We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family room”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My wife and i took our grand son to big blue for 2 nights 17.09.12. A lovely family room on the ground floor 125, seperate space with bunk beds and 2 tvs. King size bed, bathroom with a bath, very clean and modern. Had the evening meal on the 1st night well cooked well presented, and very good service. Blackpool take note this is how hotels should be, well done Big Blue.

Room Tip: The buffett breakfast was one off the best ever. top quallity food at a top hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOHN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,149)
There are newer reviews for Big Blue Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,244 - 2,250 of 3,149 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

stayed for nights at big blue hotel in sept 2012.the hotel is excellent.very clean rooms,food was brilliant ,the staff were very friendly and helpfull.our room overlooked blackpool pleasure beach.i would book this hotel again when i stay in blackpool.recomended

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Traveled to Blackpool to see the lights ,found the Big Blue Hotel ,Rooms very clean ,We all had a meal in the Main dining room ,very good , But the Breakfast is the star in the Big Blue ,We run a Guest House 4 Star AA, The Breakfast was ALL very hot not warm like most Hotels and lots of it to , But the staff very helpful indeed ,All in all a top hotel in Blackpool Well done the Manager & Staff . Gary & Lindsay Stacey Richmond .

Room Tip: Give it a go.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hondapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed here on a Monday night in September. We had a good sized room which was clean and well equipped. The reception and restaurant staff were efficient and friendly. However, the hotel lacks the "wow" factor of a really good hotel. The rooms, although good, are not really any better than the quality provided by a decent budget hotel. The room was noisy as it overlooked the rides on the Pleasure Beach. We paid a reduced rate as it was a Monday night in September and for what we paid, we had value for money. I might not have thought the same had we paid the higher weekend/summer rates.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cringebythecurtains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Have stayed here twice now and on the first occasion my wife and I received a free upgrade to a suit which I have to say was absolutely stunning. Staff could not be faulted very friendly and on our second visit over a year later some members of staff recognised us from our previous visit. We ate in the hotel most nights and the food was very tasty, they also done a 3 course special for £20 which was extremely good value. My only fault would be the breakfast not the actual breakfast itself but the wait for it. The restaurant is possible to small to meet the demand for the number of breakfast's booked which sometimes resulted in a wait to get into the restaurant for breakfast. In fairness though once you got through to breakfast there was plenty of choice and all hot and tasty. Would with out a doubt visit again.

Room Tip: If you have young children then a room facing on to the pleasure beach really adds to the excitement...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broxi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed here as out first hotel was shocking and we couldn't bear to stay another night we went to The Big Blue Hotel and them manager was so helpful and gave us a discounted family room which we we're so happy with and gave us a discount on our wristbands for our upset at the other hotel what a difference we definitely be returning to this hotel we and the kids loved it here! thanks for the great service! well recommended!

Room Tip: FANTASTIC so catered to families xxxxxx
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikkimCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

took 2 hours to get a tolet role sent to our room receiption could do with some smiles they dont cost anything gents tolet in lobby stong smell of pee all week get some new tiles otherwise ok not worth what we paid

Room Tip: we liked the room looking out at fun park
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamokeeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,103 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
862 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £77 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing