We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Big Blue Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Alumhurst Hotel(Blackpool)
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Sheraton(Blackpool)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Clifton Court Hotel(Blackpool)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Cliffs Hotel(Blackpool)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Doric Hotel(Blackpool)
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$61
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (3,331)
Filter reviews
3,331 results
Traveller rating
2,063
900
236
91
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,063
900
236
91
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk bedspleasure beachroller coastersuperior family roombig dippervip entrancepepsi maxplay stationdvd playercar parklovely hotelself servicefamily hotelbuffet stylecouldn't faultevening mealtram stop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,269 - 3,274 of 3,331 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2005

Stayed at the Big Blue Hotel weekend 24th June 2005 in an Executive room. Absolutely superb. The staff were attentive. The food fantastic. We had no problems with queues at breakfast time, the 1st day we were seated in around 10 mins the 2nd day immediately.

We booked a table for a meal in the brasserie and the menu and standard of food, in terms of presentation and taste were superb. The waiting staff are a lovely.

The room was very comfortable. Plenty of room, very clean. Housekeeping staff polite and discreet.

Reception staff friendly and helpful. Did not have to queue to check in. Very swift and explained everything we needed to know.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lynn046Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2005

Stayed at the Big Blue for May Bank Holiday, we absolutely loved it. The rooms are fantastic esp the family ones. Pizzas when you get back after a nite out are gorgeous, but expensive but all the same. Have absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel. Will definately going back.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jacki1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2005

This is a really great hotel - clean, spacious rooms with nice size beds and dvd player! Its right next to the Pleasure Beach but we found it really quiet and had a good night's sleep. The staff in particular were really friendly and helpful - one young woman (manageress?) spent 10 mins finding and printing off directions to the Lowry Centre in Salford for us. The only negative point is that the food isn't cheap, but with an extensive breakfast buffet you can skip lunch! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StevenFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2005

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for two nights (31/5 - 2/6) and had a great time. We had an executive room for two and found it to be comfortable. We had a lounge area next to a lovely large window, a feature fire place, and a jet bath! We found the room to be very clean and appreciated that information about the hotel, pleasure beach and other attractions were provided. We only had breakfast at the hotel. We had to wait about ten minutes one morning to be seated, but as there was a bar to wait in, and you could help yourself to juice, tea, coffee etc, we did not find this a problem. The food itself was nice but I have had better buffet breakfasts.

We only experienced one problem during our stay, and that was the parking. We arrived to find there was nowhere to park and ended up paying to park on a metered road. However we were lucky to nab a space later in the day but did not dare to move the car till the day we left. The hotel is currently being extended and it looks like the car park will get bigger too.

Overall, this is a stylish, clean hotel with an excellent location for visiting the pleasure beech. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jen353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2005

Modern purpose built block with drive in access off the promenade and on site parking (parking could get tricky for spaces? hard to tell, contractors on site, May 2005). Disabled access in rooms as standard.

Stayed 26th and 27th May 2005 on a pre-bank holiday low season deal, with 2 young children (Dinner, B&B, second night free, room only). Am from the north west of England and know Blackpool well after numerous stays and countless trips. However, I usually do a `surgical strike' type day trip with children as there has been nowhere decent for us all to stay (the Imperial and Hilton are both good - have stayed several times without children - but that's it, Blackpool is `full on' including kitsch/tacky hotels and even the upmarket Imperial doesn't let you have full dining, with your children, at 5.30: wake up to the "professional parent £", Paramount Group you are losing business).

Would also stay at Big Blue as a no-children party as the atmosphere and decor are designed for grown ups (feels up-market, contemporary Euro-city-chic type hotel but dropped in the middle of Blackpool!). Child friendly added design features in rooms and dining arrangements, plus location, but with no compromise to the adult market. Could be a good corporate venue also for numbers up to 100 but would be cramped at more, at present?

Family rooms: not huge but well designed, light and airy. Non smoking. Like other rooms but with a child space added, so grown ups feel pampered too. For adults, very big comfy bed, armchair, small writing area, TV, DVD (working) relaxing neutral decor. For children, own bunk area away from grown-ups with individual TV, reading lights and toy storage.

Public areas: limited space but relaxing after a journey. Reception area welcoming if small. Staff helpful and very Northern! Would be off the radar if you are expecting the scripted, honed and polished US/Asian customer service. Staff treat you as their equal. Well lit corridors and lifts (x2).

Dining: dining room undergoing expansion with addition of conservatory seating to be completed in June 2005, extra bedroom wing also (I don't think they thought it would be this popular). Could get uncomfortable with present seating facility in high season otherwise. We did not have to wait. Wasn't expecting to be given `real food' for dinner, but on the day, mine was worthy of a good restaurant and childrens pizzas freshly made, full size. No smell of chips anywhere! Decent house red wine. Good quality full english buffet style breakfast. No shortage of food for dinner or breakfast.

Gym: not seen
Business centre: not seen
Bar: not used, but walkthough made it look promising.

Location: if you want the Pleasure Beach etc., it's adjacent to the hotel. Exit door from the pleasure park direct into hotel wing. Assume there is a partnership between Best Western and the park? Also park entry promotion deals available if requested.

Downside: family rooms at rear next to roller-coaster! Double glazed, but you can hear the rumble. Roller coaster shuts early (5pm thursday, 7pm fridays low season so we weren't bothered, but I would ask for a front room in high season if children are light sleepers). No internet access available at time of visit. All these cream walls, suede headboards, white tiles and pale woodwork might looked scuffed in a year? Whole hotel very clean at present.

Overall: why didn't they build this before? Will revisit.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank keeletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews