may have badly dented my door would have paid for it rather than my own pocket.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazandamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Stayed for one night over the bank holiday weekend, great location, lovely large family room and great food, also £40 cheaper than the very tired Hilton up the road. Will Definatley be back

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Noting the star rating and having just stayed here.. this place is massively over-rated

I suppose the alarm bells should have started ringing when we checked into this "4 star" Hotel and noticed: a tiny room.. no dressing gowns, no mini bar, the rollercoaster ride was 20 meters away from our window (20 meters, can you imagine how crazyily noisy & close that is from your bed!??!)..and a stern warning note next to the kettle about not stealing the mugs from your room..LOL!

Couple all of that with just enough room to put your suitcase down and very unhelpfull front of house staff (specifically the two men, really 1 star B&B dreadfull, they need a customer service lession urgently) .. and all this for £120ppn!!

Very dull hotel, Hugely overpriced hotel without any competition (everything else is B&Bs).. so I guess this is indeed the best Blackpool has to offer..?

The pleasant & helpfull ladies on reception were the only redeeming features of this place. the two blonde haired guys on front desk really need to ask themselves why they are in a customer facing job, We've not seen so much bad "attitude" in a long time..

Absolutely nothing to recommend at this price apart from it's clean & has an ok breakfast..

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hugwort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Recommended to me by a friend. Lovely rooms, very comfortable and modern, flat screen tvs, kettles, kids beds in a separate area of the room to the adults bed. Kids activity board game on the wall and own tv. Full bathroom suite, all very clean. Breakfasts are amazing! Ive stayed here twice and really enjoyed it both times

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniellePiercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Rooms were massive, clean, so close to the Pleasure Beach, infact it is basically in Pleasure Beach. Great place to drop your bags, hit the rides then come back, get washed, relax for a bit then hit the town, although you will be bushed like we were so we just went to a great chinese resteraunt, learned how to use chop sticks (well i gave it a good shot), got the taxi back and had a great night sleep.
missed the breakfast which i really regret.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLostScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,035 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,005 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
841 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Property: Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing