We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and location”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and location”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked the deluxe family room for a long weekend break on the bed and breakfast rate. There were two bunk beds in a separate area for the kids with a TV for each of them. Our room had a super king size bed, loads of space, flat screen TV, coffee and tea making facilities. There was also an iron and ironing board. The bathroom was large with a bath, power shower and large sink.
Towels were luxurious and changed daily. Our view overlooked the wide street outside the front of the hotel. Other rooms at the rear overlook the Pleasure Beach. I did not take advantage of the discounted pleasure beach tickets available at the hotel as I had pre ordered them online. I gave my order number at reception and they were now to print off my tickets and allow us to enter via a private VIP entrance adjacent to the Big Blue Hotel so we were able to walk out of breakfast and straight on to the rides!
I hired a PS3 for the kids and they picked from the large menu of games. This trip there were no meet and greet animal characters for the kids but they met plenty of characters inside the theme park next door.
Breakfast. Queues started around 8.30 am and lasted till 9.30am. Wait was only 5-10 minutes to be seated. Best go for breakfast before queue starts. It was buffet style with the usual juices, cereals, pastries and typical English hot food selection. Additional accompaniments can be ordered at a cost. Everyone enjoyed our stay at the Big Blue Hotel and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If your kids are over 5 ft tall go for the bigger room with longer bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stub69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,833
    834
    216
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,333
894
34
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
falkirk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for 1 night , great hotel as includes park tickets , 2 days is enough in Blackpool and this hotel is best to stay.son loved it as our room looked out to the big roller coaster,and it's rare and handy for everything , only complaint is weather , we always get rain

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwcut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Second stay in 12 months in this hotel. Great location for the pleasure beach and the hotel has its own entrance. We have the family room for 5 !! Which is rare. It works out at £60 each and includes park entrance. Its a bit pricey but you get what you pay for. Hotel is always clean and tidy, smart and luxury, so better than most hotels / bed breakfast in the area. Breakfast is great good full English, cereal, fruit, toast etc coffee, tea. Eat as much as you like but be there early before 9am or you will queue ! And the reception in fairness do tell you this. Free parking until 11am on day of departure. Rooms are tidy clean and enough room for 5 of us. I don't get the reviews about the beds there very comfy ?? I sleep very well, the sofa bed isn't the best but we pad it out with blankets. PlayStation for the kids in the room. My only gripe is the price we payed £304 and booked the day before, if we had booked 3 days before it would have been £50 cheaper !! but the room was available so should have been the same price... my advise book early !! Great hotel.

Room Tip: On both occasions the rooms face the pleasure beach so ask for a higher room better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooksy971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here on a 2 night business trip. So the exterior is big and blue but I think that is to draw your attention to this absolute gem of a hotel. When you first arrive at reception, it is smart, modern, well equipped and the staff are so welcoming and helpful. I had the most beautiful of rooms, with the added bonus of the .living room area, with modern fire and comfy seats. everything in the room was top notch and the smiley Walkers shortbread biscuits reminded you that the hotel cared about you enjoying your stay. Breakfast in the morning was so so tasty and I have not seen food being so cared for before (eggs are cooked on the counter) in the evenings the bar staff were so nice and prices very good for a hotel. I would recommend this to business people, families, couples, single travellers EVERYONE....simply wonderful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank nmcclu315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

First of all the bed mattresses are horrific... Old and worn and two mattresses together are the hotels idea of a king!!! With a massive lump in the middle of the bed.
The 24 hr menu is not 24 hr on everything... After 10pm there are only 5 options cheese sandwiches, prawn sandwich and two kinds of pizza that's it!!!!
Kids beds are great for toddlers but if you have 5 ft kids forget it.
£475 for two nights for 1 adult and 2 kids

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Joebarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very clean and staff were extremely friendly. Great location for pleasure beach! Checked in just after 3 so the pleasure beach was still open so abit noisy with the coasters still going round but can't complain as my fault for going in so early!
Breakfast was gorgeous! Nice selection of food filled up for the rest of the day! Staff could have been abit quicker and friendlier removing empty plates.
Shower was powerful and relaxing. Bed was very comfty and couldn't complain about the room at all!
Only downside is it's the other end to the main town so it's quite a walk! Would stay again if I returned to blackpool

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missdlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Just had a two night stay at this lovely Hotel. I was delighted to see my room, very spacious, well appointed and comfortable. I was so surprised at the standards here, the decor and comfort in the room was very high (don't be put off by the external appearance of the Hotel).
The view was less so, overlooking roller coasters isn't too scenic but you know the location when you book.
The evening meal in the restaurant was outstanding for the price and the portions were very satisfying.
My only niggle was the breakfast timings. 7:30 opening time is fine when you are on holiday but it is a little late when you are staying on business and leads to a hurried meal. If the Hotel could shift this by just 30 minutes the overall experience would be perfect.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Property: Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing