We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay for my birthday”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

we stayed from the 4th of jan till the 6th for my birthday.We only booked on thursday but what a nice hotel the staff are really lovely from resturant reception to bar staff.we had a family deluxe room which was very nice and spacious the room itself was very clean.We eat in the resturant both nights you can have a set meal which is cheaper but i would reccomend to eat in there.They decorated my table up for my birthday glad we picked this hotel and certainly will be back

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubangirl945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,916 - 1,922 of 3,281 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in the Big Blue for the first time on 3rd till 6th January in the Deluxe Suite, room 239.From start to finnish it was just pure quality and relaxing . The rooms are of a very high standard,well kept spotlessly clean.The staff are very friendly and helpfull. We stayed bed and breakfast a good choice as this time of year nothing is opened around the Hotel. The breakfast was Buffet style and with a wide choice.Nothing lay about on plates for long and they were always topped up by the chef who cooked the fried eggs at the counters in front of you. This trip was for my 50th Birthday and i will be coming back here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iaincameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We go to Blackpool most years and have experienced a general decline in standards of decor and service through the years. Travelling home after the New Year in England we decided to break the journey with a one night bed and breakfast stay at the Big Blue Hotel. So glad we did. Beautiful hotel, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Staff at reception, bar and breakfast were, without exception, pleasant and helpful. Choice and quality of breakfast was exceptional, however, if you are a porridge lover you may be disappointed that you have to order and pay extra for it. (£2.) High end boutique hotel and I can't wait to go back in the summer when Blackpool is alive and kicking.

Room Tip: Our room (238) faced directly onto the Pleasure Beach and was only a few metres away from some rolle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dundeegranny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Check in and check out very eff. Lovely comfy room and very clean,all the staff are very polite and the hotel is very clean,food was lovely and New Year's Eve was a very good nite,however New Years night was very poor ,only a disco no live entertainment however there was a fancy dress for the kids ,we left the bar at 10.15 as it was becoming empty and not much later I spoked to a lady who said they left the bar a little later and said it was empty, would of thought the price we had payed there wld of bn more entertainment on New Year's Day and night a bit of a let down ,we did do the pantomime on New Year's Day but apart from that nothing else going on in the day ,my husband enjoyed the gym .they cld also do with a smoke shelter with a heater as it gets very cold outside ,the manager did mention something abt this as he was going to his car,must of felt sorry for us lol,will look at booking this hotel again so let's see if they make any changes esp for new year,

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank motorbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed at the big blue hotel on New Year's Eve with my family, the kids loved the deluxe family room with them each having there own tv and games. The service was amazing and the room was just as good.

Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have views of the theme park and the deluxe family rooms have bunk beds t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shortcake22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We go to Blackpool every once in a while to visit family, having lived there ourselves until about 18 years ago. In my opinion, many of Blackpool's hotels are a bit tired and service standards can be a bit patchy. This was the real surprise at Big Blue - from checking in to checking out every member of the team seemed to be happy and helpful. There was no offer of porterage but with only overnight gear this was not a big issue. On getting to our double room we found it to be very clean and nicely appointed. The bathroom came complete with some nice Pascal Morabito toiletries. The included evening meal was very palatable and I liked the fact that there was flexibility to use the a la carte menu and just pay any difference. Our night's sleep was reasonable but the bed size was somewhat smaller than I find in most other modern hotels, and being used to a king size we did feel a bit cramped. By way of compensation the rest of the bedroom was spacious with a nice table and chairs, lots of storage and a good tv. Breakfast the next day was a fairly standard buffet style affair. All in all it was a good value and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manticore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Great hotel if you have young children. Room was fine, with separate bunk bed area for the children. Breakfast good and ample, though be ready for a queue to be seated. We had dinner on the first night which was very good.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank cerys234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,336 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
920 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
524 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,081 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £72 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Prestigia, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing