We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely fantastic. Visited the hotel for two nights with my family and couldn't find any faults. The rooms were very spacious and very clean. The bed, well it's huge could fit all the family in. We had a travel cot in our room and still had plenty of room to move about.
Breakfast was excellent fast service and plenty of choice to choose from

We celebrated my mums birthday while we were there and two of the waiters brought out a cake and sang to her. They didn't have to do this but they did and it made the end of a perfect evening even more special so thank you to them. The food in the restaurant was really good.

Overall excellent hotel would stay there over and and over again. Thank you.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becci86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,863
    842
    218
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,357
907
35
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, Lancs.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here on business for a night. The rooms are quite standard but nicely done. It's a bit like a higher quality Travelodge or Premier Inn. Bed was comfy and room was very clean. There's a nice bar area and the big one is probably a bit too close to some of the rooms!
Breakfast was the usual hot buffet, with most of it left out a bit too long, or cold, but apart from that it was a nice hotel. If you're going to the Pleasure Beach you can't get a better location.

Room Tip: Try a room on the front as the rollercoaster is very loud at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom1ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just arrived back from an overnight stay in this hotel felt let down and disappointed in our stay. Although the hotel is modern, clean and just a stones throw from the Pleasure Beach the overall stay was rather a let down.
Arrived on Saturday at 3pm, check in time, to find the car park fully booked every single space taken people parked on doube yellow lines and in disabled spaced so we had to park around the cornor at the Pleasure Beach train station car park which in inself was not really a big issue however the communication and efficiency of arrnaging this was poor.
The walls between the rooms were paper thin and as a result we had a very poor nights sleep as we kept being woken up by people walking past in the corridor, people using the bathroom, closing doors etc. For such a new hotel I would have thought they would have invested in some sound proofing?
The delux double room was ok, nothing special and did not warrent the £150 per night price tag.
Breakfast the following morning was a nightmare arrived and had to queue to be added to a list for a table. Then had to wait 15-20 for a table to become available, then we had to queue for food as self service. The variety of food was limited and some of the food in the hot plates was stone cold - cold scrammed eggs and beans. Boiled eggs and poached eggs where subject to a £2 charge. Why build a new hotel without enough tables to sit half the guests for breakfast si beyond me, I have never seen anything like it?
I had been looking forward to spending a night in a luxery hotel to be left disappointed and will be using the tried and tested Premier Inn in future for half the price and hassell.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spl0aa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We arrived on Sunday afternoon and were greeted at reception by a bald man in his late twenties/early thirties, who was very polite and happy. It was Manchester Derby Day and he instantly noticed I was wearing a Manchester City t-shirt. He asked what I thought the score would be and then instantly advised me on where I could watch the upcoming match later that afternoon. Big thumbs up to him! We were shown to our rooms and advised that we had been upgraded to a family room at no extra charge! Fantastic! The room was clean and tidy with an added feature of The Big One's tracks running right behind it! We had dinner in the restaurant and being a chef myself, I always look at food. My Pork Belly was very crisp and my wifes, father and mother in laws Duck Breasts were perfectly cooked and very nicely presented. After visiting a show at The Grand Hotel where a client of my wifes was performing, we had a few late drinks in the bar where we were allowed for the act and his management team in to join us. We ordered some sandwiches which were also very good and we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the bar. Overall, a nice enjoyable stay at The Big Blue. I can imagine many children getting very excited at having a roller coaster in their own back garden over the weekend! This would be the only downside if you are looking for a quiet, early night though! The noise of The Pleasure Beach could be very loud during peak season but we arrived back after 10pm so everything was shut. I'd just like to mention the receptionist again who was very helpful, ordered cabs for us, and is an excellent first impression of the hotel when you arrive. Big thank you to The Big Blue.

Room Tip: If you want a bit of extra space to store luggage then ask for a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelioG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just returned from a weekend in Blackpool. The Big Blue hotel is a great hotel for those with families. We stayed in family room. The kids had there own area with a bunk bed and a tv each! Our bed was a huge double and really comfy. The rooms are nicely decorated and there was plenty of tea, coffee and milk in the rooms. Our room over looked the pleasure beach and the kids liked watching the rollcoasters and the waving to the little train that went past the window. There was also plenty of free parking which is a bonus in blackpool
The breafast has a good choice, with cereals, yoghurt, fruit and full english. We managed to down in time before the rush, which was about 9am and on the way out we noticed that there was a lot of people waiting.

The reception staff were helpful and knowledgable. We liked that we could get tickets for the pleasure beach and enter right next door.

The hotel is located next to the pleasure beach so we used the trams to get about. It was £9 for a family day ticket.

Overall the hotel is worth extra for.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the pleasure beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daytripper012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I wish to take exception to the title',Boutique Hotel' in my experience one would expect a degree of intimacy and luxury. Neither of these is on offer here. The rooms are functional and clean with good spacious functional bathrooms. My only complaint would be the very poor quality of the bedding. This is a value for money, family hotel and should market itself as such.
Sandra , Norfolk

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

we stayed at the big blue as a family of 4 in a deluxe family room. wow!!! we were very impressed the room was amazing with great views of the rides. its worth every penny, the breakfasts were fantastic with so much choice, the only down side were the queues but its to be expected when busy. we ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was out of this world with impeccable service. we intend to stay again at the end of the month! we would not stay any where else now after staying at the big blue. thank you for an amazing stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
3,911 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 69 in Blackpool
454 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 69 in Blackpool
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 69 in Blackpool
975 reviews
2.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#29 of 69 in Blackpool
3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Property: Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing