We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms were luxurious. We ordered a room for five people and there was room for six. Ideal for families as our room offered bunk beds each with it's only TV to play games on play station. The king bed was huge and very comfortable and so was the sofa bed. Everywhere was clean and tidy and the rooms were cleaned everyday. Would definitely stay again, the breakfast was amazing. The choice was never ending and delicious. Everywhere was spot on. Best hotel I've stayed in

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jprice1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,686 - 1,692 of 3,244 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

We are just home now from our 4 night stay in Blackpool and cannot fault the big blue hotel.
From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out the service was second to none.
We are a family of five and were more than happy with our spacious, very clean and bright room with a theme park view. We have a disabled daughter and all the staff were very accommodating, sitting us at tables with plenty room with breakfast. I would specifically like to thank Tom on reception who was very understanding and ensured we all had a fantastic day out at the pleasure beach, very kind and helpful man! We have stayed in blackpool many times but will only stay here from now on :-)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The Big Blue was excellent, very clean with helpful friendly staff. We had a very enjoyable 3 night stay in this hotel.

We arrived early on the morning of our first nights stay, this was no problem, the reception staff allowed us to park in the car park and gave us complimentary tickets for entry into the pleasure beach. We used them a couple of times to access some of the pay as you go rides and went for the full day the second day.

Check-in was smooth and efficient and when our boys saw the room they we very excited. The family rooms have a great wee alcove as you enter the room with a set of bunk beds with TV screens for each bunk. They had great fun with these and the giant snakes and ladders on the wall.

The hotel is of a high standard and busy but the facilities are adequate. Breakfast is busy but the restaurant area is large and the food is good quality. If you need to be out early get down early, the first morning we waited 15 mins to be seated going down at 9. The rest of the week we went down at 945 and got seated almost immediately. There is an entrance into the pleasure beach right outside the hotel between 10 and 1130 which is great to beat some of the queues.

There is a tram stop conveniently located across from the hotel one stop past the pleasure beach tram stop.

On the whole I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a Blackpool stay. There's a lot to choose from but if you like a nice quality hotel don't go past this one.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Amazing hotel, recived free up grade due to hotel being quiet. VIP entry into pleasure beach and returned to pleasure beach next day as they offered it for same price as online. Staff were very informative, proffesional and friendly. Breaskfast was a great all you can eat. Rooms very clean and amazing views of pleasure beach. I had a rollercoaster outside my window which was great, amazing for theme park lovers if you want the full expereince! Hotel location was outsatnding, could get out of bed and walk into park VIP private entrance. Will be going again!

Room Tip: If a fan of theme parks as for a romm facing park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TheHonestExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Bin hear about 4 times with my 4 year old son an we love it wouldn't stay anywhere else. It expensive but worth it. Excellent breakfast. Good location to, next to pleasure beach an tram stop right out side.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank al354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Family room was very spacious and girls liked playing play station. Breakfast was excellent , great choice. Staff were very friendly and polite. Hotel was very clean. Nice large car park. Tram stops just across the road and bus stop around the corner. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as a family and it's was to a very good standard, it was ideally located for a visit to blackpool. The only minor point was that it was too busy for the amount of staff and size of the reception. Also great to get discount tickets to the pleasure beach and use the hotel park entrance to save waiting.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marckarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,255 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,375 reviews
0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
905 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,063 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £70 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing