We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This Hotel is simply the Best in Blackpool, the comfort and service deserve a 5* Rating, great staff, rooms , and food and recieved a wonderful welcome . The location suited me, as right next to the Pleasure Beach, which looked great this year. I wish the Hotel all the best of luck as it's well deserved.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,779
    822
    209
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,295
873
34
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Very good hotel right next door to the pleasure beach theme park. They even had their own entrance and could collect wrist bands from receotion prior to park opening. A bit more expensive, but worth it. Very large rooms, separate bunk bed room for under 12's with own t.v. Would definetly recommend.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are theme park view, roller coaster goes past window until park closes. 6.00 when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

I stayed in the big blue hotel in August 2012. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Blackpool it's a refreshing change from the small b&b's. The breakfast was excellent. The room was very clean and comfortable. My only Mark down was for the car park which is difficult to access and the receptionist failed to give me a exit code which did mean a dash in heavy rain to get. This end of the pleasure beach could also do with a tidy up as of an evening it feels rundown and a little unsafe.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stamp1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Easy to find, ample parking and great staff. The whole booking and check-in process was very easy. The family room was great, modern, spacious and very clean. The kids bunk beds with their own TV's made the kid's day and the fact they are out of the main bedroom, made ours!

Overall the hotel is a very good standard and very clean. The staff are all friendly and professional.

We exchanged out pleasure Land Tesco vouchers at reception so we could use the hotels VIP entrance right next to the hotel, which saves a long walk to the main entrance.

Breakfast was included and excellent. The food was high quality and plentiful. The restaurant staff were good enough to be working silver service and generally, all the staff were top quality. We had dinner on our second night and although a bit expensive for a family, the food and service was excellent with decent size portions.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Free WIFI, free parking and free breakfast puts this hotel within the price bracket of other low cost hotels but the location is the clincher.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerryomara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

We arrived quite late on the Thursday night, we were upgraded to one of the hotel suites. It was absolutely beautiful. Spotlessly clean with a huge comfortable bed. The staff were very pleasant and breakfast was lovely. Will definitely be staying here on our next visit.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne397879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

My wife and I wish the very best to the Big Blue for a wonderful 5 days over the bank holiday, Our first real holiday for 40 years. We saw that the staff treated everyone special although there are always one or two who think the world owes them. However, a first class experience for us and we were sad to leave. The breakfast is the best and you may have to queue ( if your late down ) but its well worth the wait, so be patient. Thanks again

Room Tip: Love to comment but we were happy just to be there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berwick-upon-tweed
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We arrived on a rather rainy and windy Blackpool day. The Hotel was easy to find and had ample parking on arrival.
Once in the hotel we were greeted by warm and friendly staff.
our room was a family room on the ground floor , it was very clean and spacious appart from the childrens bunk beds although adequate were a tad on the small side.
Breakfast was buffet style and plenty choice for everyone. would suggest you go for breakfast between 8.00 and 8.30 as it can get busy after this time, but we were told this by the reception staff on arrival. entrance to the pleasure beach wes hassle free.
Overall a great hotel and would come back and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,743 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Blue Hotel

Property: The Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Lastminute, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing