We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, very clean and good value for money for family stay however breakfast is a disastrous experience!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Good location, very clean and good value for money for family stay however breakfast is a disastrous experience!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012 via mobile

Check in was fine. Rooms are great, very clean. We are a family of five and stayed in one of the ground floor family rooms overlooking the pleasure beach. Not huge but sufficient space and very clean - housekeeping staff here are clearly very hardworking and deserve recognition for that from management. Ample storage/wardrobe space. Contrary to other reviews our toiletries & tea/coffee were replenished daily. If had to pick a fault it would be the shower room. Power shower which is great but shower screens don't cope well and the constant water spillage causing damage to wood etc. having said that shower spotlessly clean which would be my priority.
Hotel in excellent location on pleasure beach and short walk from tram stop which takes you from south to north with lots of stops along the way. A family day ticket (for 5) £9 and you can hop on and off as much as you like- recommended!
We ate twice ( once for each of lunch and dinner) in the restaurant and food and service were very good.
Staff in the hotel all very polite, helpful and clearly hardworking.
The downside - breakfast!!!! It is like a cattle market between 8.45 & 10.00am. Waited 20-30 mins in a queue each morning - not good enough! Appreciate you can't accommodate everyone in the dining room at once but even allocating slots on a first come first booked basis would be better than the way it is at the moment. I should also point out that we stayed midweek during term time for most so not a weekend or a an English school holiday! Whilst breakfast is edible that's about all you could say to be fair. Hot food kept under hot plates over cooked and dried out. Got to pay extra for a poached or boiled egg, presumably because they can't be just cooked way in advance and sat under hot plate! Coffee out of the machine ( self service and long queues at times) was barely drinkable & don't even try to get toast! One of these large self service toast machines with long queue and hit or miss whether toast is over or underdone. By the time you get your toast your coffee is cold or vice versa. Fresh fruit options limited. Simply not good enough big blue! We have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels hotels all over the world and never experienced a breakfast like it! Decent coffee, hot toast, freshly cooked decent choice of hot food & fresh fruit should be a given in a 4 star hotel! Breakfast was, in summary, unpleasant, disappointing & 2 star at best.
If I had one other comment to make it's that I have never stayed in a hotel which charges for DVD hire!!! The £10 deposit I get, but £4 to hire a kids DVD for the night! That's naughty - it should be complimentary in a four star hotel.
The above is, in my own opinion, a candid review and, all said, I would stay here again for a family weekend due to excellent standard of rooms/cleanliness (especially for a family of 5 which us hard to come by) and also proximity to the pleasure beach.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonf38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,777
    822
    209
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,294
872
34
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed for 2 nights from 23 - 25 October. I booked 2 rooms, a double for my partner and I plus a double for the kids. We managed to park in the street outside the hotel but they have their own free car park. On booking in we were told we had been upgraded!

Our room was perfect, nice size bathroom, 2 armchairs, TV, coffee & tea facilities, bath, shower and french doors that opened onto a view of the Pleasure Beach behind (The park shut at 6pm so we didn't have noise problems). The kids room was a superior, not posh but perfectly fine, clean and tidy.

Breakfast was excellent, fruit, cereal, danish pastries, full English etc etc, lovely coffee too! We went down about 8am and it was busy but not crowded and there were plenty of tables.

The 2nd night the 4 of us had dinner in the restaurant. The cost of 2 starters, 4 mains, 4 desserts, 2 soft drinks and 1 bottle of wine was just over £100 but the food was superb. The restaurant manageress Andrea was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel sort out wristbands for the pleasure beach if you want them too and there is an entrance right next door to the hotel.

If I could find fault it's with the lifts, there are too few of them so they get very busy and are very slooooooow which can be a pain when you are loaded up with suitcases etc.

The lift thing is a minor point and i'm struggling to criticise anything else so I won't!

If you are looking for a hotel in Blackpool that ticks all the boxes, this is it.

Room Tip: Keep to the ground floor if you are not too mobile, the lifts are bit of a pain at busy times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

I must say, before we arrived we had our doubts, mainly because we had very iffy recollections of Blackpool hotels from previous visits. We were gobsmacked! The Big Blue Hotel has a large free car park virtually on the sea shore, a friendly welcome at reception and large well appointed bedrooms. We stayed in a delux bedroom, not a family room and had a large bed with a sitting area with settee and fireplace. We had a look in the family version and could see that the sitting area is swapped for a children's sleeping area with it's own TV and play wall. I don't want to sound like an advert for this hotel but at £85 a night B&B, it's the only place I'll consider for return visits. They also cope brilliantly well at breakfast tim
e, the organisation and abundant freshly replenished quality of the food on (self service) offer only underlines the value. Of course, it is a 2 mile walk to the tower and 4.5 miles to the northern end of the illuminations but with trams plentiful that's not really an issue (though we walked there and back). We came expecting a Disneyland in Blackpool experience and left finding no faults at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hewhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

I can only echo what previous people have posted about the Big Blue. It really is a great family hotel. I would like to add that the only hotels I have ever stayed in and received this level of service have been in America. Yes it does get noisy early in the morning when the its full and the kids are off school. Imagine being a child and you where staying so close to the Pleasure Beach you could see it from your window - I think the people who have posted negative comments about this need to be a bit more realistic, its not a country hotel. If you dont wont to be woken up by the pitter patter of excited feet as they run across the floor above you I would suggest a room on the top floor - the 4th. I would definately stay again with my family.

Room Tip: Stay in a room on the top floor if you dont want to be woken up by the sound of excited children ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COYBL25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahon, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Booked this hotel for a family visit to the pleasure beach. It is a few minutes walk from the pleasure beach train station. All the staff were fantastic, helpful and smart.

Our room was a delux room overlooking the park on the 2nd floor - the big one whizzes past your window! The only problem was the size of the bed - a small double, not good for two large adults. The rest of the family had a family room with bunk beds and huge double beds ....

They warn you that you might have to wait for breakfast but it is well organised. And the breakfast buffet is great all self service.

The hotel can print out pleasure beach wristbands for you if you have bought them in advance and also if you don't want to ride you can get free entry to the park if you stay there, saving you £6.00. Entry to the park is through a VIP entrance and you get in 1/2 hour earlier than others.

They recommended a great fish and chip restaurant - the cottage and also advised us to buy the day tickets on the tram as this was cheaper than buying a single each time you hope on and off.

All in all a great hotel for a family trip to Blackpool.

Room Tip: Beware size of doubles in delux rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane_eyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed at the Big Blue Hotel for two nights in a family deluxe room, very clean and great view of the pleasure beach. The staff are extremely helpful, we changed a couple of options with our evening meal and this was done straight away and without any issue. Drink prices for a 4 star hotel are good and not much more than our local pub. Food presentation and quality was very good, breakfast is a straight 10/10 plenty of freshly cooked hot food with lots of choice. This really is the duel in the crown of hotels in Blackpool, if you want some comfort and some nice surroundings then this is the one to book. Thank Big Blue Hotel A++++++++

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NMC1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed for 2nights. The hotel is lovely, and is next to the pleasure beach.
The rooms are very nicely decorated and the beds are extremely comfortable. The staff are always happy to help. The food is great ( the big blue club sandwich is the best). If we ever go to Blackpool the big blue hotel is the only hotel we stay in. So overall a great hotel

Room Tip: The rooms on the back are facing the pleasure beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Blue Hotel

Property: The Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing