We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in blackpool”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in blackpool”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Choosing a hotel in blackpool can be a hit or miss experience. Picked this hotel because of previous reviews and wasn't disappointed. Very clean an modern. Next to pleasurebeach which is ideal for families. We did not have children with us so close to casino for us. Promenade is beautiful since renovation. Lovely for long walks. Also breakfast at hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rivera1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,904
    857
    222
    86
    39
See reviews for
1,402
920
36
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at the Big Blue several times and never been disappointed, the staff are so welcoming and friendly nothing is too much trouble.
Rooms always clean & comfortable, food has always been good but this time it was superb!, not sure if they have a new chef, the sticky toffee pudding is to die for!.
Not much going on in the way of evening entertainment but take a stroll up to South or taxi/tram to central pier and theres family bars with discos etc, my 6 year old loved Coral Island..
I don't think I would stay anywhere else in Blackpool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie1974_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed whilst visiting the light on a freezing cold windy raining night , booked last minute traveling kn the way £200 for family room pricey but loved the room kids lived the bunk beds had a quite nights sleep bathroom really big, most of all we ate the best breakfast there that we had Eva tasted also a lot of selection of food to help yourself to from fruit yogurt muffins full English breakfast would stay again if it was for the night maybe booking earlier for a cheaper price ,

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alisha-pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel! Was just what we were lookin for. We stayed here for a late valentines treat! And it lived up to our expectations! The rooms were big and luxurios warm and comfy the staff were great and the food was pleasant! With it's own car park and easy access to local pubs clubs and entertainment we would definetly recommend this Hotel! Can't wait to go back in the summer holidays! This time with the children

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise200106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here over the bank holiday in May, this was the first time at this hotel as we generally stay at the North end of Blackpool. All I can say is fabulous, everything about the hotel was great, free parking, free wi-fi, fantastic breakfast and priority entrance into the Pleasure Beach (if you have brought your tickets). Our room overlooked the park, so we could see alot of the rides in action from our room.
The staff are amazing and really cannot do enough for you, I would highly recommend staying here, we were really impressed!

Room Tip: We were upgrade to a family room, so it is always worth asking this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruising50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Westayed at the hotel to celebtrate our son's 7th Birthday. We have stayed here twice before. Staff wentt out of theiur wayto accommoidate us, making our sons buirthday really special. All the staff are friendly and always made time for you, despite being incredibly busy. The food is fantastic with a good menu to choose from. Service was a little slkow, but staff were incredibly busy and we were not in a rush so it didn't bother us. Rooms spacious, clean and contains everything you need for an enjoyable stay. We will continue to use this hotel and would like to say a massive thank you to all the staff as each one of them went out there way to make our son feel special on his birthday. Cannot praise enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyfall
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Decided to have May Day break away and via bookings.com found the big blue. £100 inc breakfast seemed fairly expensive for one night when they normally charge £70. However we were upgraded to a superior room which was excellent. Extremely large king size bed and everything you could want inc excellent bathroom with all the extras
Sadly one complaint, yes the hotel was full and we were told that breakfast could be busy but to have to wait to be seated for 20 mins was a surprise. Breakfast was good but if you were in a hurry then the commentary breakfast may have to be missed. The only negative

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,038 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,009 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
842 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Property: Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing