We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay at this fab hotel, and it won't be the last.”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our second stay at this fab hotel, and it won't be the last.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a quick one night break with the kids during half term and really enjoyed ourselves, again. Stayed in 335 which was a family deluxe room overlooking the pleasure beach. Our bed was massive and so comfortable. The kids had bunk beds with their own tv's and PS3, in a separate part of the room. Breakfast was so tasty with loads to choose from. Definitely the best hotel in blackpool by a mile. Well done to the staff for making our little stay such an enjoyable experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Liverpool12324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,863
    842
    218
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,357
907
35
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked this hotel for is proximity to the Pleasure Beach and also the quality looked a lot better than a lot of the B&B's. We certainly were not disappointed! from check-in to check-out we received excellent service all round, fully stocked bathroom items and hot drinks with a kettle, iron & hair dryer in the room. We had a PS3 in our room which kept the kids quiet while we were relaxing in the room. Our room (Large family room) backed onto the Pleasure Beach and we were literally metres away from the rides, every few minutes a roller coaster, horses or a train went past the window.

The hotel itself was ideally located at the South end of the pleasure beach, this is the quieter end, away from all the bars & fast food joints, we heard very little noise while we were in our room.

We had dinner in the Blues Brasserie the first night and there was a lot of choice and the food was top class, the breakfast was also excellent, with a huge choice of cooked food, cereals, yogurts, fruit and baked goods. All in all I can honestly say; if we go back to Blackpool, we'd be staying there again!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room for a good view of the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shortandstrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

hotel was very staff friendly room was very clean lots of room with/without family, room had bunk beds for the kids an their own tv for both bunks and games on the wall for kids to play. plenty of car park spaces,the only thing was the breakfast que as u had to line up and wait a good 10-15 min for breakfast and some were waiting longer than us..Its just a shame Blackpool is a complete dump and the lights my goodness were did they pick them up from as they are the worse Ive ever sean. if the hotel was somewhere else I'd go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nita t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hotel was fab very relaxing , friendly and clean, shame Blackpool wasn't the same what a dump. Haven't been since i was little and i remember why now ! I spent most of my time in this lovely gem of a hotel watching the rides from my comfy room, with a tv, fire, tea, coffee bics and water and if you wanted anymore you just had to ask, the staff are great. The bar is expensive £7 for a glass of wine !!! well i was on a break from work so had one with a lovely meal from the Bistro . Sum it up a LOVELY GEM in a not so nice place, if your going to blackpool then this is the place to stay , great for kids as the pleasure beach wristband was in the price.

Room Tip: ice machine in the reception as well as snack machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1redlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

we arrived to a spacious car park, and a very warm welcome on reception, we booked one night for a treat and wasn't disappointed in the slightest.
the hotel although not the cheapest, certainly lived up to its "4 star" billing, fruit on tables in reception, very clean and modern, and a lovely change to the normal so called 2 star hotels we normally stay in.
Our room was lovely, very spacious with nice touches, i ordered some flowers and champagne from the "enhance your stay" brochure and she loved them, gorgeous flowers and champagne, the room had a memory foam mattress which was heaven, a rug with 2 chairs, my only slight critism was a 2 seater sofa would of been better, but just a minor thing, there was a fire (remote controlled to set the light) dvd and freeview tv, the room itself was really nicelt decorated and the view was of pleasure beach and the sea.
we slept well!! (eventually ;-) ) and went down for breakfast.
breakfast was nice, asll the normal really, all self service with plenty to choose from, proper bacon and freshly cooked eggs cooked by the chef there and then.
breakfast was busy but we found no problems and all the staff were pleasant and happy.

Would i recomend this hotel? certainly, by paying that bit extra its well worth it in my opinion and we shall return again without any doubt.

thank you to all the staff who made our night away that bit extra special.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVE h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked this hotel on the spur of the moment; we were booked into another hotel for two nights, but it was that bad that we couldn't stay another night and checked out. My husband found the big blue and luckily they had space!

Friendly, very clean, modern, great restaurant etc etc. I cannot fault this hotel! Great location as well. It made our stay in Blackpool more than imagined. Thank you for saving us!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have just returned from an overnight trip, we've been Blackpool many times and stayed in lots of different hotels and b and bs but this is by far the best hotel in Blackpool. The staff are lovely and will do anything possible to make your stay better. The hotel is immaculate I didn't find one thing to fault it for. our room was beautiful, the bed was absolutely huge! we had a great view of pleasure beach too. The breakfast was just fab, so much quality food on offer, we didn't eat all day after our brekkie!!! cant recommend this place enough we cant wait to return. thankyou for a lovely stay x

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
3,911 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 69 in Blackpool
454 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 69 in Blackpool
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 69 in Blackpool
975 reviews
2.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#29 of 69 in Blackpool
3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Property: Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing