We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Location”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Very modern, clean, welcoming and attractive.

Lots of on-site parking, which is a huge plus, especially as this hotel is right next to the Pleasure Beach. Note you have to be out of the car park by 1pm on day of departure though.

The rooms are excellent. Very modern, clean and comfortable. The separate area for the kids is excellent, as is the playstation hire and snakes and ladders game. Clearly very well designed with families in mind. DVDs and games can be hired at a cost of £4-00 each. The playstation hire is free. My only downside is that I should have requested a room facing the Pleasure Beach when I booked over a month ago, but that is my fault for not doing enough research. I will know for next time! That said, we were more than happy with the room we had facing the front on the top floor.

We stayed for one night only and we chose to eat out, so I cannot comment on the evening meal in the hotel, other than the advertising suggested it was a set three course menu for £22-00 a head. As my children are 9 and 11, and are fussy eaters, we chose to go to Pizza Hut instead which was 5 minutes walk away and paid £22-00 for all of us!

The breakfast was good and the dining room was like all other areas of the hotel, modern, clean and attractive. The hotel clearly advertised the fact that, as it was peak holiday season, there would likely be a wait for tables if you went for breakfast between 9am and 10am. We expected this as we had read the notices, and as a result did not have any issues with waiting 5-10 mins for a table. Some other guests clearly did not read the notices in advance and were not too impressed with having to wait, but you cannot blame the hotel for that or the staff, who were more than friendly and did a great job.

Overall, I have stayed in various hotels in Blackpool over the years, and this is certainly the best. It is certainly a 4* and I would recommend to others, especially families with kids up to the age of 16.

Room Tip: Upgrade for a room facing the Pleasure Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pieman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,679 - 2,685 of 3,244 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

Nice hotel with lovely restaurant. Rooms spotless and clean with a fab room that had roller coaster views!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badlydrawnkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Stayed here for one night after reading seeing that this hotel was endorsed on the nickelodeon land website! Booked a deluxe double and actually took an inhale of breath on walking into the room! It was beautiful!! fireplace, living room area, beautifully decorated and lots of little complimentary touches included like toiletries, hot chocolate and bottles of water! Stayed in room 338 which overlooked the roller coasters which was fab for my daughter! Dinner was quite pricey at the big blue £7.20 for a glass of sparking White! Yikes! But food was overall pretty good! Staff were always smiling and couldn't do enough for you! Hired a DVD at the cost of £4 for the night with a £10 refundable cash deposit, a little steep! The big blue is right next to the pleasure beach and a good 8 mins walk from the main entrance, but with free parking for guests it's definitely worth the walk! Overall, we will be staying here again and recommending it to anyone who will listen!!!! Definitely felt like complete luxury!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brittanny_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My girlfriend and I stopped at the Big Blue Hotel last weekend and have only positive things to say regarding this hotel. The location is fantastic being right next to the theme park and a short walk to the centre of town. Our room was spaceous and clean, service from the staff was amazing and the food for breakfast delightful. People have stated that you can hear the noise from the theme park but we certainly couldn't. I'd highly recommend staying at the Big Blue Hotel.

Room Tip: If anything, upgrade to the Deluxe Room as we couldn't fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yarniedeboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Came back to stay this time with my family and once again see the Hot Ice Show at The Pleasure Beach, as the Hotel location is perfect for the Ice skating spectaular. The 2011 production once again was Amazing well worth seeing before its season closes Sunday 4th September - so anyone considering going to watch the fantastic world class skaters and to stay in The Big Blue should "get their skates on "and get booking - an added bonus is the Blackpool illuminations, which are being switched on this Friday 2nd September 2011
- Thanks to all the friendly staff in the Reception area -

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank motherski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This hotel is great, we traveled with our kids 3 months, 3 years, 5 and 6 years had a family room plenty of room, although being our second stay we requested a Family room (5months before when booking)with a large window for the kids too see the rides out side, and ended up with one of the rooms with a pokey window view.
It is a bit like a porthole on a ship not letting much light in, as there was no other rooms available?? we got told we had to upgrade to a family deluxe and pay an extra £30 per night, so we did but was disappointing.
Rooms are clean, restaurant is lovely, breakfast plenty of choice, very handy location.
The only hotel I would recommend in Blackpool.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gazzaandaimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stayed at the Big Blue with two twelve year old boys - perfect - they had a TV each and bunk beds - with use of a PS2 - I had a king size bed. The bathroom was great! Breakfast was the best we've had in a hotel - so many options from cereal to fruit to cooked - excellent. Staff were all lovely - so helpful. Location just perfect for the Pleasure Beach. Next time we visit Blackpool we will be staying here.

Room Tip: The bunk beds in the Superior room are quite short - if children are over five feet book DeLuxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitewitch-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,252 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,374 reviews
0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
904 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,063 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £70 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing