We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel - Great Service - Perfect Food”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel - Great Service - Perfect Food”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed at the Big Blue Hotel for two nights in a family deluxe room, very clean and great view of the pleasure beach. The staff are extremely helpful, we changed a couple of options with our evening meal and this was done straight away and without any issue. Drink prices for a 4 star hotel are good and not much more than our local pub. Food presentation and quality was very good, breakfast is a straight 10/10 plenty of freshly cooked hot food with lots of choice. This really is the duel in the crown of hotels in Blackpool, if you want some comfort and some nice surroundings then this is the one to book. Thank Big Blue Hotel A++++++++

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMC1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,903
    856
    222
    85
    39
See reviews for
1,400
919
36
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed for 2nights. The hotel is lovely, and is next to the pleasure beach.
The rooms are very nicely decorated and the beds are extremely comfortable. The staff are always happy to help. The food is great ( the big blue club sandwich is the best). If we ever go to Blackpool the big blue hotel is the only hotel we stay in. So overall a great hotel

Room Tip: The rooms on the back are facing the pleasure beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I stayed in several hotels in Blackpool, but the Big Blue is always my first choice. The rooms are big and clean, the bed always comfortable. The staff are friendly and always happy to help. The food in the restaurant is excellent and the breakfast buffet is well stocked (delicious chocolate muffins!). It can be a bit noisy during the school holidays.

Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SuatK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, staff are great and very welcoming in all areas. Restaurant is actually really good and probably better than most of Blackpool. Breakfast is plentiful and hot, yes there is a queue but you are warned of this. As in a family hotel, in a family resort there are kids, and highly excited at that, the majority are well behaved.

We couldn't fault the hotel or amenities, location is great, we will definetly return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debdazb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Have always wanted to stay at this hotel & was really pleased to get a great price for a late booking £136 for 2 nights (very competitive / cheaper against similar rated B&B's / guest houses nearby)
On arrival - hotel looked impressive from the outside, plenty of free parking in the huge car park for hotel residents only. Reception desk very friendly & efficient at check in / check out & happy to answer any queries, we also had our pre-paid Pleasure Beach wristbands issued at reception.
Decor inside the hotel public areas was modern & clean with lovely quality furniture.
We had booked a standard double room but we actually got a family room (room 411) & both our requests were met with the top floor & view of the Pleasure Beach! Room was clean, tidy & modern, maybe slightly cheaper furniture in the rooms than in the public areas but still nice. Our room was huge - large kingsize bed (very comfortable) flat screen tv, tea / coffee facilities, large wardrobe, clean bathroom with bath & shower, & a separate kids bedroom with bunkbeds & 2 x flat screen tv's for each bunk!! Impressive if we had travelled with kids! We slept well both nights, never had any problems with noise.
Room price included breakfast which was the best buffet style breakfast i have ever had in a large hotel - plenty of choice of everything, including things such as - cereals, toast, croissants, fruit, yoghurts, juices, various teas & coffee's & the hot breakfast - bacon, eggs, sausage, beans, tomatoes - delicious! You are shown to a table by staff for breakfast & both mornings we were there it was busy but never felt cramped & never queued at the buffet, we went down both mornings at about 8.30-9am.
We also chose to eat at the hotel restaurant one evening (we had booked a table via the website before we went) & it was well worth it! Staff very attentive & friendly, prices were excellent for the quality of food you get, absolutely delicious 3 course meal we ate!! Drink prices were about standard for soft drinks but alcohol probably more on the expensive side - nothing you dont already expect from big hotels these days!
All in all, we were extremely happy with our stay here & would definitely stay here again when next in Blackpool & happily recommend to others!
Other places we visited while there were - Pleasure Peach, Blackpool Tower & Dungeons, enjoyed a walk up the promenade at night to see the Illuminations & ate at a luscious Italian restaurant on the first evening up past the tower, called La Fontana on Clifton Street - highly recommend!!

Room Tip: If you like the Pleasure Beach, then ask for a room with a view of the Pleasure Beach, & also we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenelopePitstop4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed here on a family trip to Blackpool.
Very nice decor - staff are fantastic - close to pleasure beach - food superb.
The family rooms with their separate bunk bed rooms for the kids are an excellent idea.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Hindle_1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My partner and I stayed here with my parents, who had both been before. My first impression of the hotel was that it was superbly clean. We checked in to out double room, which was spotlessly clean and fresh with a fantastic view of the pleasure beach. We had evening meal in the hotel, would recommend to everybody! Easily the best meal i have ever eaten! The staff were friendly and efficient, downfall was kids running around the restaurant, however the manager spoke to the parents which was good.
Breakfast was amazing, everything fresh and hot and everything you could possibly want.
Would defiantly stay here again, wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. fantastic.

Room Tip: a standard room was fine for my partner and i, it had everything we could want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l-sp0291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,036 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,005 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
841 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Property: Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing