We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Had a great couple of days and nights at hotel. Staff are lovely as usual we have stayed here a few times. Rooms are spotless. Food great. Whole hotel is so clean and we'll worth a visit. Got a good deal to stay and the hotel was so accomodat

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank angela355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,723 - 1,729 of 3,238 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed for one night with a 14 month old. Room was very nice and we even got a free upgrade! We had a travel cot provided by the hotel but unfortunately the mattress wasn't any good. Solved this problem by laying extra blankets on top to give it more padding. We'd bought our own bedding for the cot, not sure if this is expected but we'd have struggled if we hadn't, so would defiantly recommend packing your own bedding and a travel cot mattress.

The staff in the restaurant on the evening were very good and made an effort with my son, which is always a winner! Food was lovely, and there was a nice atmosphere.

Easy and fast check-in and out. Car parking available. Quiet location as it is at the south shore, and a short walk from the attractions. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank marmaladesunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I have stayed there twice now. The first time in a twin room that was rather small but ok, the second time I stayed in a single room but that had the luxury of a suite....it had a great fire that changed colour....nice effect in the room...the room was clean and large but cant say the bed was that comfortable...nice toiletries in the bathroom...all in all a nice place...Great Bar in the hotel and friendly staff with a good hearty breakfast in the morning...shame do not have fresh coffee instead of out of a machine...all in all would recommend.

Room Tip: If with Children would be great to ask for a room overlooking the pleasure beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 505Travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

To start off this hotel is not a cheap bed and breakfast it is a real hotel with real hotel prices

Getting to the hotel is easy, located on the main prom road, head for the pleasure beach and look for the big blue building, a sign post on the road could help in finding the entrance but seeing the entrance isn’t too hard from the road, parking in the free car park is a really good feature of the hotel

We arrived before the 3pm check in time but checking in at reception wasn’t hard and the room was already ready, but the fact there is no clear place to queue and the tendency of a groups of people just forming around the desk isn’t good, a nice “wait here” sign or even move the reception away from the main route from the bedrooms to the bar would really help and help make the customer experience better.

Reception staff, when assisting you, are helpful they explain the breakfast times, how to get onto the free hotel wifi and can print your theme park tickets etc all from the one location, so that’s a real time saver if all you want is to check in and get onto the rides. Even if you are only wanting to look around the theme park, they can give a “free” beach pass, saving £6 pp on people that just want to look around before getting wrist bands the next day.

The room was nice and of a reasonable size, about the same size as most premier inn rooms but needs to have maintenance done on some of the fittings, as the TV remote didn’t work correctly, might need new batteries but I would expect housekeeping to check this, also the remote for the fire didn’t have any battery cover on and one of the buttons was damaged again this wasn’t picked up or fixed. Overall the room was clean and tidy and did have a desk and lounge type seats.

Bathroom was of a reasonable size again and had a bath and shower over the bath, nothing special but clean and did the job.

We were on the pleasure beach size, and did enjoy opening the balcony doors to look over the rides and park at night, was strange how peaceful the area becomes when the park closes, can hear the birds and nature in the middle of the urban spread.
The only food we had in the hotel was breakfast and for £5 service charge, you can have it in your room, we were warned at check in that the hotel was very busy and to get down for breakfast early, we wanted a lie in so didn’t mind paying the extra, others might not want to but it’s an option.

Check out process was simple, return key cards, pay service bill and obtain the car park exit barrier code, but again the unorganized reception area causes a queuing mess.
Overall a good stay, lots of plus points, free car park, free wifi, discounted park tickets, slightly let down by lack of attention to detail on some of its extras, but for Blackpool a good hotel and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Park side do get a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vistaviews_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Went to Blackpool with daughter and grand-daughter to see "Mama Mia" We arrived early on the Saturday and they found us a room that was ready so we could check in early. The grand-daughter`s face was a picture when she saw the spacious room with her own dedicated area, not to mention the huge wall snakes and ladder game. The whole room was spacious, clean and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Wished we had been staying longer. Had dinner in the restaurant which was enjoyable with excellent service. No rush to check out the next day and were able to benefit from some sea air. Hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buspassnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great hotel right beside the park - we had the rides right outside our window which was great for the kids. Very small window that only opens a fraction so after two nights the room wasn't smelling the freshest!
Room for family of 5 was good - kids bunk beds away from the main section so we should still read and watch TV when they were in bed. Bathroom compact with minimal towel hooks - some more would be great. Also an ineffective fan, air freshner would be useful.
Sofa bed was very uncomfortable, springs could be felt through the entire mattress so an uncomfortable night until we got an extra duvet to lie on the next night.
Breakfast is busy but well organised, lots of food and they do gluten free and dairy free products also which is great. Dinner was okay - menu was fair for the area but not the healthiest options but I am quite fussy. Kids were okay but the captains pizza was a great idea but really dry dough.
Would stay again due to convenient location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on 6th July. Great service from staff with a warm welcome. Stayed in a deluxe room looking into the park! Room was spotless. Great size rooms too! The towel radiator was hanging off the wall and we told reception before going out for the night. When we got back they had already been in and fixed it! Great service. Will be
Back!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Johnk2473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,232 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,056 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#9 of 73 in Blackpool
900 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £73 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing