We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel !!!!”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic Hotel !!!!”
Reviewed 13 March 2006

My partner and I have just returned from a fantastic break at the Big Blue Hotel in Blackpool,
The rooms are wonderful and not what you would expect to find in Blackpool.
We upgraded to a club room and very glad we did,it was well worth the money, with a balcony overlooking the park, a seperate lounge area with a fire, plasma screen tv and dvd player.
The best thing however about this hotel were the staff, they offered what we could only describe as the "Wow" factor.
Would definately recommend this hotel also to families as we had a sneaky peak at one of the family rooms and they looked great with the seperate area for the kids to sleep in!
Will definately be back again

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,860
    840
    218
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,353
906
35
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ferndown
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2006

My partner and I went to the Big Blue Hotel after checking out reviews for sunny old Blackpool and although this hotel did not come first, we were both very pleased with our stay. Unfortunately it was only one night, but the hotel was very clean spacious, airy with friendly staff only too willing to assist. The bedrooms were again clean and adequate with I have to say the biggest bed I have every stayed in in this country. Although most of Blackpool was closed (even the Tower) it only means that we will have to visit again and I will definately stay at the Big Blue again. Shame the rest of Blackpool isnt as clean and tidy as the hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank madge002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2006

stayed in low season when we got to hotel no one offered to help with baggage, reception when booking in seemed disinterested and we felt that as a family with small kids we were made to feel unwelcome especially by the evening staff, breakfast on the other hand was excellent as well as retaurant staff and so was the room however though i booked on internet i should have just paid when i arrived as it was cheaper that way
bad reception area and some staff unfriendly/disinterested but hotel is nice clean and food is very good but i would not recommend for families even though it looks cool

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank 663daddy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2006

We stayed at the Big Blue Hotel in early February. We booked one night in the Club family suite (the larger of the family rooms, it has more living space). The room was more than we expected, the king size bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on in a hotel. The bed linen was clean and a lovely white soft quilt. The bunk beds were good, each having a tv. The bathroom was quite big, having an electric heated radiator and power shower.
The only disappointing thing was the evening meal, an a la carte, nothing special, and we waited at least 40 minutes for the meal, meanwhile my 2 year old had fallen asleep at the table. The hotel was quite quiet so I wouldnt like to think what the brassiere is like in the summer.
We would return again in the quiet season. Another nice touch was the 2 bowls of apples in the reception which we tucked in to when passing.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amelia03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 January 2006

This is not at all the sort of hotel you'd expect to find in Blackpool, unlike Blackpool it's very cool and understated. It's very well located for the pleasure beach and certain rooms have very good views (of the pleasure beach and the sea). I'd recommend this hotel over a grotty B&B anyday.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2005

Booked through Laterooms for an exec double. Arrived to find a severe lack of parking spaces and a huge puddle outside reception which i had to wade through. Checked in quite quickly, was told i had been upgraded to an exec room, which i hadnt as that was what i had paid for anyway. The signage for the bedrooms was very confusing, went the wrong way several times. Room, in fairness, was immaculatly clean but the bathroom was rather ordinary and had a bit of a 'premier lodge' feel to it. the bed was enourmous and very comfortable. Our room overlooked the rollercoasters which was a nice touch as that is what we were there for. Breakfast wasnt the chaotic free-for-all that other reviewers have described and involved only around a 5 min wait. The quality of the food was first class. Foreign staff couldnt really grasp what a glass of orange juice was, but not a huge problem. oh, and dont drink the bottle of water in the room, it costs £3.99 THIS IS BLACKPOOL, NOT LONDON! The bar is hideously expensive as well. However it is, by far, the nicest hotel in Blackpool that i have stayed in. and, by god, there are some bad ones!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank David Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 November 2005

we were given the family room although we booked the standard double, no complaints there as we get extra pillows and comforters. lovely size, very quiet. the shower had NO control mechanism, it was either you shut it off or it blew you into the wall opposite. showers were taken with entertaining results. the restaurant was okay ish.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3,902 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
450 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 70 in Blackpool
970 reviews
2.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#29 of 70 in Blackpool
3,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Property: Big Blue Hotel
Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing