We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised to find such great quality next to the Pleasure Beach !”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Really lovely, comfortable boutique hotel right next to the Big Dipper at the Blackpool Pleasure Beach. We could see it from our window but no problems with noise & quite a novelty as a view! Comfortable, tasteful rooms, very friendly staff & good food. On site parking a real bonus too. You really can't ask for a lot more - we'll deserved 4 stars.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,148)
There are newer reviews for Big Blue Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,168 - 2,174 of 3,149 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed here for 1 night during Half Term in a family room. Our children loved the bunk beds with their own TVs. The hotel states that the bunkbeds are suitable for children upto 12 years old. My son is 10 and not overly tall for his age and just managed to fit on the bed. Having read some recent reviews of poor cleanliness and unfriendly staff, we were somewhat apprehensive, but we were delighted with our stay. The Reception staff were very friendly and helpful as were the staff in the dining room. We had read the comments about long queues at breakfast and made sure we were in the dining room by 8.00 o'clock and got one of the last tables.The food was tasty, plentiful and hot, with a good selection available. My husband was disappointed that there wasn't a Continental breakfast available in a 4* Hotel. He loves his bread, ham and cheese in a morning! Loved the President butter and individual jam pots - a super touch! When we left the breakfast room at 9 o'clock there were lots of disgruntled guests ( at least 10 families) waiting for tables. Go early to avoid this, as the restaurant is not big enough to cater for all guests at the same time! The early entry into The Pleasure Beach was a big bonus!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesPBucks_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights and I must admit I was suprised by just how smart this was. The rooms were great: spacious, modern, well decorated, very clean and very comfortable. They also had air conditioning, good TV services, a fireplace, seating area ,etc. etc. and the location was also fantastic; just next to the Pleasure Beach and within walking distance of most of the attractions - but out of the way of the most busy areas and quiet at night.

The reception staff were also very helpful and the restuarant staff friendly. Breakfast was great, and while it was a bit busy later on, overall there was a great range (the scrambled eggs in particular were delicious) and it was a good way to start a long day!

One minor let down - we did have dinner in the hotel one night: the food was ok, nothing special and it felt over-priced - it was by no means terrible, just a bit ordinary and I would therefore suggest eating out was a better idea.

For those people who are going to the Pleasure Beach the VIP and early entrance to the park from the hotel is brilliant! I would also strongly recommend getting the £50 Blackpool Pass - it turns out to be an absolute bargain!

Overall, while the Big Blue Hotel is perhaps a little more expensive than many of the other Blackpool hotels/B&Bs it is worth every penny, we were all delighted by stay in this hotel and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: The rooms above the ground floor are best and you can request a sea view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed at this hotelas it was a prime location to go to the pleasure beach and to do the illuminations. Great hotel for kids with separate kids sleeping area with bunk beds. Our two are 10 & 7 and they loved the tv each in their sleeping area.

Check the size of the bunk beds before you go as some are small for kids up to age 9 ish. Our 10 yr old only just fit in but there are rooms with full size bunks.

Breakfast buffet was fab as long as you got there before the rush.

My only complaint was it was a bit pricey. No entertainment in the hotel so it was purely bed and breakfast. We paid £225 for two nights.

Would go again for a treat.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed in this hotel in october. Upon arrival was told we had been upgraded which me and my boyfriend thought was great as we had considered paying for the better room. I then had a shower and the bathrrom flooded; complained to reception and the matter was dealt with quickly and efficiently. The next day breakfast was great, we got there early as advised and it was busy but got sat straight away and there was plenty of choice from the buffet. At checkout we asked could we leave our car for the day as compensation for the flooded bathroom and was told that this was not a problem.
The location was also fantastic right by the pleasure beach and not far from the lights. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and will defitinetly go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Great modern hotel, with all modern amenities. More expensive than most Blackpool hotels, but you get what you pay for. We stayed in deluxe room on the first floor with a slight view of the beach. Adjacent to the Pleasure Beach. The accommodation was beautifully presented and the staff were friendly and obliging. The breakfast was good too. Would definitely recommend the hotel to everyone : singles, couples, families and friends. Go enjoy the big blue experience.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Milgar46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The hotel was quite nice, staff are all friendly and the room was very comfy! Keep in mind that the breakfast room is also very busy, and at times, we felt like we were falling over other guests. The breakfast was lovely, all the English traditionals. The hotel is located a fair way from the attractions but there is a tram stop straight across from the hotel. We stayed as a family of four and had the queen bed and the two bunks for the children. It was more than adequate for us all. I would recommend to all travellers!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozRachel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,103 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
862 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £77 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing