We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
MANCHESTER UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I stayed here a night with my husband in a deluxe room overlooking The pleasure beach
The rooms are a great size and very clean and comfortable.
I loved this hotel staff were very friendly and breakfast was delicious and plentiful
I will be returning next month as our xmas doo is in Blackpool and to my delight they have booked this hotel :)

Room Tip: The room was very warm so make sure you figure out how to use the air con as during the night i woke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,881
    847
    218
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,374
912
35
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We have stayed a few times at this hotel during the October half term. This was the first time we booked the Delux family room. It was a fabulous room, very modern and warm. We had a meal in the restaurant which was very nice. My son hired a game for the PS3 which was a nice way to end the evening in our room.
We have already booked for next year and this time we have taken advantage of the pleasure beach bands . The staff were helpful and polite. My only gripe is that the bar area is very small, so there isnt really anywhere to go and sit and relax after a day of Blackpool,

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DECHARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I loved this hotel. I wont stay anywhere else in blackpool again!!

I originally book a standard double room as it was just a one night break away for my partner and I however after a fun filled day at the pleasure beach we returned to be informed we had been upgraded to a delux double with no extra charge!

The room was gorgeous with fireplace, seating area and view of 'the big one'! The bathroom needed a little TLC (grouting) but this by no means detracted from the overall quality!

The bed was comfy and sheets clean as you would expect anywhere. The room was warm and clean and I couldnt of asked for more.

All staff were very polite, attentive and professional...well done!

Breakfast was amazing ..... a massive buffet of bacon, sausage, beans, fried eggs, scambled eggs, tomatoes, toats, pastries, ...an on and on and on!! All looked and tasted amazing. We got there at 08.30 and didnt have to wait / que.

We are already booking a return trip, I love you BIG BLUE!

Room Tip: Delux room was gorgeous, cozy and romantic, perfect for a couples trip away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Couldn't fault the hotel. Stayed as a family for two nights (Fri- Sun). Room spacious and clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Ate in the dining room both nights, food nicely presented and tasty. No problems with breakfast, it was busy and were advised to get to the dining room before 9 am if we didn't want to wait to be seated. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Really lovely, comfortable boutique hotel right next to the Big Dipper at the Blackpool Pleasure Beach. We could see it from our window but no problems with noise & quite a novelty as a view! Comfortable, tasteful rooms, very friendly staff & good food. On site parking a real bonus too. You really can't ask for a lot more - we'll deserved 4 stars.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks, England
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed here for 1 night during Half Term in a family room. Our children loved the bunk beds with their own TVs. The hotel states that the bunkbeds are suitable for children upto 12 years old. My son is 10 and not overly tall for his age and just managed to fit on the bed. Having read some recent reviews of poor cleanliness and unfriendly staff, we were somewhat apprehensive, but we were delighted with our stay. The Reception staff were very friendly and helpful as were the staff in the dining room. We had read the comments about long queues at breakfast and made sure we were in the dining room by 8.00 o'clock and got one of the last tables.The food was tasty, plentiful and hot, with a good selection available. My husband was disappointed that there wasn't a Continental breakfast available in a 4* Hotel. He loves his bread, ham and cheese in a morning! Loved the President butter and individual jam pots - a super touch! When we left the breakfast room at 9 o'clock there were lots of disgruntled guests ( at least 10 families) waiting for tables. Go early to avoid this, as the restaurant is not big enough to cater for all guests at the same time! The early entry into The Pleasure Beach was a big bonus!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesPBucks_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights and I must admit I was suprised by just how smart this was. The rooms were great: spacious, modern, well decorated, very clean and very comfortable. They also had air conditioning, good TV services, a fireplace, seating area ,etc. etc. and the location was also fantastic; just next to the Pleasure Beach and within walking distance of most of the attractions - but out of the way of the most busy areas and quiet at night.

The reception staff were also very helpful and the restuarant staff friendly. Breakfast was great, and while it was a bit busy later on, overall there was a great range (the scrambled eggs in particular were delicious) and it was a good way to start a long day!

One minor let down - we did have dinner in the hotel one night: the food was ok, nothing special and it felt over-priced - it was by no means terrible, just a bit ordinary and I would therefore suggest eating out was a better idea.

For those people who are going to the Pleasure Beach the VIP and early entrance to the park from the hotel is brilliant! I would also strongly recommend getting the £50 Blackpool Pass - it turns out to be an absolute bargain!

Overall, while the Big Blue Hotel is perhaps a little more expensive than many of the other Blackpool hotels/B&Bs it is worth every penny, we were all delighted by stay in this hotel and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: The rooms above the ground floor are best and you can request a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,968 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 69 in Blackpool
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 69 in Blackpool
982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 69 in Blackpool
490 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 69 in Blackpool
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Property: Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing