We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A nice hotel”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Recently stayed here for 1 night. Stayed in a deluxe room which was clean and tidy. Coffee and tea facilities were well stocked and the view was BRILLIANT! We looked straight out on to the pleasure beach. Location couldn't be better, right on the front next to the pleasure beach and on the main strip for the shops and the beach. The fireplace in the room didn't work, we asked at reception and they said they would reset the electrics and it would work after that, it didn't. Not that this mattered as it wasn't cold but would have been nice to see it working. Tv and DVD player in the room worked fine although we had to ring down for new batteries for the remotes. Breakfast was nice, a full cooked english or cereals/toast etc were available.

All in all a pleasant stay and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,860
    840
    218
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,353
906
35
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed for 3 nights, with our 2 kids,7&10. They loved the room, (family room with 3tvs), beds v comfy, a/c great, staff all very friendly and courteous.
We dined there 2 of the 3 nights, excellent both nights, (nandos on the 3rd day). Breakfast is self service with everything fresh, absolutely gorgous.

The hotels restaurant manager Andrea has to be one of the most professional people I've had the pleasure to watch working, she at all times was on top of her game, running the ever busy restaurant at ease, nothing was too much and always with a smile. You could tell she enjoys her work. Well done Andrèa.
Tram is 250m north, £9 for family all day.
Buy tickets at reception for pleasure beach and use their entry in.
Prices are a little expensive but you DO get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My 11 yr old son and I spent 3 very nice days at the Big Blue hotel this week. We had booked a superior room, but found we had been upgraded to a deluxe room! A really lovely room, couldn't fault it. Huge bed, spacious living area, with 2 very comfortable arm chairs. Bathroom was the best we have ever had in a hotel.
Staff were really pleasant and helpful. I reported our light wasn't working late one night, and within minutes someone was there to change the bulb!
Breakfast was really good, plenty of choice, again staff were really helpful.

Can't fault anything, and will be returning next year :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassieJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed in Big Blue Hotel and found it excellent. The staff were most helpful and couldn't do enough to help us. When we got there we received a free upgrade. Room was lovely. Hotel was very clean. Nothing was too much trouble.Gets a A++++ from me.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed here for three nights, On arrival I found the Receptionist abrupt and short to any questions I had. The room (2nd floor) was fantastic, we had family room, no fault at all! However the Wifi did not work at all for us, (Latop and Ipod) the Hotel could not figure out why!! Breakfast was very nice, but dont get there to late otherwise you will have to wait until a table is avail! All in all it is a nice clean Hotel with free parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

We paid 135 per night for a family room for 4 nights. Air con useless and all 5 of us couldn't sleep because of the heat, kids little bunk room like a sauna! Very clean though. The restaurant is overpriced and not very good, I had slow roasted beef which was like leather and had little sauce. When I mentioned this discreetly to a waiter he sent in the Rottweiler to sort me out! The lady can be heard all over the restaurant and loudly pointed out the nobody else was complaining and offered me a free coffee.... The meals came to over 100 quid and were no better than a ready meal from tesco. Not fresh me thinks and the loud lady needs a lesson in customer service.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chr9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Wow what can I say... Fabulous hotel, we stayed in a family deluxe room which had a great view of the pleasure beach and was just perfect, the staff were really friendly and the food was very nice, we are definitely booking next year.

Room Tip: If you have children get a room facing the pleasure beach as they will have great fun watching the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,904 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
451 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 70 in Blackpool
970 reviews
2.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#29 of 70 in Blackpool
3,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Property: Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing