We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed 1 night with our 3 Grandchildren,lovely big room with bunk beds and a cot.very clean nothing was enough trouble for the staff everyone we came across was lovely to us.
The weather was a bonus so we had a fab time on the beach on Sat 1st March.
The choice of food both at Dinner and Breakfast was very good.We did not experience any problems at breakfast we didn't have to wait.
It's very child friendly and this is the main reason why we chose it for a second time and we would return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladylynnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,848 - 1,854 of 3,238 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

The location is excellent for the Pleasure a Beach and away from the hustle of the town centre.
The family room offers bunk beds for the kids with a TV for each bunk and a Sony Playstation and snakes and ladders of the wall.
The bed for the parents was kingsize.
The room was spacious and clean with a view of the Pleasure Beach.
The staff were courteous and the hotel was clean.
The restaurant food was of a good standard whilst a little pricey.
The only small downsize at breakfast was the hot drinks were from a machine but a good variation buffet.
Would recommend for a few nights away.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank DHFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Recently visited the Big Blue hotel in Blackpool. Me and family had an amazing time, the staff couldn't be nicer and the food was perfect. It is in a great location, very clean, parking at the hotel. The Rooms are spacious and it is perfect for children. We Can't wait for our next visit

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very happy with the stay. A few small problems such as the volume on the television was very low and wouldnt go higher, however overall we was happy with the stay. All the staff was friendly and the breakfast had a huge variety. The shower was very powerful and plenty of towels was provided.
I was happy we paid a bit more then the other hotels and booked here.

Room Tip: We booked a sea view room however only had the side view, maybe the kids will be better with the rid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicol29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed here on the first weekend of the pleasure beach opening, we didn't realise you could book the tickets through the hotel, so we booked on the website, we arrived at 11:50am and went into the hotel reception to ask about car parking, the woman on the the desk was lovely and asked what our plans were, when we told her we were going onto the pleasure beach, she quickly gave us our wristbands (even though we hadn't booked through them) and said we could go in through the hotels entrance to no queuing! We were really pleased, staff are on the whole lovely, although there was a bit of bother between two of the girls arguing when we went to check out, wasn't really an issue, just slightly uncomfortable. The room was spotless and spacey, we did have a rubbish view of the road outside, however we should have requested a pleasure beach view when we booked. Room service took a long time but the food was lovely when it eventually arrived, on the whole we had a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a pleasure beach view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney18x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a short and to the point review. If you want to eliminate the risk of booking into a dreadful Blackpool Hotel, of which there are many, the Big Blue is a good and safe bet. We have stayed there three times now having experienced the most dreadful places and would not hesitate in staying again. I know there are many good places, but, better the devil you know.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Firstly i have to say if you are reading this review aa you are considering booking, or to see if it is worth the money the answer is yes yes yes yes!

The hotel just oozes class and sophistication but makes kids feel like a million dollars too! I went on a family trip to see the illuminations and had with me my little boy who was 3 at the time! We all loved it! The food, 1st class, so much choice! The rooms spot on! Defiantly made the holiday having one looking onto the pleasure beach side. ( just for info i believe all deluxe are pleasure beach facing which is brill, superior have a mixture. )
The deluxe is worth the money to upgrade it i lovely but even the superior is still great!
The only area i have marked down i location. Don't get m wrong its right next to pleasure beach and they open the exclusive entrance for you to get in on the morning, but getting out is. Different story! They really need to keep the entrance/ exit open all day as its a long walk!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherine130388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,234 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,058 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#9 of 73 in Blackpool
901 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £73 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing