We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family hotel”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, staff are great and very welcoming in all areas. Restaurant is actually really good and probably better than most of Blackpool. Breakfast is plentiful and hot, yes there is a queue but you are warned of this. As in a family hotel, in a family resort there are kids, and highly excited at that, the majority are well behaved.

We couldn't fault the hotel or amenities, location is great, we will definetly return.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debdazb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,918 - 1,924 of 3,194 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the big blue as part our our autumn break to Blackpool x this hotel is excellent in the main brilliant large family rooms which give the adults a bit of peace with the little darlings just around the corner ! Room and bathroom spotless cannot fault , staff excellent friendly and efficient especially on reception . The only gripe I have with this hotel and it's just my opinion. The breakfast , although nice , we felt that for the price there was a lack of choice having previouly stayed in the Blackpool Hilton for a lower rate I have to say their breakfast was worlds above the big blue . And having to pay for extra breakfast items on top seems a little excessive . More choice big blue please and a new toaster as the one you have is rubbish!! Also ditch the cheap tea machine !! A nice pot of tea in the morning is soo much nicer ,.end of gripe , that's just our opinion would we stay again ?? Yes would we reccomend ? Yes defiantly xx

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at the Big Blue Hotel on Sunday 29th September for 1 night, having stayed at the hotel previously we knew that it was good. We arrived early in the morning so that we could have a full day at Blackpool. Arrived at 10am, parked the car in its secure car park and advised the reception staff that we were there, however we could not check in until 3pm. But that did not bother us as we had plenty of activities planned for the day. There is always something to do in Blackpool for all ages. Come 3pm we were greeted by the reception manager who checked us in, we were on the 4th floor overlooking the pleasure beach, our room was a family room, nice and large, plenty of space and very clean and tidy. My children wanted a late lunch so we went into the bar area and ordered two picnic baskets they were lovely and the kids loved them. We had a great nights sleep, the bed is huge and comfy. The breakfast is plentiful. Staff very polite and helpful. Definitely a brilliant hotel in a great location of Blackpool.

Room Tip: On checking in reception generally gives you the option of staying at the Front of the hotel overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam-schumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel backs onto the Pepsi Max ride at Blackpool Pleasure beach and quite a number of rooms offer this spectacular view, rivalled by few around the world. The hotel has a good clean feel to it and verges on the 4 star rating. Staff are well trained and polite, although social skills seem to escape a few of the receptionists. The room itself was spacious, very well kept and up to date; disappointingly small televisions but nobody comes to Blackpool to sit in a hotel room and watch television. The bed was very wide, but a little too short and I found the mattress, duvet and horrendous pillows to be very difficult to sleep on. Breakfast service was a little slow (the hotel was at full capacity) but very well cooked food that I found to be a delight. My main issue was upon checking out at 11am, we were told when booked that you can remain in the car park if you are staying in Blackpool for the day but must pay for parking, instead they told us that we must move our car because the hotel was full - not honouring your agreements is shockingly bad customer service and left us loathing the hotel.

To summarise, this has the framework to be a great hotel, but work is needed to bring it up to standard.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank aroman_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Booked a double deluxe room at late notice and managed to get the last room. Having arrived for check in I was over the moon to be told that we had been upgraded to the pent house suite!

The room itself was the best room me and my wife have stayed in - it had a separate living room, with all fixtures to the highest standard - amazing fire and a lovely couch. The room itself could not be faulted - huge comfy bed and great view overlooking the big roller coaster. The bathroom was spacious and contained an amazing rain water shower!

I can not recommend this hotel enough and specifically this room type!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller26_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

As a family of two adults and two children aged eight and four we stayed at the Big Blue Hotel for two nights from Friday 20th to Sunday 22nd September. During our stay we stopped in the third floor family room 415 which has great views out across the Pleasure beach, especially the Big dipper and Big one roller coasters which went down really well with the children.

Room 415 contained a double bed, en-suite bathroom with a bath and over bath shower and a separate children's area which housed bunk beds with individual televisions. The whole room was tastefully decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean and even though it was September the air conditioning was a welcome feature.

The breakfasts in the hotel are self service but all of the food was of high standard with a great choice of hot and cold food options. One piece of advice that we were given by the staff was to try and avoid breakfast after 9.00 am, especially on Sundays as this is when the restaurant is at its busiest meaning that at times guests have to wait for a table to become available.

Another positive about our stay at the Big Blue hotel was the option to enter the Pleasure beach via the VIP entrance located adjacent to the hotel, this is available when you purchase your wristbands as part of hotel booking.

On the Saturday evening we dined in the hotels restaurant which has a good choice of menu options, especially for the children who can make their own pizza, tortilla wrap and sundaes. All of the food that we purchased was cooked to perfection and well presented and the traditional hot pot was note worthy high point.

Whilst there are plenty of cheaper hotels and bed and breakfasts in Blackpool there are none that meet the standards set by the Big blue hotel.

Room Tip: When travelling with children ask for a room with views of the pleasure beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaileyA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Took Mom and Dad away for weekend as they had not been in 20 years booked the Big Blue and what a nice hotel,good staff, rooms very clean and smart.
I work away a lot and this hotel was very well run and very good value.
Shame some low lives decided to smoke in thier rooms and stink the hallway out although great fully you will be fined about £80 quid for your ignorance? (room 118)
Will go back again thanks.

Room Tip: Face front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,166 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,046 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
878 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £76 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing