We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings on the big blue hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings on the big blue hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

I have just returned from this hotel having stayed two nights. On a positive it is very clean and in a great position next to the pleasure beach. However, it is overpriced and I wouldn't consider it a 4 star. The car park was full on arrival, play stations are free but games charged at £5 per night (on top of £300 for our stay). We had to wait 20 minutes for a table at breakfast which was decidedly average. Everything tasted cheap. I was also charged £8.20 that evening for a glass of wine!!! Room was ok but nothing special. Next time we would stop at the travel lodge which is much better value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovetotravelintheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,813
    824
    212
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,320
884
34
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

A great weekend break at this hotel, yes it's perhaps a wee bit more expensive than some but it's worth it. Modern, clean, fun for the kids overlooking the park! Had such fun waving at the train driver each time he passed! Ate in the hotel at night, was delicious although I have to say the drinks were pricy! £8.20 for a large glass of wine is London prices for me, not blackpool! Customer service excellent, especially when on checking out we noticed a couple of drinks we hadn't had we're added to our bill. We were quickly refunded no questions asked. A small mistake but was cleared up easily giving the kids an extra £9 to buy more blackpool "memorabilia" with! All in all a fantastic family time!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Very comfortable and welcoming hotel. Professional staff very helpful and polite. Excellent room very clean and comfortable. Kids room had a TV each at the end of the beds.. Kids beds abit small the squeezy but our kids loved them.

Room Tip: Pepsi max was 10 metres from the bedroom window but very quiet considering..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Me and partner stayed here for one night. We were both really impressed and would stay again. The parking was free and we were allowed to park on the car park before check in and even several hours after checkout. The staff on the front desk were friendly and welcoming. upon check in we were told we had been given an upgrade. The room was very large and clean. Breakfast was good. Staff were very helpful. All in all brilliant hotel plus they have their own exclusive access to the pleasure beach (bonus!)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Staff are friendly & happy to help should u have any question. Deluxe rooms are superb, beds are really comfy, order room service for breakfast which was nice not to have to rush about to go down for breakfast on the morning of leaving. It's also a stone throw away from Blackpool pleasure beach train station which I found very helpful as I don't drive. Would recommend to anyone that likes there luxury comforts ;)

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

I had booked a deluxe suite for my boyfriends birthday, the day before I checked trip advisor and read some really bad reviews so was absolutely dreading it!
But to my surprise, it was the best stay I've ever had anywhere!!
We were greeted by Edward, who was really polite and helpful, check in was easy and straight forward! Then to be told that we'd been upgraded to a deluxe suite and our pleasure island tickets would be ready to pick up in the morning!
The suite was absolutely amazing, separate living room/bathroom/bedroom, all decorated really modern, we were on the top floor looking over the park, i was expecting it to be really loud but you could barely hear anything, and the rides stop at 8pm but they do test the rides from about 8.30am.
The room came with complimentary water and wine and a massive selection of tea and coffee! The bathroom was absolutely amazing, everything was really clean!
Breakfast was average, it was really busy so the staff were quite busy but we were just in and out!
We had free parking which was really handy, we managed to find to roadside parking opposite the hotel which if you get up early enough to move the car is actually free so really good!

Best hotel i've ever stayed in!! Would recommend to anyone! :)

Room Tip: Its worth paying the extra for a suite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tlee93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a few times now for a weekend away with my family. The staff are very helpful and the place is spotless. It's right next to the pleasure beach and you are allowed early access to the fair if you stay here giving you an jump on the queues for the big rides. Excellent all round.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkham7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,806 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Blue Hotel

Property: The Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing