We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular Business Guest”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times on business and this is my preference every time. The hotel is large but the rooms are lovely, the staff are friendly and the food is very good although may be on the more expensive side if you were eating in every evening. One of the best hotel breakfasts ive had, plenty of choice, serve yourself.

This is right next to the theme park and as a business traveller by the time I get to the hotel the theme park is nearing closure time, the only downside can be if the park is open and you have a room facing the park it can be slightly noisey in the summer when the window is open. However that said the staff have always asked me which side I wanted a room at.

It is a long walk up the pier towards the blackpool tower end but great if you like a walk along the front and with the new work that has been undertaken on the prom it is a pleasant walk. For those that prefer not to walk jump on a tram which you can get just over the road from the hotel.

Great place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,895 - 1,901 of 3,238 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Been lucky enough to stay here a few times and loved it every time. The room is always immaculate, small but very functional. Lovely power shower too! We had a view of the pleasure beach which was really good, the noise wasn't a problem as the park doesn't open late.
Breakfast was all you can eat buffet style. Lovely high quality hot food. Very much worth the extra. Will definitely be back again soon :)

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank WSMgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

I come on business but I wouldn't hesitate to bring my family here it is simply excellent! The food is expensive but it is great value, you do indeed get why you pay for. The rooms are excellent, staff are welcoming and sincere. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Blackpool.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank 123Jordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a very nice place. The staff in all departments are really top drawer. We stayed on a weekend package deal for the last days of the illuminations. The food we had on the Friday evening (8th Nov) was absolutely brilliant. Stayed in room 310, this is on the 3rd floor facing the main road. Could not really find fault with any part of it. This is the 3rd time we have stayed at this hotel, ok the price does keep going up but it is worth it. No problems with parking either.
All I can say is its very nice. Try it..

Room Tip: Generally quiet anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4400Gains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on the final weekend of lights & pleasure beach opening. We have been to Blackpool a lot over the years but have never actually stayed as never fancied it to be honest. However, stumbled across this hotel & decided to give it a go.

We paid £304.00 Deluxe Family Room. Wifi, Full size bunk beds, ps3, lovely clean bathroom, warm & clean room, kettle & coffee,tea & hot chocolate, sofa bed (if needed), TV, good hanging space, small shampoo, shower gel & conditioner provided, iron etc and finally view of the pleasure beach.

Breakfast was included and was excellent. No queues even tho the hotel was fully booked.

The bar/resteraunt area was very comfortable and modern. We did not eat but did enjoy drinks on an evening. A little more expensive but much nicer than the pubs and much better for the kids.

All staff were helpful.

Free pass to walk around pleasure beach ( no rides), and they offered discounted passes.

Location is good as you are close to tram stop and south prom attractions. Obviously close to theme park. Plenty of fast food close by and a Pizza Hut just round the corner.

We went with another family & they had a superior room, these rooms are a little smaller. The kids beds are only 5ft so are only suitable for young ones. My 7 yr old would have struggled in one.

Suggestions for hotel......... I would have liked a fire in our room ( the deluxe doubles have one) , bottled water, bath robes, more luxurious bedding accessories, toothpaste & bigger or more shower gel ( this was replaced tho when room was cleaned), also a real fire in the bar would have been lovely.

I would recommend this hotel & we are planning to return next year. It is an expensive weekend but we had such a good time and the kids loved every single minute of it.

Tip........ If you shop in Tesco get a clubcard, save your vouchers and use them for the Pleasure Beach. £9 in vouchers gives you 1 day ticket ( normal cost £ 30) , plus you can use vouchers for other attractions too. It saves a fortune.

Room Tip: Deluxe room for kids over 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stel1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed in the big blue for 2 nights, Friday and Saturday of the final weekend of this year illuminations. Generally the hotel was very nice, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We arrived 2 hours before check in, but we popped in to let the staff know we were parked in the car park and they said we could check in early as they had rooms ready.

We had booked a superior double, we were put in a superior family room on the top floor at the far end of the hotel. Top floor is our preference and it was nice and quiet at the far end, away from the lifts and stairs. No complaints there!

Rooms are fairly large, bathroom very nice and quite roomy, plenty of towels although don't expect bath sheets, towels are quite small as is the norm in most hotels. Tea coffee biscuits etc, iron and board if needed, TV signal good, DVD player too, not that we used it. A separate tv for each of the children's bunk beds, again not that we used them, but worth a mention. Bed was a super king or 2 singles joined together, whichever way you look at it, very room and comfortable. 2 very good nights sleep. Curtains do a good job of keeping out the light, there was a risk of sleeping right through breakfast. :-)

Breakfast was very good, not the largest selection, but all good quality. The breakfast is a buffet, the hot food was all fresh and hot, I enjoyed it both days. Juice, hot drinks, cereal all available too. We did not have an evening meal in the hotel, however the menus we looked at sounded very good.

The only negatives, the rooms have blown air heating/cooling, I found this quite noisy even on the lowest fan setting. Our room had 1 non functional light switch, no biggy, just something I would expect to be replaced. That said, we were not short of lights in our room as it was the one nearest the door in the little hall way, so we did not complain about it. There was also a lift out of order throughout our stay, we gave up trying to get a lift when checking out, I carried our luggage down 4 floors, I'm sure it's not such an issue when both are working, but I just gave up watching the lift stop at floor 3 and fill up on the way up.

I would definitely stay again, location is great, free parking, fantastic break! We especially like that the whole hotel is non smoking, however this does lead to a gathering of smokers immediately outside the front doors and fog like conditions on exiting and entering. Maybe the hotel should investigate a smoking shelter across the car park, to offer some protection from the elements for smoking guests?

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Regular visitor to Blackpool and by far the best hotel we have stayed . Close to everything you need . Staff were polite and friendly . Room was clean . Great shower/bathroom . Fireplace was a nice touch . Bought a package which included dinner at the adjoining restaurant - a stroke of genius . Food was 5star and our waitress among others were very efficient without being overly so . See you next year .

Room Tip: Definetely upgrade to Deluxe . More spacious and relaxing .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockinRollStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,233 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,056 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#9 of 73 in Blackpool
900 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £73 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing