We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute Blackpool break”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
tonyfall
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Last minute Blackpool break”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Decided to have May Day break away and via bookings.com found the big blue. £100 inc breakfast seemed fairly expensive for one night when they normally charge £70. However we were upgraded to a superior room which was excellent. Extremely large king size bed and everything you could want inc excellent bathroom with all the extras
Sadly one complaint, yes the hotel was full and we were told that breakfast could be busy but to have to wait to be seated for 20 mins was a surprise. Breakfast was good but if you were in a hurry then the commentary breakfast may have to be missed. The only negative

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,881
    847
    218
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,374
912
35
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Booked a suite with Pleasure Beach wristbands included and had a wonderful stay. Arrived around 12pm and was greeted by a very pleasant lady (assistant manager I think) who informed me that our suite was ready to check in. Checked in and given out bands for the Pleasure Beach. Great views of the Pleasure Beach. Huge bed which was very comfortable. Room service was good and fast. Loved the bathroom with separate toilet. Nice big bath and a good shower plus twin sinks! Defiantly will be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saint2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We visited again as had a good stay a few months ago and got same deal through Lastminute. Obviously the hotel and facilities bar etc were still the same and very nice but the room we were in was a bit smelly nothing so bad that we would have to move but was a bit off putting. The dvd wasn't working and the backs of the remotes had all be taken and batteries removed!!! while we did mention this to reception and they did offer to call up and resolve this we declined as it wasn't a major problem. We did enjoy breakfast full english and very friendly staff. Overall our room was clean and we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyrosenalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Mid week break for partners birthday, first time we've stayed here and must say we'll never stay anywhere else again when visiting Blackpool. Lovely Double Deluxe bedroom, comfy bed, everything we could possibly need was in the room. Friendly staff, clean hotel all round. Breakfast is amazing! Such a variety to suit everybody and loads of it - well impressed.
Well done Big Blue staff, we'll be seeing you again sooner rather than later :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend with friends and our 10 month old son. Hotel is lovely, clean and has friendly staff. It is very convienient for the pleasure beach and most of the attractions at Blackpool. The breakfast is buffet style with a wide choice and always hot. Will be staying here again next time we visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsTootin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently in business for one night, the room was very nice the WiFi kept dropping out which isn't great when trying to work.

The restaurant experience is the best in Blackpool, the food is very well cooked, presented very well and the service is outstanding! I can't rate the restaurant high enough and the staff that work there need a good pat on the back for their efforts.

Good check in experience, good staff, polite, welcoming. Good location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigbird1334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We booked a Friday night stay in a family room and arrived at about 6pm. Check in was fast, room clean, spacious, quiet and well stocked with tea, coffee etc. Bunk beds and a TV EACH! for the kids, and a TV for us too of course. Brilliant view of the Big One and the Big Dipper from our room on the 4th floor. The double bed would have fit all four of us in I think! Good clean bathroom and a great, hot, powerful shower.
We ate in the restaurant and it was faultless, staff great, clean, quiet, fast service - maybe slightly expensive for the family market - we paid £70 for 2 kids meals, 2 adults meals of 2 courses each with wine and beer.
The deal included tickets to the Pleasure Beach, and the only dark cloud of the whole trip was the park enterance from the Big Blue is at 10am, however most rides didn't open til 10.30am or even 11am in the case of the white knuckle rides, so our plan to do all the big rides at 10am was scuppered! Otherwise, a fab trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,967 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 69 in Blackpool
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 69 in Blackpool
982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 69 in Blackpool
490 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 69 in Blackpool
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Property: Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing