We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Hotel”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed for two days at the Big Blue Hotel. We were very happy with everything. We stayed in the deluxe family room. The hotel was clean, comfortable and surprisingly quiet for a family hotel.
The staff was friendly and effective. Great for kids, good breakfast. We were very happy with the VIP admission gate to the Pleasure Beach park however it would have been much better if there was also a dedicated exit close to the hotel. Advice to others...get to the breakfast room early as there are queues after 9:00. Thw best luxury was the in-room climate control so the room was always a comfortable temperatue.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,386 - 2,392 of 3,245 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed here for one night (8th June 2012). We booked a family room for 5 of us including 3 children aged 2,8 & 11, the room was reasonably spacious with boys in the bunk beds and our 2 year old daughter on sofa bed at the side our ours. The kids hired the Playstation during the evening which was ideal to keep them occupied this required a deposit but that's only to be expected I guess. The room looked out onto the pleasure beech which the kids thought was pretty cool.The only problem we encountered on this particular day was that the lifts keep breaking which was a pain as we had a pushchair for our Daughter. Breakfast was a buffet style, very similar to a Marriott in comparison both in terms of choice and quality, we certainly ate our money's worth! The ticket entrance to the pleasure beech was handy although my wife had an encounter with a very rude security guard when searching her bag and making her throw away a couple of muffins and a bottle of drink because he said we were taking in a picnic and this wasn't allowed. Overall a good stay and worth the £99 we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My family and I spent a Friday night at this hotel. My girls are 7 & 4 and they loved the bunkbeds and TV's in the family room. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, breakfast was lovely and the bar was really good too, handy being able to takes a few drinks back to the room. Location was excellent for the pleasure beach but to get anywhere else we had to use the trams quite alot. This wasn't a problem as the team stop was just around the corner.
After looking for a long time for a hotel I'm pleased I paid the little bit extra and stayed at the Big Blue....definitely worth it and we will stay here again if returning to Blackpool!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linspedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Just returned from a two night family stay in a superior family room - enjoyed every second of our time in the hotel. Room was clean and comfortable with air conditioning - a great bonus for me as I like to be cool in the room. Children's bunk space was great, even though our three year old ended up in with us in the king size both nights! DVD player in the room is a nice touch. Breakfast was delicious and the service very friendly. Yes it's not a cheap place to stay, but if you take account of free Pleasure Beach entrance tickets each day of your stay, and free parking too, then overall it's great. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank disneysuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

As our first stay at The Big Blue Hotel, we found that we had a wonderful stay. However, my little sister stayed in one of their travel cots and my mum woke up every night to find she was freezing in the night. So she ended up sleeping in my mum's single bed for the long weekend we stayed there. The service was amateur as for the long weekend she didn't even clean our room or make our beds. And some milk got stained onto the bed sheet, I know milk stinks when it goes off so we stripped the matress cover off and put it on the floor and after a day going around the Pleasure Beach and then we went to my Auntie and Uncles house until 11pm to find that our room wasn't cleaned. And we went without tea or coffee because they had forgotten to refill milk, sugar, sweeteners etc. Our stay wasn't as hoped as it would be...

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

At last i have found a reasonable hotel in Blackpool. I have stayed several times in Blackpool and have had some very poor experiances even with the higher rated hotels. The Big Blue Hotel is that hotel - the rooms are clean and have all you would expect from a good quality hotel. The staff were friendly and the restaurant good - the location is also excellent if you want to go the pleasure beach as most of the rooms look out onto it.

I would now not stay anywhere else if i do have to go back to Blackpool.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mindenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We have just had a short break at the Big blue in Blackpool and can highly recommend the hotel. We have stayed here a few times previous and would always return, no where else in Blackpool comes close. Its modern, the staff are very helpful and the rooms are very nice, we had a superior family room which had a HUGE bed for us (super comfy too) and bunks for the kids. I have been coming to Blackpool for 25 years and i am so pleased we have the Big Blue to stay at! Altought we didn't dine at the hotel we have done before and the food is excellent. Not the cheapest choice in Blackpool by any means but definatly the best. Well worth the money for that bit of luxury.

Room Tip: If you have a family the superior family rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beaniesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,260 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
905 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,065 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £70 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing