We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for the Pleasure Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect location for the Pleasure Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed for a 2 day business conference. Staff were very courteous, room was clean and spacious and well equipped.

Everything was great apart from wifi service which seemed overly complicated to use for our conference.

Room Tip: ask for Pleasure Beach view and watch the rollercoasters from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POOLIEJOOLIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,810
    824
    212
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,319
882
34
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Came to the big blue for a birthday treat .. And was not disappointed great family room and a view of the pleasure beach large room with bunk beds for the kids with there own tv's.. Plus playstation 3 .. Came with buffet breakfast which is not to be missed ...

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Spakado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while dropping daughter and her boyfriend off at Manchester airport for their holiday.
The staff were great upgrading me and keeping the kids luggage while the three of us went to the pleasure beach .The room was immaculate and the bed very comfortable.
I would recommend it to anyone


Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Lovely hotel, great staff . Breakfast not so good . Most options were unsuitable to vegetarians. Fried eggs were literally swimming in oil. We had to pay extra for poached/boiled eggs , which in current times and in other hotels are provided free of charge. Fruit was colourless, dry, lacking any imagination - I assume the chef has no idea as to how freshly cut fruit looks. Breads were tasteless . As someone who has to be on a fat free diet, this breakfast was poor value for money, suitable only for very hungry kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KENSA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights, was one night but decided to stay another and will be going again next year, nice place but as a wheelchair user i noticed one or two things, one of them, the bathroom being a bit small was all our fault though, should have really booked a room with a wetroom (but im one of those wheelchairers that doesnt like to be too different with things like wetrooms, stupid i know lol)

The other problem was the lifts, really too small for a wheelchair, first time we used them i had to go up to the floor we were on by myself as others couldnt get in with me and it was a tight squeeze with just me and the chair in there, and a bit of a struggle to get out. if you have a scooter im not sure you would fit in. really needs a wheelchair accessible lift for those that want to stay on a higher floor, however, next time i think we will try to get a ground floor room.

other than those two things, which, now we know, we will work around next time, really liked the hotel, staff were nice and helpful, food was good, although i had a fried breakfast the first morning which could have been hotter. rooms were clean, maybe not to the highest standard but good enough for me. comfortable beds, oh, but watch out for the power shower, my mum used it and said it shocked her and nearly took her breath away lol. (we dont have one)

overall, despite those wheelchair related problems mentioned, which with better judgement we could have avoided ourselves by getting a wetroom room, and staying on the ground floor, as i said, really nice hotel and will be staying again, it is worth paying what is possibly a little bit extra than other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: go for a ground floor room with a wetroom if youre a wheelchair user, also, the room we stayed in ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkoRollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Had a great couple of days and nights at hotel. Staff are lovely as usual we have stayed here a few times. Rooms are spotless. Food great. Whole hotel is so clean and we'll worth a visit. Got a good deal to stay and the hotel was so accomodat

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank angela355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed for one night with a 14 month old. Room was very nice and we even got a free upgrade! We had a travel cot provided by the hotel but unfortunately the mattress wasn't any good. Solved this problem by laying extra blankets on top to give it more padding. We'd bought our own bedding for the cot, not sure if this is expected but we'd have struggled if we hadn't, so would defiantly recommend packing your own bedding and a travel cot mattress.

The staff in the restaurant on the evening were very good and made an effort with my son, which is always a winner! Food was lovely, and there was a nice atmosphere.

Easy and fast check-in and out. Car parking available. Quiet location as it is at the south shore, and a short walk from the attractions. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marmaladesunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,805 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Blue Hotel

Property: The Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing