We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place i'd stay in Blackpool, Simply Outstanding!!”
Review of Big Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Big Blue Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Four of us spent a wonderful weekend at the this hotel, Fantastic staff and so helpful into the bargain.

Rooms are stunning with views overlooking the Pleasure Beach, The Pepsi Max and Big Dipper literally hurtle past your window.

We had a superior family room and the kids loved the bunk beds with a tv each to watch.
Breakfast was good also with the nice touch of having two characters from the Pleasure Beach Beaver Creek section entertaining the kids and probably irritating a few adults but it was all in good fun.

Having been very disillusioned by the hotel's and B&B facilites in the town in recent years this particular hotel is a gem that will be my only port of call on future visits.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsb2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,784 - 2,790 of 3,193 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2010

This will be a very quick review just to let you know what the manager/owner of this hotel is like! I'm from Wales and I have a friend from Manchester who I cannot see very often so for the past 4 years we have met for a day and night in Blackpool - usually choosing this hotel as it is so close to the pleasure beach!

I made the booking myself over the telephone and paid over £200 when booking and had written down all details and taken them to the hotel with me. Arrived at the hotel and was told that my booking was for the night before!!!!! Nightmare! Two very unhappy adults and 5 mortified children!!!

I spoke with the hotel manager and she said they had 12 rooms still available that night and we were welcome to stay - as long as we paid the full price of another £200!!!! I asked if it was possible to have some sort of discount due to us staying here every year and an obvious booking error on their part! (The reason I know it was their mistake is because it would have been IMPOSSIBLE for me to have stayed the night before due to other commitments!) The answer was "NO - I should have checked my confirmation e-mail!

Now this is where I hold my hands up and yes I should have checked my e-mail BUT circumstances were that I literally couldn't due to my computer being broken!

So here we are all unhappy, children all crying and we obviously CANNOT afford to pay another £200! We ask to speak to the hotel director/owner - who greeted us with a smug look on his face and lied to us about how many room he had available that night! All the girls behind the desk were giggling at our expense! We asked him extremely nicely for some sort of discount (just think of the bedding and cleaning costs he saved with us not using the room the night before and our uneaten breakfast!). He's reply was that he was not running a charity and full price would have to be paid, smirking the whole whole time!!

Now we all know how expensive Summer holidays can be - but a little bit of graciousness from this man was all we were asking for but we got NOTHING!! We ended up walking around the corner to a very nice and comfortable B&B which was only £70 for the lot of us - and this is where I will be going in future.

To think of this greedy man's pockets being lined with our money sickens me - and I will NEVER stay here again! There are plenty of clean, friendly and family oriented B&B all over the place for a fraction of the cost with honest and caring owners - I really advise you to check them out first.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
6  Thank lolalitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

I have snow stayed at The Big Blue 3 times and each time the standard of the hotel improves how i don't know as it is so high any way !! NOTHING is a problem to the staff and they are always willing to help. Our room was the Delux Doulbe and it was beautiful spotless clean with all the small details making it a wonderful rom to stay in. I am now looking forward to my 4TH TRIP !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

My Partner and I stayed in this hotel for two nights in August 2010. It was excellent in every way. We had a deluxe room with a seating area that featured a juliette balcony that opened onto a magical view of the Pleasure beach. The Big One literally whizzed passed our window!
Free Parking made it cheaper than many of the B&Bs in Blackpool and we secured the cheapest rate by going onto their website and paying an advance. Absolutely excellent value for money - a luxury stay that made a great cheap break even better. I would recommend without any hesitation at all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelRathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We visited this hotel with another couple in their late 20's and we all had a fab time. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were very well maintained.

Very central location (right next to the Peasure Beach). We were a bit concerned that the noise from the Pleasure Beach would be very loud, however the rides didn't start until after we were all back from breakfast. No need to use your car either as the tram and buses are on your doorstep.

We will be using this hotel if we are ever in Blackpool again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We stayed in a superior family room, 2 adults 1 infant and a 4 yr old.

We were thoroughly impressed with the staff and accomodation - nothing was too much trouble and everything dealt with in a lovely manner.

We stayed on the front side of the Hotel, quiet room, having said that the Pleasure Park shut by early evening anyway so think either side of Hotel would have been quiet, but we did have a sea view and my son was delighted at seeing a Dalek illumination!

Only slight problem was the Travel cot only just fitted into the children's section but the designated children's section was brilliant for the kids. Also the Hotel did not have access to bed guards, so do bring your own if your kids are use to them.

Well done Big Blue :)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deelirious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

This hotel is about a 30 seconds' walk from the Blackpool pleasure train Station. The amenties are good and the rooms are comfortable and of a good size. The staff provided a good service and were helpful as to location attractions etc.

The buffet breakfast was a comphrensive fair of hot full English and cold Continental. The tower is about a 20-25 minute walk away, but on a summers day, this will be pleasant journey. Cafe, the pleasure beach, restaurants are all within easy walking distance. Definately one of the better hotels in Blackpool.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nodnoltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,166 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,045 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
878 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Hotel

Address: Ocean Boulevard | Pleasure Beach, Blackpool FY4 1ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#3 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
#5 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £78 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Blue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Big Blue Hotel at Pleasure Beach, Blackpool, where chic, cutting-edge design blends seamlessly with an attention to detail and a level of service that is second to none. This modern, 4-star hotel is perfectly located for a luxury break, business trip or family holiday, with modern accommodation at affordable prices. All 157 bedrooms are designed with wonderful fabrics from Designers Guild and offer luxurious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary WiFi internet access, flat screen televisions with inbuilt freeview, iron/ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone, hairdryer, heating control, electric shaver point, 24-hour room service, smoke alarms, duvets, power shower, key card access, an integrated air cooling system and DVD players that can also be used as a CD player. The Big Blue offers contemporary family accommodation right next to Pleasure Beach, Blackpool's biggest tourist attraction featuring the UK's only Nickelodeon Land - a new 6 acre area of Pleasure Beach loaded with 12 rides, a Nickelodeon shop, fun game stalls, a new restaurant and home to a whole host of famous Nickelodeon characters. The location is within easy reach of all of Blackpool's main attractions so families are guaranteed to get the most out of their trip. A range of hotel conference facilities are available making the Big Blue an ideal venue for Blackpool conferences and business meetings. The hotel also has complimentary WiFi internet access in all bedrooms, public areas and meeting rooms. Dining at the Big Blue hotel is an unforgettable experience whether it's a lazy cappuccino in the cafe bar or a delicious gourmet meal in Blues Bar and Brasserie. Children can create their own fresh pizzas while parents can choose from an extensive menu designed with a European feel using only fresh, local produce. Sink into a soft leather armchair and enjoy a long cool drink after a day on the rides or sip a Big Blue cocktail at the bar and just simply people watch. It's up to you. Stay over in a Deluxe Suite and enjoy pure luxury with fresh flowers, champagne on ice and chocolates in your room....just some of the special touches we offer (additional charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Big Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Blue Blackpool
Big Blue Hotel Blackpool
Hotel Big Blue
Big Blackpool Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing