We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotice”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“hotice”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great hotel,staff friendly,fantastic hot and cold buffet breakfast ,extremely comfortable room with a great bathroom all nice and clean ,family friendly, plus hot ice tickets free parking and pleasure beach passes can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,863
    842
    218
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,357
907
35
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Booked a one night special treat for my family . We were woken in the early hours as some drunks had the wrong room and were banging on our door trying to get in. After 2 calls to security who eventually arrived, they continued to try and get in and then proceeded to vomit outside. We wrote to the hotel and the manager wrote back to say "I'm sure you can understand that the hotel cannot be held responsible for guest behaviour" Ok, thanks for a stressful night at £182.00

Room Tip: avoid bank holidays or when blackpool offers cut price wrist bands, full of yobbs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank 466nothappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just back from staying a few nights at The Big Blue Hotel. The hotel in my opinion is situated in a great position at the south end of the promenade next to the Pleasure Beach and just down from the Sandcastle Leisure Centre. This is away from all the crowds and noise. During the day it can be noisy due to the Pleasure Beach, but is very quiet at night when it matters. This along with the kids den/room and personal air conditioning helped us all get a good nights' sleep. The kids room is a great help as it kept my 4 year old busy with toys and tv until she fell asleep. The hotel is kept clean and tidy as well as being fresh and modern. Downsides about the hotel include both lifts (when they're working) are incredibly small and slow. Another minus point is the lack of selection regarding the cooked breakfast. There's not much to choose from and could be doing with a much bigger selection.
As i said, this is a great hotel overall and we will return to without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TartanMan1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great Location for the pleasure beach with early entrance 10-11am through a gate at the back of the hotel. Rooms were of high standard with all the extras breakfast was excellent with a great choice of continental and cooked items

Room Tip: If you want a view of the pleasure beach the back rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryswash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for one night last minute booking. We arrived very early went to reception desk just to see if we could leave car and then come back to check-in later. The most friendly lady checked our reservation and told us we could check-in straight away. Not only that but upgraded us to a better room for no extra.Could not fault the room very large and clean. The serve yourself breakfast was one of the best i have had in a hotel for a long time and we have stayed in about 30 hotels this year alone. Would well recommend this hotel to anyone.And we will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and myself have just returned from our stay at the big blue hotel in Blackpool with our 3 year old daughter,
To start with after we checked in and went to our room we found there was hairs in the bath and sink, marks on the table from teacups from ten person before us in the room.
Used matches, windows where not cleaned, the pillow slip on one of the pillows was dirty so house keeping instead of changing the pillow they turned the pillow slip inside out I suppose it means you can get two days out the one slip. And the bottom bunk bed light did not work,
After moving the pillow to the end of the bed and going down to reception to say the room was not very clean I was asked what do I mean so I told the reception what was wrong they said they would get light fixed and the room cleaned For when I returned,
The light was fixed the room did get an other once over, and the pillow got put back on the bed still dirty and inside out,

And reception thought they sorted the issues with leaving a bottle of wine in the room for us,
I think they would have been better to sort all the issues including changing the dirty pillow slip,
And maybe leaving some thing child friendly for the wee one,
As every parent would know keep the kids happy and the adults will be happy as well.

I went back down to reception with the dirty pillow slip and they sent up some new clean pillow slips,

Also after trying to enter the park we where told we should have got a pass in the hotel to enter the park so we had to go back and ask for the pass nobody from the hotel said any thing about the pass when we checked in, normal charge of £6 per person just to walk around the park but it is free if you stay in the hotel, think we should have been told about this at check in time,
Again the next day we had to ask again for a pass for that day as well.

Location is very good if you are going to the park

The room was very poor standard there was marks on the celling, the bathroom looked old and well used, the furniture looked old and dirty, the walls could be doing with new paint,
I would have expected more from a 4 star hotel,
I would have said I was in a 2 maybe 3 star at a big push hotel with the room we had,

The food in the restaurant was very good I would go back for the food, bar area relaxed and staff great with kids.

If I stayed again I would ask for a newer room one that is clean and is not marked all over the celling and not in need of repair,
And a room on the top level so there is no noise from above,

It's a shame as this was our 4 th visit to hotel and room standard really let it down.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I booked a deluxe double with request of top floor and champagne for my husbands 40th, the Big Blue didn't disappoint.
The room was lovely, the view fab of the theme park everything was perfect. We ordered room service as a treat although there's a surcharge I didn't mind as it was special occasion, and the food was excellent and only took 15 mins considering it was school holidays and the hotel was very busy. I don't know how noisy the rest of the hotel was but our floor was quiet as a mouse.
Very happy husband. The staff were lovely. The parking great you do have to be out room by 11am and out car park at 1pm but that's very reasonable.
Only one gripe the cost of cocktails they were a tad expensive.

Room Tip: The apple and parrot is a few minutes walk away stop by and have a few drinks lovely bar. Also Pizza...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fordyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
3,912 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 69 in Blackpool
454 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 69 in Blackpool
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 69 in Blackpool
975 reviews
2.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#29 of 69 in Blackpool
3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Property: Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing