We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I came with my girlfriend to stay at the hotel in preparation for a day at the pleasure beach. The hotel staff were excellent, pleasant and courteous. The rooms were bigger than expected. One slight downside if any was that I felt the beds were a bit springy but apart from that it was a great place to stay. We are now considering booking again but this time we will bring my kids as well.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spartan1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,863
    842
    218
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,357
907
35
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were totally happy with our stay at the Big Blue Hotel. The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was a decent size and was very family friendly. Our two little ones loved their own private area and also enjoyed watching the roller coasters whizzing past the window. The breakfast was lovely and the location was perfect. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Blackpool.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MindyWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We arrived Friday lunchtime and the suite we had booked for the weekend was already ready. we'd booked a bottle of fizz and this was waiting in the room. There was also a complimentary bottle of red wine. The Big Blue offers Family rooms, Deluxe and the Suites and the standard of the decor is exceptional. We liked the comtemporary feel of our rooms and the way the doible door windows looked into the Pleasure Beach which is right next door. The double glazing ensures you don't get bothered by the screams of those on the coasters, above and below, if you don't want it. Considering this hotel opened 2003 it still retains its 4 stars in my opinion. The staff are friendly, polite and very keen to help and assist if you need it. Answers are given with a smile - so rare in some places these days.
The restaurant provides a hearty breakfast (included) and a very respectable choice for dinner at reasonable prices together witha nice lounge area if you decide to have a drink and a natter. Two small niggles - the Wi Fi and the hard wired internet point were not working. We did report this but had vacated the hotel before anything was done. A safe in the room would be appreciated rather than having to use the front desk safe deposit.
Otherwise - an excellent place to lay your head in Blackpool and will be returning in approximately 12 months time.

Room Tip: From what we could gather all rooms face in towards the famous Pleasure Beach. The doublre glazing e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffSalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

With not visiting Blackpool for thirteen years we did the review and choose the Big Blue hotel. All I can say is that I will be returning to Blackpool and without question returning the same hotel. The hotel has great breakfast & evening meals the rooms are very clean and tidy but the one thing that stood out was how friendly the staff are and very helpful. Blackpool has had a major transformation along the beach front that is second to none. Still a bit of work to be done but would recommend for a short break.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank StuRowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

just spent 2 nights we got there at about 1:30 on the 7/6/14 when looking at there email they sent the check in was at 3:00 the staff was very help an booked us is so there was no waiting to book in a was advised where we can eat there an when had trouble with there wifi for my i pad they got this working for me quick an the room was very clean an we asked for trivial cot this was in the room when we got to the room an i will be looking to book again

Room Tip: staff very help full
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Wanting to shy away from the more run down B&B style accommodation, we opted for this hotel for a party of 5. Even though we were well before check in time, the staff were really friendly and sorted us out our Park passes. The hotel has an exclusive entrance in to the Pleasure Beach which is a real bonus. Brings you right in at the "Big One" end of the Park.

The rooms were great. Family room with the bunk beds and the twin TVs went down a treat with the kids. Double bed was a proper big one too which is always a bonus. In summary

Positives
Clean and family friendly hotel
Friendly and professional staff
Great Location
Family rooms are great for the kids
Exclusive entrance to the Park is a great idea.
Great Kids menu in the restaurant
On site car park
Park wrist bands and game "tokens" at hotel reception saves queuing in the Park itself.

Negatives
You can't leave the Park back to the hotel through the way you came in
Restaurant food for the adults was very expensive for what it was

All in all, if we were to head back to Blackpool again then this would be the place we would stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We love the Big Blue hotel. It is modern, clean and friendly with large comfortable rooms and ever-accommodating staff. Staying in a family room my son had a choice to 2 bunk beds, each with their own TV and a Playstation 3. The windows looked over the Pleasure Beach where we watched the staff preparing the rides while we got ready for breakfast - which was great. After lunch we took time out of the Pleasure Beach to come back to the hotel to relax - watching the roller coasters dart past the window and the go-karts constantly getting stuck was strangely compulsive. We pulled a chair up to the large window and enjoyed the view for an hour or so. The only downside was the noise from the room above during the night, and I would agree with other comments that the sound insulation could be better, but it would take more than that to spoil our stay. We had a great time and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedDogUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
3,911 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 69 in Blackpool
454 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 69 in Blackpool
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 69 in Blackpool
975 reviews
2.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#29 of 69 in Blackpool
3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Property: Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing